๐Ÿ• Were eating out poor Dog for Breakfast today ๐Ÿด Max has a second Life through us planting Plantains over his grave. ๐ŸŒ

in #homesteading โ€ข 6 years ago

๐Ÿถ Over a Year ago a bad puppy virus spread through our area killing over half the dogs in our neighborhood. We and our Excellent Veterinarian threw everything we could at it but eventually max succame and was buried in our yard.

Max, Johana & Cheeta, Happy days on the Homestead

max jo cheeta.jpg

Max came to us through a nephew who was going back to school and didn't think he could care for Max but knew we would. He had a skin problem that was quickly cured by a visit to our Vet, Who 1 day I will blog about. He is all heart and doesn't even charge for simple services, only the medicine (which is cheap here.)

๐Ÿถ Max must have had some hungry days in his past because he would eat non-stop if allowed to, which was an issue because Cheeta has never been hungry and would let food sit till she wanted to eat. We also kept Max on a dog run leash because he had no street sense and would run across the road to visit a neighbor dog without looking so Cheeta's food was kept out of reach & sight because if Max knew it was sitting he would howl for it. LOL

๐Ÿ’” We knew Max was sick when he refused to eat! and dogs were dropping like flies around here. Cheeta is almost bullet proof but got the same bug and amongst our arsenal of medicines, we had 2 shots set aside to end their misery if need be.

๐Ÿ˜ข It was very emotional times for us with high's and lows almost daily trying to decide if we should break out the final injection. ๐Ÿ˜ญ

๐ŸŒŠ ๐Ÿฝ All the best food was cooked to entice them to eat and some days they would which gave us hope and prolonged the agony. ๐Ÿ˜จ After a few weeks and the Vet refusing to give us any more medicine I had to go back to Canada for my Son's @docmonoc wedding.

๐Ÿ’• Cheeta seemed to be on the mend and Max was still having high's and lows when I left, So Johana was alone in her decision. Which she made a week or so later, with no more medicines and Max not eating at all or even drinking the final shot was given.

๐Ÿ˜“ Working hard in the hot sun, Johana dug a large grave, placed Max in and promptly planted a Plantain near his body to mark the spot.

Here is some the produce that was just harvested from the site

plantains.jpg

๐Ÿ˜œ And how we came to eat our dog for breakfast today ๐Ÿ˜ He was Delicious. ๐Ÿถ We Love you, Max ๐Ÿ’—

๐ŸŒPlantains grow from the roots so this will be an ongoing thing for years to come, Here is the new shoot and the cut down harvested plant๐ŸŒ

max grave.jpg

We now have another dog thanks to Cheeta having Puppies ! and we kept the runt of the litter.
Cheeta is Our Rescue Dog and it has been a joy having her around. I have done several blogs on her alone and I'm sure more to follow. I'm going to see if she will be a good sailboat dog in the near future?

Thanks for reading and supporting my blog ๐Ÿ˜Ž I've been away for a while and just getting back into the swing of things.

codydivisor.png

My Signature Post ---> Potential Followers Please Click HERE to get started

Life is Good @ steemit.com

Sort: ย 

Ahh amazing Cody. Such a sad time that must of been. Nice to hear about the happy ending :) They look scrummy.
Meeting animals far away from home turf is a special thing. For me the cats and dogs here in Phnom Penh are different to back home. Of course the circumstances are different to western ways and they are very hard to get close to. It breaks my heart to see an unloved animal. It is a beautiful thing once they gain your trust.
Blessings sent to Max and Yรกll.
You did a great job there.
:)

things change fast Jeff ๐Ÿถ, when I came to Panama 11 years ago dogs were? tools maybe? not pets or family members. They were all scared of humans and it broke my heart too. ๐Ÿ’” But today they have dog shows and a whole grocery store Isle is dedicated to pets just like Canada ๐Ÿ˜. Dog walks and disposable poop bags plus Vets are doing a booming business etc...They even have signs on the highway asking people to consider the child that will be devastated if you run over there dog! Life is Good ๐Ÿ˜Ž.
I could tell many stories but will reserve that for a later date.....
Thanks for dropping by my blog ๐Ÿ˜ See you at the tables again soon I hope. ๐Ÿ‘€
Cheers ๐Ÿป to you and your guitar, I hope to hear your music very soon.

Ahh that makes me smile man. What a great example to lead.
Looking forward to hearing more Panamanic stories. :)
Big tourney soon! The SBd50. Tomorrow I think.
Your goin down if I see ya :)
Cheers Cody.

Oh I'll be there Jeff, My vacation has improved my game it seems, I play by the gut and a months vacation has tuned me right up :-) I won 3 tourneys in the past week and placed in a few others.
Good Luck...Hope your not at my table too early LOL
Cheers

Yeeew Trooper!! I am thinking of changing my lucksak username to Phil Helmet.
Should scare a few souls lol.
See you there.

LOL, I'll find you under any name. :-)
See you tonight.
Cheers

Great way to honor the memory of you dog planting a plant which will help feed you. Each time you have a plantain you will remember Max.

Wow, @codypanama, it's so clear how much your furry friends mean to you! I'm a sucker for them too. Planting the plantain tree was a wonderful way to honor Max! Resteemed. ๐Ÿ˜

Thank you so much Sweetness, my blogging is way behind after my Internet vacation and getting very little views on my posts. Every little bit helps as this my only income right now but changing soon I hope.
Cheers

Poor your dog. I used to have a white dog, but now he's gone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94