FOR THE LOVE OF GOATS - LESSON 2

in #homesteading6 years ago

Goshna 013.JPG

Goats are addictive! You have been warned! As someone pointed out to me in my last post goats are not everyone's cup of tea. I have no idea what he was talking about but then my love of goats probably borders on obsession! While cats and dogs give you love back goats are loveable plus they give you amazing milk. And with that milk you can make soaps, cheeses, yoghurt. The list is endless. But I'm saving those fun recipes for a future post. If you are still brave enough, continue reading. Although if you missed out, you may want to go back to my previous and introductory Lesson 1
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@buckaroo/for-the-love-of-goats-lesson-1

Goshna 328.JPG

WATER: The goats I am writing about are milk goats which means fresh water is vital. We clean the water troughs daily, especially if the birds are messing in their water. Goats also prefer warm water to cold. On cold winter mornings I throw a couple buckets of boiling water into their iced up water troughs. Every couple weeks I alternatively dose the goats water with probiotics or a good soluble mineral supplement or raw, unfiltered apple cider vinegar or aloe ferrox. Some people believe apple cider vinegar helps with pregnancy and strong babies, I know it is high in minerals so I like giving it to them. At least once a month I do a couple days of probiotics in their water, especially before and after I deworm them, or before they go to the buck in mating season. On kidding I always give the mother a bucket of honey water with salt, molasses, minerals and a big shot of probiotics. They love it. Aloe ferrox in water for a couple days is an excellent dewormer. And despite being extremely bitter you will be amazed at how much the goats enjoy eating aloe! We have it growing all over the country side so I pick a number of big leaves at a time. The goats fish it out of the water as fast I put it in! Interestingly enough if they are clear of worms they generally won't touch the aloe.

Goshna 042.JPG

FOOD: Goats love diversity. If you have trees, wild vegetation, mixed pasture (grapevines or goat-friendly fruit trees) for them to graze so much better. The bulk of their diet should be dried roughage. Before the drought we cut and baled lucerne in summer, oats and barley in winter. And the girls would get baled food before going out to roam for the day. You will notice a decided increase or decrease in milk yield depending on the amount of fresh green in their diet. Rotating grazing is the best way to control parasite build up as well as ensuring a healthy pasture. Get to know what food is legal and illegal for goats, particularly in your area. I cannot over emphasise how important this is. Poisoned plants cause the most terrible death. Other than that a selection is a sure way to a happy and healthy flock.

Goshna 467.JPG

Goats love treats, and they love fruit. Most of our fruit and veggie peelings go to the goats (Especially onion or garlic, raisins and citrus) Any part of a potato, tomato or pepper is bad for them. If you have fresh grazing for them it is important that they have dry food first. Goats will bloat just as quickly as a sheep on fresh green. Protein is also very important in a goat diet but get to know the quantity. In the last two months of pregnancy and throughout lactation they need far more protein (corn - nonGMO, sunflower seeds, oats etc) Young growing kids also need higher quantities of protein. Buck only really need during rutting season. Protein can cause urinary tract infection in buck but when they are with the girls they need that extra energy. You want to keep the buck away from the does most of the time. There's a number of reasons for this which I will address in the next post. But don't forget that the boys love and deserve treats as much as their harem.

Goshna 102.JPG

The best gardening service is a goat! As long as you know what vegetation is safe for them you can freely release them into overgrown areas. Alternatively when pruning or gardening toss the excess to the expectant goats. I make my own blend of grains as well as sprouted barley for my girls to enjoy while I milk. They will fight each other for this green goat chocolate as well as tasty little treats.

Goshna 029.JPG

FIRST AID: Prevention being better than cure applies to animals as well as humans. Except for freak accidents, if you have a healthy goat you shouldn't have illness. I have found my biggest challenge is with parasites and a compromised rumen. The theory is that about 80% of a goats problem starts in the rumen. "Feed the rumen - not the goat". If the rumen stops working you inevitably have a dead goat. A goat may become constipated, as with humans, though it is rare. Enema's are easy and gives almost instant results. There are a few essentials that I always have in my animal first aid (Rescue, charcoal, milk of magnesia, olive oil, colloidal silver, apple cider vinegar, tumeric, cayenne, bicarb, probiotics, senna leaves, cloves and if you use them; homeopathic remedies - the South African Blue Box, I have found invaluable in treating our livestock)

Goshna 029.JPG

There are also a few herbs that I always have in abundance in my gardens (such as wormwood, comfrey, olive leaf, garlic) as well as dried herbs in the kitchen. These I make up into a strong kombucha (which they love to drink) or a free feed. If they need it they don't have to be asked but will eat from your hand. Goats are amazing creatures, and will self medicate if given the option. Regularly (and always when I suspect worm buildup) I will offer them branches of olive leaf, wormwood, handfuls of cloves and garlic. Aloe ferrox chopped up is also a hit with the girls! Because of the compromised environment we live in (and super bugs) some times the natural treatments do not work. It is often a fine line between natural health and medical. Do not delay in treating medically if you have to or you risk the life of your goat. Also in my first aid is a good anti-biotic, injectable iron and multimin (with copper and selenium). As well as masticure (or the equivelent). Although it was developed for mastitis I use it for eye infections, with wonderful results. We also have a good medical dewormer, but never use it unless you know you have a big worm problem. Every 3 to 4 months we send samples to the vet to do a worm count.

Goshna 035.JPG

There are so many reasons why people keep goats or should keep goats. But it is important to get to understand and prepare before taking the plunge. They are wonderful pets, who give so much in return. It may seem labour intensive but it really is worth it. Don't make the beginners mistakes I did. Learn from mine and make sure you are prepared. Life with goats is an adventure! But I love my goats. I can't imagine my homesteading life without them.

Goshna 049.JPG

Sort:  

howdy buckaroo! man...you have to be the world's best goat owner! lol. I mean those goats of yours get first class treatment. All your photos are perfect too!

@janton I don't always feel like the best goat owner. Today one of my girls died. It breaks my heart. She was due to "retire" this year but some infection killed her very quickly despite all my efforts

oh no! I'm so sorry. The infection wasn't spreadable to others was it?

No not at all. It was in her udder. So she was semi-mastitic

oh I understand, I'm so sorry.

I didn't know you liked goats!!! Haha... I love your goat love posts. Makes me want to get some... They look like the healthiest goats ever!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you think I don't come across strongly enough @riverflows? Maybe I should do a post to say "I LOVE GOATS - I LOVE GOATS - I LOVE GOATS............" They are very healthy probably because they are very spoilt. My husband sometimes complains that they get more attention than he does ;)

Poor husband. They do suffer, don't they, men?

Haha... no, I think you need to express your goat love even more. An interpretative goat dance? A tattoo? A ballad?

PS I love your goat posts x

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooooo! Can you imagine what my husband would say if I arrived home with a goat tattoo....

I really appreciate all the effort you go to to provide your goats with a healthy and diverse diet - they look lovely and healthy!

Thank you @walkerland. It is a very reciprocal relationship. I love my goats and they bless us with such nourishing milk for all sorts of healthy goodies.

Will goats avoid foods they shouldn't eat as long as they are well fed, or do you have to check the land for anything toxic before they go on it?

Sadly, no @minismallholding. Usually when they grow up and learn from the others what to avoid they will (mostly) not eat anything toxic. But on the other hand some of the toxic plants seem to give them a buzz. I guess like alcohol or narcotics etc to humans. I have one girl that actually runs for the most dangerous plants, if she ever gets near them. I always yank her back after only an initial bite. She may later throw up but it hasn't killed her. I have lost a number of goats (especially in my early ignorant days) because they had a few mouthfuls. The adults can be pulled through with radical treatment but never the babies. The death is horrible. So now there are fences everywhere and they are kept far away from temptation. At least our homestead is big enough

Sister you are a little behind on those comments still :P Cluck cluck... I mean click click :P

Why don't you read the comments? All my comments MEAN something. People actually care. Not like your commenters who are doing it because of incentive to possibly win something. Forget cluck cluck. TUT TUT!!

Don't be nasty sis the rules where top in comments, regardless of their 'meaning and incentive' I do believe I am about 50 ahead? :P click click tut tut toot toot hoot hoot ;)

PS: My people care too these folks go back a year and more ;) Now better get posting eh you have much catching up to do ;)

Did you see my amazing Beet Kvass post? I especially did it because you said "challenge on" Got 45 comments and a bonus prize. Then you said you only started the challenge 4 days later. Whaaaat?!!!! I am alone on the farm for a whole week I'm not going to be posting any time soon. So I guess you win

Ye but I said that I would send you 2 sbd anyways and I shall on completion of the contest... mwah

Kvass?? That's the first time I see BEER spelt like that :P

This is something that I had never got when I studied about small ruminants at university, better than the text book because this came from the heart and life experience. Thank you @buckaroo for your informative posts and lovely photos too. Someone needs to have a good passion to keep the goats IMO, in my hometown.. it's quite difficult to find a homesteader who also has goats meat or dairy) even in the country side.. the owner let the goats roaming around others yards and the street too. Maybe because they only care about the price when its ready to sell.

@cicisaja sadly it is the same here in the more rural areas. The animals are left to roam the rubbish dumps, highways and byways. They are usually in very bad condition but their owners simply view them as food or a means to make money. I hate that. My goats are part of the family first. And second they give us food and help us make some money

I think that's why there is an animal husbandry faculty at the university 😊 to change the extensive to intensive way of raising and caring for the "source of food" or "the source of money" .. And funny things is even after more than 50 years of animal's science development.. still, we can not change the habit.

I love to read how you take care your dairy goats and treating them as part of family not just a commodity😊 I have a neighbour who used to watch for her goats while roaming around my rental house in Aceh, but she let her goats demolishs my jackfruit baby tree 😅 and goats here so fond of the jackfruit leaves.

Old habits are hard to change @cicisaja

Sorry that you lost your jackfruit tree. We've lost plenty trees and good chunks of our veggie garden to my naught goats! I still love them though

Congratulations @buckaroo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52