The Many Benefits and Advantages My Family Has Experienced Through Home Education.

in #homeschooling5 years ago (edited)

kids.jpeg

My journey with home education or home schooling as some like to call it, began when I was a mother. I felt very strongly that I did not want my children to attend mainstream schools. I do not agree with the education system, how it is organized and how they segregate children according to age. Segregation begins at such a young age now and it is very damaging.

Our focus needs to be about bringing people together not introducing the idea that we should only be around certain people (in this instance those of a certain age). You plant a seed at a young age and watch it bloom, see how that seed of segregation branches out.

I have full faith in my children's ability to teach themselves and nothing is more exciting that witnessing their excitement when they figure things out for themselves. My girls have learned so much through play and their learning has always been fun. When you force children into a situation, when you force them to learn, then the fun stops and it is seen as more of a chore. Children are born with a strong urge to learn and explore and we need to start honour that, by giving them the freedom to self educate.

IMG_6052.JPG

My two eldest girls learn in very different ways and because they have the freedom to choose how they spend most of their day, they got to discover what way in which they learn best. They have the opportunity to explore the world around them and find the best way in which they can teach themselves. Don't get me wrong I am available to them throughout the day and we do lots of activities together. But because of that freedom, they have developed really great problem solving skills and decision making skills. Skills that they will carry with them throughout their lives.

They are very confident in their abilities, and they get super excited to explore new things and new places, they are always up for an adventure. With the freedom they have, they are able to follow their own instincts when it comes to learning and creating and they learn so much quicker because of it. Some days can be spend building dens or tree houses, while other days can be all about art, music or planting seeds. I have been so inspired watching my girls build and use hand tools.

When we unschool ourselves as parents and let go of the fear we hold, especially when it comes to allowing our children to take the lead, we really get to see what they are capable of and it is very liberating for us parents to let go. Our relationship is then based on trust and mutual respect and we all end up learning together.

trek3.jpg

A few years ago, before my youngest was born, I went on a 2 month trek in the mountains with my daughters. We went with a friend and her son and we each had a horse to carry our belonging. We also used the opportunity to raise money for refugees and the local kids creative space, where kids who are homeschooled can go and get involved in building, music and art projects. ( My two eldest go there twice a week now, where they will be building the space they want as it has no infrastructure on the land now, it is in the wilderness up in the mountains.)

On that trek my girls got involved in the cooking, gathering wood, caring for the horses and putting up and taking down the tents each day. They learnt such valuable skills, as did I and most of all they got to be out in nature, in the wilderness for 2 months. Deepening their bond with nature.

IMG_1268.JPG

Having experiences like that, in my eyes are so important. Children are born with a deep connection with the earth, but through education and segregation that connection becomes weaken. The world as we know it, is the way it is because of all of the destruction done by humankind, our focus needs to be on nurturing the relationship that children have with the natural world. Giving them the freedom to be in nature and to educate them on the many ways that we can be of service to the earth.

I know that I can not control what my children consume all the time, what they witness and see, but I can help to guide them as they build a strong foundation in self learning, self care and a deep respect for mother nature. Home education allows us to do that, allows my girls to deepen their roots to the land and deepen their respect for the earth and all living things on her. In following their lead, they are becoming the person that they want to be.

This post is in response to the wonderful contest put on by @homeedders, you can find all the details here.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp




DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

I believe that parents should be the most influential educator for our kiddos. Keep inviting and encouraging your kiddos to learn life in the real world.

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌

I agree @sumatranate we really should be and then it is important to let your community play a part as well, thank you for your support xx

Curiousity is EVERYTHING in learning!! I love what you do with your kids. You should educate all the world's children! Love what you do. Never get tired of those images with your horse and the kids!! An enviable journey. You should all do it again some time!!

I get so angry at politicians and other assholes who are saying kids protesting about climate change should stay at home and 'be kids' and they don't know any better and have been brainwashed by their parents. That's not my experience of kids at all. They are far smarter and better than anyone gives them credit for with our education system.

And the #naturalmedicine tag is welcome - you just made me realise I should add a tag called #homeschooling or #unschooling on www.naturalmedicine.io - @minismallholding, thoughts? Because education can heal as well as damage.

I'd never thought about it that way, despite the fact that I have been thinking how a lot of what we write about it also educational. You have a very good point there.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really really want to do it again, in a year or 2 I should be ready, just waiting for my youngest to get a bit older. I hear you re politicians and the like, all this anger that is surfacing it really does need to come out so that we can change the energy and move forward. I am so inspired by what I see and hear at the moment and yes using the naturalmedicine tag for unchooling is a fantastic idea, xxx

Greatt! Should I use tag #unschooling or #homeschooling on front end? They would get pulled on to www.naturalmedicine.io if they used tag #naturalmedicine too. Really keen for GOOD alternative living posts to turn up on front end as thats our face to world after all! @minismallholding @trucklife-family

Posted using Partiko Android

I think #homeschooling is more commonly used and #unschooling is usually a secondary tag.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, yes, yes!
My daughters started out in the school system and it wasn't until we came out that I really became aware of just how restricting the school system can be. My youngest lost her love of reading at school and it took a long time for her to be able to read for the enjoyment of it. That seems crazy to me, because she would have missed out on so much.

Thank you so much for sharing

thank you @homeedders, yes it is so restricting, I have seen many times the differnce between my girls and those who are in school, mine 3 find it so much easier to express themselves and do so freely. The amount of times I have gotten 'looks' because my children are being themselves and expressing their happiness and sadness openly. I really should have wrote about that above there really are so many wonderful things I could write about, thanks so much for creating this wonderful community xxxx

You're welcome.

Do I feel another post coming on for all the new things coming to mind? 😁

I think I will have too xxxx

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

thank you for your support xxx

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 95000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Interesting read. Thanks for sharing your experience. Our 8yo boy has never liked school because he does not have the freedom to do what he likes during class. Rather than coloring within lines, he would prefer to draw his own art for instance.

Hello @trucklife-family, I'd love to publish your article translated into German language, if you agree, for having it linked to a German version of https://steempeak.com/homeschooling/@homeedders/some-great-news-of-a-fantastic-opportunity-and-a-reminder-for-the-challenge

This was such a good and inspiring post @trucklife-family. I love how you let your kids be explorers and experience the world around them freely. They are going to be so equipped, independent, and able to survive with all of the life skills you are teaching them. Love this! 💚

Sorry @a1-shroom-spores, this post is older than 3 days, therefore, this post can't reward TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64871.83
ETH 2536.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67