Sort:  

I think we could survive in America. The honey bee is an invasive species​ here. No American crops depend on the honey bee.It's​ only the European plants we grow that need the bee! And that's most of them and they aren't native to North​ America either!. I think we better save the little critters!

That's some incredible information. There is so much misinformation out there. I was under the impression most of our food supply is at great risk due to bee populations being decimated. Perhaps you could do some posts to educate myself & others what your experience is.

Well, I better clarify what I'm saying here. Most of our food supply is at risk because we rely on the crops we brought from Europe too. Crops native to North American are corn, potatoes, squash, muscadines.... several more that evolved separately from the European honey bee. The bee helps pollinate North American crops too... Perhaps not corn, that's a wind pollinated crop but our production would suffer tremendously without the little bee. Did you know that the earthworm is also an invasive species​ from Europe?

I forgot about imported crops. I read about that in a book titled "Guns, Germs and Steel". Interesting book.
I did not know that.(about worms) How? How could they spread like they have without being indigent?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71192.75
ETH 3667.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75