Off-Grid: Backpack Solar Panel - Portable 2.4 amp USB Charging

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago (edited)

When backpacking, camping, or preparing for an electrical grid-down scenario, solar power is one of the most reliable alternative power sources. Solar panels passively collect power from the sun with no other inputs or fuel. In full sunshine, this 21 watt fold out solar panel can provide 2.4 amp USB charging.

In the picture below you can see the solar panel securely attached to the backpack.

backpacksolar.jpg

Devices and Batteries Charging Plan

In full sunshine, this solar panel would charge most cell phones and tablets. I recommend charging devices before charging backup batteries to prevent power loss. Charging a battery, then charging a device from that battery uses more power than just charging the device directly and skipping the battery. Batteries are very useful when the sun is not shining, so be sure to charge up backup batteries if the sun is still shining after charging devices.

ankerpanels.jpg

Updated Charging Information:

Click below to watch the video of the Solar Panel charging a 20000 mAh battery.

Full Sun Charging (2.4 amp):

  • 1.5 hours for tablet
  • 1.0 hour for Samsung Note 2 cell phone
  • 2.0 hours for 4000 mAh USB backup battery
  • 5.0 hours for 10000 mAh USB backup battery
  • More than 10 hours to charge a 20000 mAh battery

Cloudy Overcast Charging (1-2 amp):

  • 2.5 hours for Samsung Note 2 cell phone
  • 2-4 hours for 4000 mAh USB backup battery
  • More than 5 hours for 10000 mAh USB backup battery
  • Will not charge a 20000 mAh battery unless there is enough sun light to provide the required 2.4 amp

*Results may vary if the solar panel is charging while on a moving backpack.

20180404_182015.jpg

You can see in the picture above that the solar panel has 2 USB PowerIQ outputs. I would recommend using both ports only when in full sunshine and with two devices that only require 1 amp for charging. If you try to plug two cell phones in at once - they will take a very long time to charge.

1 amp USB Chargeable Devices (from previous post)

In the picture below are many useful 1 amp USB chargeable devices: USB Chargeable battery, 2-way Radio, Cigarette Lighter, Pen Flashlight, Lamp Flashlight, Digital AM/FM Radio, Bluetooth Radio and Speaker, and Geiger Counter (not pictured).

In the video below you can see the solar panel charging a 1 amp chargeable 4000 mAh USB backup battery in overcast snow storm conditions.

Sort:  

I have 3 RV solar panels i got when my uncle passed, i really need to get them set up and doing some work for me this summer.

Nice - I'm guessing they are 80-100 watts each. They could easily be put to work ventilating a greenhouse with a fan. They would easily charge up devices and battery packs all day long. It could be useful to have them ready to go in case the the power ever cut out :)

What is a technical reason why this couldn't charge a 20,000 mAH (or higher) battery? I can see it taking longer but it seems like it would charge eventually.

This solar unit is supposed to put out up to 2.4 amps power - I agree with you that it should be able to - 2.4 amp is 2.4 amp. I do have a 20000 mAh battery pack here and it's a nice and sunny day - I will try to charge the battery and see if it will charge to full. It is possible they were referring to their 2.1 amp solar panel model. I will look into this more and try charging this battery and reply to you here later today with what i've found - and edit the post if needed. Thanks @darth-azrael

You are correct @darth-azrael - the manufacturer was refering to the 2.1 amp solar panel, not the 2.4 amp one I have. I connected my 20000 mAh battery - in full sun - and it is charging :) I'll leave it charging for the day to see if it brings it to full - it will eventually. Thanks for the correction :)

I'm not sure what it is about the way you say things, but I understand all the talk about solar and such when you describe it. I have wanted a set up where I could store all the tons on information (DIY, survival, etc., etc) that would rarely be needed except in a SHTF situation or offgrid. But I could not figure out how to keep a device charged to make the info available. This will work and it is affordable, thanks for the knowledge!

Hi @fernowl13 - I started a discord group for offgrid and no grid content. The informational post links are being cataloged so interested people can find info. Steemit members of the group get upvotes from the @offgrid-online account for their offgrid content posts. Let me know if you would like an invite to the group :)

@jackdub, I would gladly join your group but I am vision impaired and I have been unable to get discord adjusted so I can see it. I have to have my screen adjusted in a certain way so I can see it, but I have tried every adjustment I can think of and I just cannot read 95% of discord. If you hear of any addon I can use to adjust the text colors, please let me know. I miss out on so much from so many people by not being able to use it.

Thanks @fernowl13 :) I do make an effort to not get too bogged down in the details, and try point out the most useful information. I have a lot of plants, herbs, astrology, maps, engineering, and survival other books and materials downloaded onto my tablet and a backup memory stick - just for that purpose you mentioned. I'm pretty good with tools and the how to survival things, but for details of various plants and their uses and other more technical topics - I would definitely like having something to reference. I'm glad I could help :)

Good review! I've seen those portable chargers in online catalogs, but haven't bit yet. Thanks for trying one out.

Yes, those things are the best things for their size! They're great along with batteries and of course, USB/MicroUSB-charged devices.

For sure - all of my favorite devices are USB chargeable :)

So practical! Good tips about charging priorities, too.

You got a 22.94% upvote from @minnowfairy!

Join our Upvote My Post Raffle Draw contest today and you could win a FREE Upvote! Click here for details.

Congratulations, your post received 6.28% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @jackdub! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78