Beekeeping - MOVING THE BEE SWARM into a full 10-Frame Hive Box

in #homesteading7 years ago

Beekeeping is NOT all I do here on the farm! LOL ... however it has been the subject that is recently dominating my YouTube channel.

In this episode we show how the captured swarm is doing. It seems that it is about time to move them to a new, bigger box.

In the video we also discuss the Housel Positioning of hive frames. A local beekeeping friend of mine swears that it makes a difference for the bees attitudes. He claims that when the positions are out of whack the bees are upset and frustrated. When they are in order they are more calm. I trust his judgement so I'll do my best to follow the correct pattern.


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogMermaids at Jacob's Well!)
daddykirbs blog5 Good Reasons To Eat Local Raw Honey
daddykirbs blogOver 5 Gallons of HONEY!
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - Spinning Out Honey!
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - The Last Saturday Show?


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Shared to show a great hive!

I never knew about the "Y" and in which direction is should face. Can you remind us all again on why it is done that way?

Hehehe.. becareful! The nidle of bees is not a joke! Hehehe...

You are almost making me envious. I really want to get into beekeeping one day, but have some more pressing things on the priority list right now.

oh man I wish I could do this too!
one of them danced on your camera haha too short though :)
oh.. the position must be true, a friend of mine advised me that I should put the bee hotel facing south or southeast
don't know anymore but I did anyway
i thought its just the weather that affects their attitude
what's the white stuff dangling on the screen?
so many questions hahah

Amazing post. It's wonderful that you're teaching people how to take care of these wonderful creatures. Our food supply would be doomed if it weren't for them spreading pollen the way they do again thank you for this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23