BURNING THE MIDNIGHT STEEM

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_8819.JPG

Midnight in Africa. My little boy decided that sleeping is for the birds. Solution? Bleary eyed games with toys, a cat and neglected Steemit. First thing that popped up in my feed? Howto for homesteaders wanting to raise quail by none other than @quailbreeder. He also happens to be my Dad. He has a wealth of bird related advice. He is also an ardent lover of animals, which my goats can testify to as they demand his attention when he visits me. However last month my goats remained behind while my baby and I visited Gramps.

IMG_8766.JPG

While visiting him, I was interested to watch my Dad work with his quail. He has a continual cycling of eggs, incubator, hatcher, adult. The air is filled with the peculiar but soothing croon of his quail. Of course I took photos. Did you know that quail, unlike the chicken, have strong wings and fly! Often migrating fair distances. Unless, of course, they are domesticated, which my dad's are.

IMG_8823.JPG

Despite the huge difference in size - comparing quail to chicken egg - the quail egg is nearly 4 times more nutritionally dense than a chicken egg. They are quite a delicacy and pickled quail eggs are gaining popularity in South Africa. So, apparently are the actual birds which have a rich flavour, so I am told. I could never bring myself to eat one of these teeny little creatures - ask my Dad @quailbreeder and brother @craigcryptoking.

IMG_8811.JPG

History is one of my fascinations. Even that of this pretty little bird. The word quail finds its origins in medieval Latin and old French. In ancient Egypt quail were so popular for both meat and eggs that they had their own heiroglyph! Quail were domesticated 4000 years ago. It is thought that most domesticated quail today come from ancient Chinese stock. They continue to be preferred over chicken or turkey in many countries. It is no wonder as they are far more nutritionally dense than chicken. But for more information, particularly about how to keep quail, check out @quailbreeder.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@quailbreeder/quail-eggs-a-super-food-profit-maker-and-a-homesteaders-dream

Goshna Dad Visit 026.JPG

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this post with us! I love how you're in Africa this is just what the Collective is about, uniting around the Globe! We'd love for you to start using our #ghsc tag so we can find your posts easier, and also if you'd like a footer for your page, I will leave you the link to copy and paste below!

<center>https://s15.postimg.cc/85oxjqy97/ghscollective_logo-01-1.png</center><center>Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb</center>


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX7

Oh perfect! Will do. Thank you. I used to live in a game reserve and have some amazing memories and photos of life in the wild. Will post again some time

Congratulations @buckaroo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi buckaroo. Also up lol. Got my internet back today as was down for a week so just catching up. Have had quail before but too many bones for too little meat.

We are no stranger to internet problems. I guess it's the downside of living in the sticks!

I hunted quail as a kid and they are great to eat. Grandfather raised them for meat but I was to young then to do much with them. Missed out on that part.

When we first moved to our homestead there were plenty Franklin. Think they've relocated due to the drought. We tried them once. But they needed a LOT of cooking, marinading, cooking.....

hey there @buckaroo! very interesting and entertaining post, great great photos! you either have a wonderful camera or you're a gifted photographer! or maybe both?

Thank you - again - @janton for your kind words. I have a great camera but photography and art definitely run in the family. I've always had a camera. Always taken photos. My grandfather was a renowned South African author and photographer

oh ok so it's in your genes..very interesting..and it looks like it comes easy for you.

howdy today @buckaroo! you love it and it comes easy for you so it is definitely in your genes!

My father in law does the same thing. Every once in a while we butcher the males for meat. It is such tender meat. The most like chicken I've ever eaten. We love their eggs hardboiled. My daughter calls them baby eggs:)

Baby eggs is an appropriate name! The domesticated quail are definitely tender I tried the wild Franklin (which are way bigger) when we moved to our homestead. It literally cooked for days although it was delicious and you are full after eating very little.

Wow! I never realized how small their eggs were compared to a chickens but they kinda remind me of guinea hen (they lay small blue ones if I'm not mistaken). My father in law raises chickens but he hasn't gotten any quail...yet.. I say that because he normally surprises us with some sort of new chicken. haha.

That is so funny! My Dad does the same. He recently added white guinea.

You spelt oil wrong sister :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92