Nucleus Hive Installation Progress: day two

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Beekeeping in Central Louisiana



Yesterday April 28, 2018, I installed a five-frame nucleus hive into my ten-frame deep hive body. This morning I checked on the activity of my bee's, and this is what I found.

Check out the short video below!


The girls have already oriented themselves to their new home. If you look close, you can see the foragers returning loaded with pollen!

I installed the entryway feeders in case they needed a little boost establishing the new colony. It looks like they are ignoring it in favor of the surrounding nectar flow!

These are some of the wildflowers I plant around the place to help my bee colonies.



Wildflowers

Colorful, don't you think?


Early Tallow Tree Blossom

Here in central Louisiana, the Tallow trees are about to bloom, and the pollinators love them! They make tasty honey too!

The bees are feeding on the last of the Privet Hedge blossoms and the Dutch Clover at the moment.


Privet Hedge Bloom



Dutch Clover Bloom


The last of the Mayhaws are falling from the trees; they produced in abundance this year. I hate to leave these to rot, but I've harvested​ all we can process, ​and unless the neighbors​ come gather them I'll have to let nature claim them.


Mayhaws Cover the Ground!


That's what's going on at​ our place today!
I hope you enjoyed this short post!
CARRY ON!

Sort:  

Bees. Can we survive without them?

I think we could survive in America. The honey bee is an invasive species​ here. No American crops depend on the honey bee.It's​ only the European plants we grow that need the bee! And that's most of them and they aren't native to North​ America either!. I think we better save the little critters!

That's some incredible information. There is so much misinformation out there. I was under the impression most of our food supply is at great risk due to bee populations being decimated. Perhaps you could do some posts to educate myself & others what your experience is.

Well, I better clarify what I'm saying here. Most of our food supply is at risk because we rely on the crops we brought from Europe too. Crops native to North American are corn, potatoes, squash, muscadines.... several more that evolved separately from the European honey bee. The bee helps pollinate North American crops too... Perhaps not corn, that's a wind pollinated crop but our production would suffer tremendously without the little bee. Did you know that the earthworm is also an invasive species​ from Europe?

I forgot about imported crops. I read about that in a book titled "Guns, Germs and Steel". Interesting book.
I did not know that.(about worms) How? How could they spread like they have without being indigent?

I love clover honey! I haven't had any for many, many years. No clover here :{

Clover honey is my favorite too! But with all those tropical plants around you there must be a favorite there too!

Nothing compares to clover! Just like nothing compares to the taste of wild blueberries!

Looks like you may have lots of honey to harvest in the future also. I'd come pick up those Mayhaws for ya if I were close enough!. Flowers are beautiful! Great pictures, enjoyed seeing them!

I wish you were close too, I could hook you up with some Mayhaws! My back is killing me from bending over and gathering all of them. I made a dozen more pints of jelly this afternoon! I'm done!

Is there anything you don't dabble in ? I'll be tapping your knowledge, beekeeping is on my list of things to learn.

JerryT, my man! I think I dabble in too much also, and the Missus scolds me for having too many hobbies now!
How have you been my friend? Any woodworking projects in the works?​ Hey, I was checking out your Dinner at the Hangar post and ran that tail number. I was in Mena on Friday delivering an airplane to a paint shop and flew just south of Pearcy on the way up! We were close!
CARRY ON!

We were very close I live right on the Hot Springs / Pearcy line. If you ever land in Hot Springs gimme a shout we can have a bite and beverage. Ever heard of Enemy Aircraft ?

No, never heard of it...is it a business in your area?

Yes sir, that's a fella I met awhile back, it was his hanger we were at.

Okay, perhaps we'll cross paths sometime!

I just noticed you have Camino's Riot on your feed. Cool song. One of my new favorites.

Great tune right there!

Great post! When I was working in Guyana a couple of the guys that worked for me kept bees. It's a very cool hobby(?). They used to bring my royal jelly once in a while. Thanks for posting.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84