Considering Home-School: Why It Was The Right Choice for Us!

in #homeschool7 years ago

 When I first started mentioning that we were considering homeschooling  our kids, I can’t tell you how many scoffed at the idea or tried to talk us out of it.  People have VERY strong opinions on homeschooling…  including those who have zero experience with it!  I’ve been warned to  make sure my children remain properly socialized, I’ve been asked about  our (presumably very conservative) religious leanings, and I’ve had  people with kids in public school take offense that we were considering  removing ours.  Our personal choice to home school is just that – it’s a  personal choice.  Our kids are happy, healthy, and they’re learning a lot, developing crucial skills, and growing as people.  THAT’S WHAT MATTERS.   I do not need to justify our choice to anyone; however I will explain why we made this choice as I feel it will resonate with many other  parents. 

 

Image Credit

 Neither of our children (hell, nobody in our family) fits into the  neat “normal” box that society demands.  We have always found teachers  and staff very caring, but there were simply not enough educators to go  around.  Once our son entered middle school, he was handed an iPad as an  “educational tool” and spent a tremendous amount of class time  switching around different apps for digital projects.  We worried about  how much actual learning was taking place.  Our daughter was already  being picked on for her appearance in the first grade.  Both kids were  doing well academically according to grades, standardized tests, and  report cards, however we had concerns about the reliability of these  metrics.  Additionally, our son was having significant struggles  socially and behaviorally, and there were simply not enough resources to  ensure that he wouldn’t fall through the cracks.

Also, budget cuts mean that mainstream public school is seriously  lacking in arts, music, physical education, and other critical classes  that help develop our children into well-rounded young adults. (Remember home ec and industrial technology?)    The district had millions to spend on iPads, but apparently not  enough money to invest in the very people – teachers – who are tasked  with imbuing the next generation with the knowledge and skills required  to be proper functioning adults.  Don’t even get me started with how incredibly wrong it is to send marketing emails from Apple to my child’s public school email!

Of course at the end of the day, the responsibility really falls on  parents to raise their children – we cannot expect the school to do it  for us.  Many parents are not only juggling both working full-time  outside the home, but also extra-curricular activities in an effort to  fill these competency gaps.  While we participated in some  extra-curriculars, our kids suffered from lack of down-time and the  freedom to be just kids.  We are very fortunate to be able to make the  choice for our kids to step back, simplify our life, and invest in their  learning full-time. 

So why is homeschooling a good choice for us?

Flexibility

Our kids learn at their own pace.  If one of the kids encounters a  difficult math concept, we can take the time to understand it before we  move on to the next topic.  Conversely, if a subject is easy, we can  review it quickly and keep moving. This limits busywork and keeps  learning interesting, and focuses on knowledge and skill mastery. 

One-on-one instruction

Individual attention has made a world of difference for our kids’  learning.  Through home school I can take the time to individually work  with them to ensure they’re understanding the material. 

Less screen time

No more staring at a school iPad for hours at a time!  Both our kids  prefer learning the “old fashioned way” — paper and pencil, instruction  and hands-on activities, and reading from an actual book.   Through home  school, we can accommodate that.  Of course we still use technology  quite a bit, but screen time is limited to certain school projects  (PowerPoint presentations are a favorite at our house) and fun. 

Applied learning

The beauty of home school is that we can immediately incorporate  everything we’re learning to the real world.  While studying geometry,  we used a quadrant to estimate the height of various trees around our  property.  I tied gardening concepts into our life science curriculum.   We practice fractions while baking.  While planting corn kernels this  spring, we discussed the cultural significance of corn in Aztec and Maya  cultures and how they selectively bred teosinte to produce the maize we  know today.  The possibilities are endless and learning never stops. 

Freedom to pursue interests

With our schedule being so flexible, we are now free to participate  in a wide variety of activities off the property.  We attend educational  workshops and activities at our local library often, we participate in  4-H, we go on field trips that tie into what we’re currently studying,  and we connect with other home school families.  Home school is very  popular in our area! These are just a few of the reasons why we’ve gone the home school  route.  As I’ll discuss in later posts, the transition was anything but  smooth and the learning curve, for me, was huge, but so far it’s been  worth it! 

Thanks for reading! Want to see more?

Check out our Website!

Find us on Twitter!

Follow us on IG!

Sort:  

upvote_initiative.png
100% UpVoted & Re-steemed! More about the Initiative here...
Remember To Vote blueorgy for witness!

@blueorgy really on your blog has been coming big crowd of steemians just because of your blog keep rocking it!!🤘

Always a good thing!!

Wow, thanks so much for this insight. We have numerous kids in our community that homeschooled. We even considered homeschooling our boy too but unfortunately it's not an option at this point in time. Maybe in the future though ;)
I definitely agree on the screen time issue!! Kids are over-stimulated and thus can't sit still and be "bored" anymore - big problem!!
Thanks for the post :)

I agree on the "bored" thing - I think being bored is an important thing for kids these days! My two kids (13 yo son and 8 yo daughter) get along so much better now that they are forced to interact instead of being able to constantly escape into their own worlds. They solve problems together and even help each other with school work. It's very rewarding to watch!

Wow, that's amazing to hear!!
I really do wish you guys all the best with the homeschooling 👍🏻😁

@cheeto.blue I'm also agreed from ur post and also despite the many benefits of educating one's children at home, there are some disadvantages to home schooling. The most significant disadvantage is the amount of sacrifice it takes, physically, emotionally, and financially. Time is needed to prepare and teach lessons, organize outside activities and field trips, and schedule opportunities for the home schooled child to nurture his friendships and develop his interests. Home schooling parents do not have the luxury of having time for themselves while their children are at school. This almost-constant time together can at times seem suffocating, and may not work for some families.

And that is one of the main reasons we have not been able to as yet...

Yes's bro true!!

Yep, the disadvantages you list are the ones I am most struggling with! Time by myself in the garden helps a ton!

Yes yes yes! Thumbs up, i second! :) While homeschooling may not be an option for some, or an interest for others, it is most definitely a great choice for my family. And @sylviategan, there are subjects I'm not comfortable teaching, so I either learn it right beside the kids, or give them the books and they self teach it. (See @addijayne0911 she's my daughter, and did a post a few days ago about self taught math and how it's made her a better person. )
There will be scoffers. We've had to prove some wrong in our extended family, but usually we just keep trucking on and roll our eyes at the negativity.
Nothing can replace the family time. Nothing can replace the close bonds with the kids. My kids aren't shy and are not the wall flowers at events. We don't worry about them not being socialized.
People forget some of the greatest minds in history were homeschooled or self taught.
I'm so glad the stigma of the 80's is not the norm of today.

We were...well are unintentional homeschoolers. Our oldest was actually in public school, but due to his autism, food allergies, and then undiagnosed medical condition, we pulled him. He wasn't thriving, and was instead regressing. Homeschooling ended up being the perfect fit for him, and it also worked out when my other two came along with the same medical condition. They also had their own challenges that would have caused them to struggle in a traditional setting. I think what amazes people, is that my kids are in fact more social and know how to act in a variety of settings versus just knowing how to 'sit still and be quiet.' It was the best choice for us, and this is coming from a parent who did well in public school. I feel as if my eyes were opened by accidently finding the world of homeschooling.

I will upvote, resteem, and follow :)

thanks! We didn't start off thinking of homeschooling, either. Glad it's working out for you!!

One of the greatest gifts I can give my children is to keep them close to me. I won't have to ask them someday "what did you learn today?" because I will know exactly what they have learned today. @ironshield

@ironshield I get your feelings but I think if you keep your children's to you. Than your children never learned many things.

I get what you mean - I think it depends on the style of home school. I try to remain objective and we explore different world views all the time. By trying to keep an open mind I get to learn right along with my kids. I think it's also important to make sure that they have opportunities to learn from a lot of different people!

I agree - I am learning right along with them!

Very informative post. I think many parents considering homeschooling worry, as @sylviategan did in her reply that "I would be good at certain things: art, reading, writing, cultural/historical stuff...But I'm very much lacking in math, science, geometry stuff." But then I read in your post:

While planting corn kernels this spring, we discussed the cultural significance of corn in Aztec and Maya cultures and how they selectively bred teosinte to produce the maize we know today.

and I assume that you're learning, or re-learning, right along with your kids. Sounds like you made the right choice. Best wishes to you.

I am, or at least, trying to! My kids teach me quite a bit, too. It's been a fun process!

Congratulations @flusterfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I hear you loud and clear captain you got another homeschooling Soldier here. We too chose to homeschool our kids for many of the same reasons you just mentioned and with the combination of our Co-op and our church family our children or not only well socialized but they are both strong leaders amongst all of their peers, those who are in regular school and those who are in homeschool.

What a wonderful piece to read. I commend you. My kids are my world and if I could have done homeschool I would have. I felt strongly about my kinds learning in a different language, actually their father's native language. So I put them into a french school so they could communicate with their grandparents. I would continue the teaching after school and on weekends so that I picked up the slack that the school was lacking. Really, your school has Ipad to teach? That is seriously unfortunate, as kids I find have way too much screen time as it is in the off hours of school. I put all my kids in music lessons, and one in each a sport to occupy the time outside of school. Thanks for sharing.

I think French immersion is a great idea, and your children will benefit greatly from being bilingual! Yep, iPads in every child's hands, classrooms full of zombies. It was touted as an amazing benefit for the students. In the US, the school system is not guided by what's actually the best for children, but what's best for profits. Mainly the standardized testing companies, who also publish college textbooks (Pearson etc). Oh and all the educational software that is forced upon districts... it's a massive, lucrative industry!

Sad that our kids have to be the victims of this. No actually immersion programs across the board and languages has been clearly determined that it has a negative effect on the developing mind. It get too confused. In the early years kids need all and a little but not 50/50, as when they grow they will have never really mastered either language and get frustrated and have failing negative affects in their High School years. My father was a teacher for 35 years and have pilot project of french immersion in the early years. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65