Managing Mornings with Easy Breakfasts

If you're anything like me, you're not a morning person. The whole process of dragging yourself out of bed and getting dressed feels like it takes place in slow motion. Waking up early rarely happens, despite my best efforts.

Egg  Muffin Prep

My kids, however, are typically awake between 6:00 and 6:30 in the morning which is an improvement from desperately pleading with them to go back to bed at 5:30 am. They are usually content to wait until 6:45 while I pick out our clothes for the day, move the potties back upstairs, and generally wake up. Co-living adds a few more complications to our routine.

I find breakfast time particularly challenging; I'm groggy, my kids are vying for my full attention, and I prefer to give them whole foods as often as possible despite how desperately I want to reach for a box of cereal some days. Surely, I could come up with my own convenience foods.

Egg Muffins

Most of the quick foods I found were cereals, breakfast muffins, and snack bars. A lot of the recipes looked delicious but also contained lots of sugar. Since my kids eat plenty of fruits and vegetables at snacks I like to make sure their main meals are rich with protein so they stay satiated. Like most kids, they are high energy and eat five times a day just to keep up with their metabolism.

One breakfast meal I am becoming particularly fond of are scrambled egg muffins. They're exactly what they sounds like; a scrambled egg in the shape of a muffin, loaded with veggies. Not only can you create a variety of flavours, making a batch in advance is simple. These delicious bites get bonus points for being easy to eat-on-the-go and for feeding us for at least two or three mornings (depending on who is home). It's also nice to have something pre-made so I can spend time with my kids and not with my stove

Ingredients

12 eggs

1 cup loosely packed spinach

1/2 bell pepper (colour of your choice, I favour red or orange)

4 medium button mushrooms

1/3 cup loosely packed shredded old cheddar

1/8 tsp Himalayan sea salt

1/8 tsp pepper

Method

Pre-heat oven to 350 F (you're welcome)

Important: Generously coat your muffin tin with butter or preferred cooking oil. After all of your produce is washed, chop it finely and disperse evenly between muffin tin. Add your shredded cheese on top of the veggies. Crack your eggs in a separate bowl and whisk them together with salt and pepper. Use a large spoon to divide the egg mixture into the muffin tin on top of the veggies but only fill the tin just over 3/4 full. To make clean up easier, wipe any egg splatter off the muffin tin now. Put them in the oven to bake for 20 minutes. Allow to cool for 5 to 10 minutes and use a spatula to remove the egg muffins from the tin.

Makes 16 servings

Pro-tip: Dividing your veggies and cheese in the tins keeps the mixture even. I mixed everything in with the eggs on my first attempt and the veggies did not disperse evenly.

While grabbing coffee at two different establishments, I spotted these little egg muffins in a few flavours. One shop was selling two servings for $3.29 and another for $4.75. Considering I can get local eggs for $4.00/doz, I'd say I am ahead of the game.

Happy breakfast!

All photos in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade.


20180516_002249_0001.png


Canadian renegade Logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Looks yummy, i love me some mini quiches! I think I should make some for lunch today

YES! Much like a quiche, just without the crust I guess. Either way, still delicious. Let me know how your mini quiche turns out. Cheers, A

These look just awesome - perfect use for my 'secondary muffin tray' (which is just like yours above, the first being a luxury stick free model which I think I'll save for muffins in cases). Anyway....

Honestly never seen this before as a method, and you've just saved me one of my tasks for the day which was to find something different to have for lunch - these look more like lunch to me than breakfast, awesome none the less.

Just one question (maybe an edit) - how long do they store in the fridge for>?

Not that it really matters I could probably eat four in one sitting, so they'd be gone two days after making, but would they store longer?

So gonna get these ingredients later today and make this my lunch!

Thanks, and happy to oblige. You'll have to let me know how they turned out for you. I honestly have no idea how long they'll keep in the fridge as we usually finish them within 2 or 3 days. We're hungry folk over here! On a side note, I've always wondered how 'best before' dates were figured out. Does someone just leave prepared food in the fridge and keep checking on it until it's gone funky? Thanks for stopping by. Cheers, A

They turned out great!

Should have put the spinach in first and I forgot to grease the tins!

Posted using Partiko Android

They look delicious! The first time I made these I mixed everything in with the egg first before distributing into the muffin tin. The filling was more certainly not well distributed. Ha ha ha! Some recipes take a bit of trial and error. Ack! I know the scrubbing that ensues after an ungreased tin. If it happens to me I do the soak and pray... that someone else scrubs it for me. :D

It did take a bit of scrubbing! Well worth it though - and I have tomo's lunch.

Pretty sure I can perfect them next time.

I did whisk and pour after following your advise - Although next time I'll probably fill the tins up to 7/8 rather than 3/4. They could handle that!

I might trial one in a muffin case too.

Posted using Partiko Android

I started with 3/4 full but think I have also gradually increased to about 7/8 to be honest. Hence the "just over 3/4". Fractions were never my strong suit. The first time I pulled them out of the over they were little balloons and I was nervous. They deflated pretty quickly though.

Nice post @canadianrenegade mama! I bet you are so excited for your new house to be ready! Awesome choice for breakfast. Egg bites are often my go to. Except it entirely frustrating that my kids strongly dislike and plain refuse to eat them (one us vegan) but honestly my son is now a manchild at 14.5 years and he enjoyes eating meals for breakfast which for him is approximately 3-4pm at earliest these days. God bless unschooling. Great to see you posting tonight.

YES! I am eagerly (but not too eager) awaiting moving day. Having a space to call my own will be refreshing, I'm sure. I am so glad I started making these; so much nutrition, so much yumminess. I think Egg Bites are a much better name than egg muffins; I think the muffin part is deceiving. I started exploring different breakfast options when my kids went on a complete egg eating strike. Thankfully, they'll still eat eggs so long as they're in combination with something else. Wow! Being vegan is challenging but also noble. How do you manage? Ha ha! Not an early riser either, eh? When you say "unschooling" does that mean you transitioned to homeschooling? Cheers, A

Looks delicious and easy as well. Definitely food for easy meals that's for sure it's a lot easier now but it's just me and my husband left. He usually just has Vegemite toast these days haha

Posted using Partiko Android

They're so tasty! I am a really big fan, especially of recipes that give me left overs. I like to enjoy my food but I am not a fan of spending countless hours in the kitchen. I'd rather spend more time with my family instead. Hmmm... vegemite toast eh? Sounds familiar but I can't remember what it is. I will have to look into it. Cheers and thanks for stopping by. -A

Excellent Food...That look great

Thank you, I hope you try and enjoy them some day. Cheers, A

That looks delicious! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you and thanks for stopping by. I hope you get to make them and try them out one day. They really are yummy. Cheers, A

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42