Back Acres: Small Knife Sharpening with a Pocket Sharpener - Regular, Serrated, and Gut Hook

in #steemedc6 years ago (edited)

The Lansky Blademedic has many tools for knife sharpening. There are a lot of different ways to sharpen knife edges. I like this sharpener because it easily fits in the pocket or backpack. It sharpens my stainless steel and carbon steel knife blades at home, and on the go. I like to give my EDC knife a quick sharpen once a week when moderately using the knife a few times a day. This pocket sharpener is designed to sharpen regular, serrated, gut hook, and filet blades.

sharpen2.jpg

Gerber Remix Folding Knife

The Gerber Remix was my first EDC knife that I carried and used on a regular basis. The blade is a highly corrosion resistant stainless steel metal - 7Cr17MoV. A good steel for extreme knife conditions like salty sea water diving. Last spring I used this knife for digging in the dirt - cutting garden row fabric while transplanting wild strawberries. I forgot my knife and left it in the dirt and rain for a month. When I returned to the property and found the knife, I rinsed it off with water - not a spot of rust!

Below is a picture of my Gerber Remix knife pointing out the basic parts of a knife blade.

bladedesc.jpg

The knife Edge is the cutting edge and runs along the length of the blade. The Belly of the blade is not obvious on this knife, but it is the part of the blade that curves upward.

Lansky Blademedic - Serrated Ceramic

In the picture below you can see the white serrated ceramic sharpener on the right side of the Blademedic. The ceramic sharpener is my favorite way to sharpen regular and serrated blades. This one has angles useful for sharpening serrated knives. Ceramic is essentially pottery and is not stronger but harder than steel. The harder than steel ceramic strokes massage the hard to see and out of line metal back to it's razor sharp edge position. Ceramic rod knife sharpening is usually non destructive, removing minimal metal from the blade.

serratedceramic.jpg

Tapered Diamond Rod

In the picture below - you can see the tapered diamond rod folded out from the bottom and extending to the left. The diamond powder coated tapered rod makes quick work of blade sharpening. No pressure is needed when diamond rod sharpening, just a steady and smooth stroke.

lanskyshark.jpg

Ceramic V Sharpener

The ceramic V sharpeners may be useful for beginners - the ceramic V angle helps guide the blade. My blades have various angles much narrower than this one. Without much practice - I find it easier to feel and guide the blade bevel/grind surface along the corner edge of the serrated ceramic.

Carbide V Sharpener

Carbide is the last resort for a long neglected blade that no longer has a well defined bevel/grind surface to smoothly run along the ceramic sharpener. Carbide easily removes metal from the blade for quick bevel/grind redefining - be sure to proceed slowly and very carefully if ever using this part of the sharpener.

Regular Edge Knife Sharpening

Below is a demonstration video of sharpening the regular non serrated edge of a blade using the serrated ceramic sharpener, and then with the - rarely used by me - ceramic V sharpener.

Serrated Edge Knife Sharpening

Below is a demonstration video of sharpening the serrated edge of a blade with the serrated ceramic sharpener, and then with the tapered diamond rod sharpener.

Gut Hook Knife Sharpening

Below is a video demonstration of sharpening a gut hook knife edge with the tapered diamond rod. No pressure applied, just dragging across the surface of the gut hook bevel.

In the picture below is a locking blade folding knife, saw, and gut hook.

20180331_134225.jpg

There are many ways to sharpen blade edges. I find pocket knife sharpeners the most convenient for me.

I am always very careful with knives, and aware of the people around me when I am using, handling, and sharpening them.

If you post about your favorite Every Day Carry knives, or other EDC items, be sure to use the #steemedc tag :)

Have a great day!

Sort:  

A very handy post. I didnt know about sharpening serrated blades either.

I prefer non serrated blades, but I do appreciate that even a cheap serrated blade can bite into wood like a chisel :)

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts, upvoted and resteemed. Sotall curates posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

That's great. I didn't even know I could sharpen serrated blades. The videos are really helpful. Thanks.

Much easier to envision doing something after seeing it done :)

CONGRATULATIONS!

You post was featured in the Preppers Curation Post today

Thanks @goldendawn :) I suspect you'll see more outdoor bushcrafting posts from us northerners as we slowly exit from this winter :)

I'm sure I will. I am looking forward to seeing some of the posts too

Those are handy little sharpeners. Great post, and demonstrations too. Thanks!

Always good to have a portable option... Nice blades...
My EDC is a SAK so i carry the dedicated sharpener for it too..
Good Skills.

I was looking for a "bird" gut hook knife like the one my husband lost...but he is absolutely delighted with the Premium Trapper 3 blade, saw, gut hook, clip point.

Nice, I'll have to check out that one. I know what you mean about the special bird hooks - really small - they almost look like a piece of bent wire. I do have a smaller trapper/hunter 3 piece knife - 'old-timer' - I only wish it had locking blades like the larger Winchester trapper knife from the post :)
20180331_164009.jpg

Loading...

You got a 21.75% upvote from @minnowfairy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31