You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Garden Time!

in #homesteading6 years ago

candied carrots??? Tell me more. BTW If you had not read, I challenged you in #loveitshoveit. Last year was only the third time I had grown carrots with the intent of having a "crop", but my 'Scarlet Nantes' which were grown in the same bed on the opposite side were just fine, in fact they were perfect. So, i am not sure of the reasons, this year I have a huge crop already planted, I will be reading up on all the tips and tricks.

Sort:  

Equal parts butter, brown sugar and honey. Melt together in a pan and simmer so it thickens up a little. Dump your carrots in and let them simmer in the glaze for 5 or 10 minutes. I boil the carrots for a few minutes first, but not too long. I like them to be a little crispy. You can boil them longer if you want them softer. I like to leave the thin carrots whole, thicker ones I cut in half long ways so they cook evenly. I guess you could cut them up any way you like. You can add aome orange zest or a tiny bit of cayenne to change it up a little. It's my favorite way to have carrots.

mmm with the orange zest sounds just awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58174.56
ETH 2461.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34