How Renegades Eat Eggs

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)


Hey Everyone!

 
I thought some of you might be interested to see how I eat my eggs. I usually eat between 6-12 raw eggs a day on work days. I also eat cooked eggs, occasionally.

eggs

I find raw eggs convenient for my busy lifestyle and they also don't feel as heavy in my stomach as cooked eggs which is a good thing when I am working.

Raw eggs are one of the few foods that boost glutathione, the bodies most powerful antioxidant. Also, contrary to popular wisdom, eggs are not bad for your cholesterol and do not promote heart disease. For us homesteaders, eggs can be one of the easiest and most reliable sources of protein to produce.

drink

Bottoms up!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Great video, that looks extremely healthy .Never had raw eggs before would you recommend having them after working out.

Rocky style!
Having them after a workout is key for protein and repairing muscle
@canadianrenagade would know !

After workouts are fine or anytime really. If you are going to eat raw eggs just make sure to start off slow, maybe even just one egg and slowly build up. Also the fresher the eggs the better. We buy ours at the farmers market.

good way to make eggs. There is a lot of strength in it

Yes I think so. I am pretty sure that high cholesterol foods are anabolic. The base molecule for testosterone is cholesterol.

whoa! How do you do that.
My dad takes his eggs like that too, but i cant just bring bring myself to that fact.
i'll stick to boiling em'
thumbs up tho. .

Thanks! Lots of practice. I've been eating eggs this way for probably 15 years now. When I first started it was an little hard, now I don't even think about it.

I definitely agree about the cholesterol and heart disease concerns. I never believed it for a minute. Raw eggs? You are a better man than I. I shall hold off on that idea for now. Power to you though...

Thanks! You can get the majority of the benefits by eating the yolk soft. Soft boiled, poached or sunny side up are fine.

@huntbrook if you're more of a softy like me you could blend them with milk and maple syrup and then it's egg nog! My favorite way to get a raw egg boost!

When I was a kid, every morning my grandmother gave me a raw egg to drink, it was great, so I know that feeling :-)

That's really cool. So is that sort of a traditional practice?

She thought that this is healty for me, so I continued :-)

I think she was right!

Eeek! Do you get some severe diarrhea after eating those raw whites? The whites contain anti-nutrients when raw and are extremely hard to digest even for healthy intestines! I separate my yolks and add about 4 yolks to smoothies, I make mayo, bearnaise sauce for fish and meat, etc. I throw my whites on my tomato patch or add to bread recipes..

I have heard about that before but the egg whites don't bother my stomach at all. I think I would eat more yolk if I could afford it just because they are so high in nutrients but we are still buying our eggs.

Ohh I see, where are you in Canada? I've got plenty of free run eggs and getting 50 birds to clean up after cows this summer..

We are about a half hour south of Edmonton.

Oh I see we're in SE sask, might be a bit of a drive for eggs..

Yeah just a bit lol. We buy ours at the farmers market and they are reasonable. It still adds up when you eat this many though. Of course it is also replacing other lower nutrition foods too though.

Wow. Okay you know I am a raw egg eater too, but umm... Those yolks? Ever thought about blending them? LOL. Way to get a nutrition packed punch for sure!

Cleaning up the blender takes too long (once in awhile I will make a smoothie whrn at home) and like I mentioned this is an easy way to get a meal in at work. I can just chug em and get back to work!

pretty awesome man!!!

Holy shit you're one of them raw people :P I wanted to try but I feel my stomach wouldn't be able to handle it. By the way, our eggs come from our own chicken ;)

That's awesome. The fresher the better. The only issues I have ever had from raw eggs were from store bought eggs. They are usually a few weeks old before you even buy them.

It's not for everyone but it works for me!

Classic mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63324.37
ETH 2452.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69