FOR THE LOVE OF GOATS - LESSON 1

in #homesteading5 years ago

Goshna 081.JPG

Having goats is like having children; you need to know what to expect but you will never be fully prepared for them! Like the two legged kids, goats will give you moments of pure delight as well as utter despair. They are loveable mischiefs. Whenever I do a goat related post - whether it be about life with goats or making their yummy cheeses and soaps - someone asks me about keeping goats. This is the start to my answer:

Goshna 204.JPG

FENCING: It needs to be very good. My girls are (mostly) well behaved. If a fence is not secure goats will at some point test it. Goat people say that if you can throw water through a fence, then a goat can also get through it. The problem comes in because they inevitably end up in the neighbours orchard or the chickens food which will cause their rumen to sour, then they bloat and die. We've had goats get past the fences and strip a half grown tree, which doesn't survive the severe pruning and ring barking. If your goats get into the veggie garden they may find themselves as the evening meal because your spouse or aging gardener parent have no appreciation for the cute and hungry goat.

Goats 1.JPG

SHELTER: Goats have hair, not wool like a sheep, and they feel extreme weather. They do not like wind or rain. And, while we have only snow on the mountains, many of you homesteaders over the pond will have snow. If exposed to extreme weather goats can get pneumonia. Boerbokke are hardy, being indigenous to South Africa, but dairy goats are a little more finicky. The sun can also be a problem. Goats need permanent access to shelter. In exteme heat they prefer trees. In rain or extreme wind and snow they need to be able to get indoors. Living in the Karoo we have extreme summers so it is vital that there is plenty of shade. Although goats do need the sunshine, I have found that often, in the middle of the hottest day, they will be out there sun tanning! Be cautious when a new udder begins to drop, with a first time mother. Because of the delicate young flesh their udders can burn. If you notice the udder gets sunburnt, rub coconut oil or spray colloidal silver. Even aloe ferrox will protect against sunburn. When your goats eventually kid they also need the shelter for the babies. Our big wooden goat house is divided into stalls inside which are specifically for the newborns and their mama.

Goshna 044.JPG

PERSONALITIES: Goats are extremely social. They need each other. And some of them will need you! Some are very affectionate with each other. Some very affectionate with their humans. And even those a little shy or naughty will become depressed on their own. I have a few generations of families. Daughters usually still have a strong bond with their mothers even after they have their own babies. It is wonderful to see the little families eating or sleeping together. My very first goats were a mother and daughter. When the daughter kidded for the first time, her twin boy adopted granny ... and we had no milk!

Goat fight.JPG

You will notice that a vital part of goat politics is head butting with each other. It is their way of establishing hierachy as well as playing. When the girls are on heat then there is a lot of that going around. Don't be alarmed even though it sounds like the clash of the titans! You get to know who is who in the butting order. All my goats have horns except for one. And they are at the bottom of the food chain. Whether to debud or not is the topic for a future post (as you can see I allow my precious goats to keep their horns). Don't be surprised if they find random things to climb (and often fling themselves off!) Goats are also extremely curious. Anything new usually needs to be either climbed or nibbled (or both). We have big old logs and built a small climbing frame in the main camp. They prefer sleeping off the ground. I also have huge old tractor tyres in the area which the babies play on and sleep in, when they are very little. Goats are highly intelligent. Mine are all named and they know their names. It helps with the milking because I call as I need them to come to the milking area. Of course like children, sometimes they will answer me but stay where they are!

Goshna girls.JPG

There are so many reasons why people keep goats or should keep goats. But it is important to get to understand and prepare before taking the plunge. They are wonderful pets, who give so much in return. If you missed out, read my last goatie post to understand what I had to do in order to justify keeping so many goats. Because, believe it or not, keeping goat is addictive! But I love my goats. I can't imagine my homesteading life without them
https://steemit.com/howto/@buckaroo/cheese-lovers-eat-your-hearts-out

Goshna 247.JPG

Sort:  

Great post. Looks like your goat herd is happy and healthy;)

Happy. Healthy. Spoiled!

I simply love your posts about your goats! I really do! I can only imagine having a herd of them! I would name them all too! Our Niki Marie was best friends with our horse, Henry. They make wonderful mates.

You give the best and most precise information and little tidbits of advice - but it is your delivery that really sets you apart.

I never knew about the udders burning and so I have learned something new yet again. It is your love for your goats and life and homesteading that allows you to freely share your knowledge and I have found most homesteaders are exactly this way. A warm, caring community of like-minded people.

Thank you for such a wonderful post. I am taking it home and sharing it. I cannot imagine that anyone would want to pass this one up! It is simply delightful, just like you!

Have a wonderful evening, @buckaroo!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

And I simply love your comments Denise! Even though you don't have goats you really make me feel like I'm adding value. If you learn something as well as enjoy my writing then it really is worth the effort. And thank you for the tip @dswigle

Niki Marie was a goat, but, she is gone now. I have learned so much from you in the short time I have been reading you! You are absolutely the best kind of teacher! Mwah!

I grew up on a farm, and we always had a goat or three.

I can see you love yours, but for me they really were spawn of the devil!! (and that was on a good day!...lol)

I'm glad you like yours, though!!

I guess you love them or hate them. When mine behave as goats generally do then my husband usually reaches for a weapon....

I'm on a meme thing at the moment...
move 1 - Copy.jpg

HAHAHAHAHA!!! I LOVE that. Going to show it to him

lolololololol

Congrats you won the daily Gogreenbuddy upvote worth roughly 50 cents! Keep writing like this and you will keep winning!

Fantastic post. :) For a short time, my husband worked at a goat dairy, and I loved visiting him at work because the lady goats were so friendly.

Did he enjoy it @heatherthebard? I sometimes get behind in my cheese or soap making because I love sitting with my girls. They fight for cuddles!

The lady goats were very friendly and sweet. :) For a while we talked about getting some goats of our own, but changing our miles and miles of barbed wire cow fencing to goat-suitable fence wasn’t too feasible. Maybe someday we’ll get a couple for in our back lot. :)

very good i liked the goats

Goats are the best pets

Looks like they are doing well, if you know what you are doing! :-D

Posted using Partiko Android

They are flourishing! Sadly it took some losses to learn more about goats. That's why I try to share my experience with newbies

ha! howdy buckaroo! wow this is like a tutorial or how to about raising and taking care of goats and what to expect, it's wonderful! Great job buckaroo!
We'll probably get goats here eventually.

Remember - I have warned you - goats are ADDICTIVE!!

lol. ok I'll consider myself warned!

A lot of interesting things about goats. I wanted to grow goats, I think the kids are the most wonderful beings ... But I did not even get close to a goat. I'm glad to see them and read about them in this excellent post. Thank you.

Thank you @bluemoon. They really are addictive. I love my goats. Can you tell? I'm about to post the next one. It's more intricate but the photos are special. Full of memories

I like memories. I wait, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85