Making a HUGE batch of salve for a friend! (Main ingredient: LARD!) Best lotion ever! ♥

in #homemade6 years ago

A year or so ago, I made some lotion for myself out of lard. Yeah, that sounds pretty weird, right? You tell someone you are using lard lotion, they are going to imagine you rubbing bacon grease on yourself.

 

My neighbor came over one day. I told her about my lotion, and asked her if she wanted to try some. She said, 'NO!'

What a shock. (Sarcasm alert!) I told her to smell it. She sniffed reluctantly, while making this face as if she were smelling a dog turd... A look of amazement came over her face. 'This smells BEAUTIFUL!' she said. (Of course it did. Who WANTS to smell like pork?! Essential oils are your friends here!)

Well, after some thinking, she, (again, reluctantly), got a dab of my lotion and rubbed it over her hands. She sniffed her hands deeply and was still quite surprised at how nice it smelled. After some mama-talk and coffee, she went home.

The next day I got a call from her. She said the lotion worked better on her hands than ANY other lotion she ever bought and can I PLEASE make her a jar?!

Why, of course!

Fast forward a year or so to the present.

She is going on vacation next week to visit family. Apparently, she has let them all try her lotion at one point or another, and they ALL love it and they ALL want some. Her mother has some kind of skin issues going on, and this is the ONLY lotion that helps!
She asked me if I could whip up a bunch of jars for her to share with her family members. She said she would pay me for my time and materials, and she is a lovely friend and neighbor, so naturally, I agreed.

I made the lotion today, and I will share with you how I did it!


 
P1060155.jpg

Now, just for your information, I know that what I make is technically called a salve. I get it. A lotion is actually an emulsion of oils and water. I used to make actual lotion, but I find this salve I make works better and is MUCH less work! I have always called it lotion, and I feel weird calling it a salve, so bear with me....

We decided on a carton of 12 half-pint jars. Plenty of little jars to go around.
 
P1060130.jpg
 
Now, I am typing this up after the fact. I have made the lotion, and it ended up making too much. Not sure how, because I was positive it would be just right, with only a little left over, but it ended up being a LOT left over. Like a pint jar and two coffee cups too much. That's okay though, Ill keep the extra lotion.

Here's what I used:

  • 8 cups lard
  • 2 cups coconut oil
  • 2 cups beeswax pastilles
  • essential oils

My original recipe was lard only, but for fun, I decided to add some coconut oil in there.

 
P1060139.jpg
I have some home-rendered lard, and some store-bought, because I was too lazy to render more to make enough...

The first step is to melt the beeswax.


I placed it in a large pot on low heat and let it melt. Ignore the black specks, they are just chips in the enamel.

P1060142.jpg

Next, add the lard and coconut oil.


(Or the total amount in lard only, if desired.)
Stir occasionally until melted. The mixture will be hot.

P1060143.jpg

Now just add in the essential oils of your choice.


My friends loved the flowery scent last time, so I tried to recreate it. I don't remember which oils I used, except for jasmine. I decided to go for jasmine, (which is not a true essential oil, it ended up being a 'scent oil blend', which I discovered after purchasing), lavender, rose geranium, tea tree, and rose absolute, (which is a 5% oil blend).

My goal here was smelling nice, rather than using pure oils only, since the people I am making this for do not care if they are pure essential oils or not. If I were making it for myself, I would take out the jasmine and rose absolute, and pick something else. Peppermint, perhaps, maybe even citronella...

 
P1060148.jpg
 

Now, the recipe I created called for about 3-4 teaspoons worth of essential oils, but just to make good and sure the lotion didn't smell 'porky' at all, I added some extra. (No, I didn't measure the individual oils. Ya'll should know by now I am not big on measuring...)
 

P1060146.jpg

When it is mixed up quite well, go ahead and pour it into your containers.

 
P1060151.jpg
 

If you use canning jars, you can pour the hot lotion in them, and they will seal shut. For small batches around the house, I just pour into coffee cups, or other small containers or jars, whatever's handy.
 

P1060152.jpg

"Why make lotion out of lard?!", you may be wondering...


 
Most people make homemade lotions out of coconut oil, or even olive, or others. But lard?! Here's the thing. Plant-based oils are good for your skin, sure. BUT animal-based oils are closer in chemistry to the natural oils your skin produces, and therefore are more easily assimilated by your skin! I used to make coconut oil-based lotions, and they were okay, but I found for my own use, they just could not compare to lard. The lard lotion leaves my skin SO soft and moisturized. A little goes a long way!

Some handy tips:

  • After making the lotion, wipe the utensils and pans you used with a paper or regular towel before putting them to wash. Beeswax is hard to get off otherwise.
  • You can make this into a good injury ointment by adding essential oils for that purpose. Lavender and peppermint are soothing, and tea tree oil is fabulous for killing germs! I never buy neosporin, I use something like this instead.
  • Feel free to experiment! You can substitute other fats and oils. Try olive oil, cocoa or shea butters, or tallow. You can infuse herbs into this. Try different essential oils. You can use different oils for a more 'manly' scent, or for an insect repellent. This is the kind of thing that is forgiving and versatile.

The lotion has solidified and is ready to go! I'm going to take it down the street to my neighbor so she can pack it up to take with her! I'm sure she will be thrilled with it! I tried some of the extra lotion, and it smells absolutely LOVELY!! ♥



Feel free to share any lotion/salve recipes you use in the comments below, or any tips! I may have left something useful out! (With my severe case of mom-brain going on, I probably have!)


 

Thanks for reading! Have a wonderful day! ♥



Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png
Click the banner to join a cool group of mamas on Discord! ♥

Sort:  

You always surprise me with these home-made stuff! I'm curious about those beeswax pastilles since I haven't really seen them around here. Then lard, i'm not sure what it is in our language. lol Anyway, I'm just talking by myself. lol

Thanks for sharing this. :)

The beeswax pastilles are just little pellets of beeswax. I buy mine online, something like this. (This isnt the specific one I bought, but you get the idea.

Lard is actually rendered pig fat. You basically take the raw fat from pork, melt it down on low heat and take the liquid and put it into jars. It is useful for cooking, of course, but I also like to use it for homemade lotions and deodorants, as it is very nourishing for the skin. :D

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post was featured in my FRIDAY DIY Day Curation - Weekly Edition 13 post today!

Lol on rubbing bacon grease.

I was reading through your post and by the time I got to the essential oil part I knew you didn't measure and just went by sniff or estimation. Lol. I like this a lot and bookmarked it. I will try it as soon as I can. I'm actually due to make our own soap and can't quite muster up the time to get'er done!

Have you done a post on rendering your own lard? I will have to find a YT/DTube on that if you don't.

I did a post on how NOT to render lard, haha, when I tried using my cast iron dutch oven and that failed miserably... Before that attempt, I always used my crock pots, and that worked great!

I used to make my own soap too! That was before I had a source of free lard though, so I always made coconut oil soap. I need to try making some with lard one of these days! I keep putting it off though... Its rather time-consuming.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #153 (6/2/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.


Hi @squishysquid, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Creatives' Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Ramble on Discord.

Ooohhh I love your homemade posts!! I should really try some of your recipes one day ❤

Thanks!! I hope you do! ♥

Me gustó mucho tu receta, hace algún tiempo mi esposa y yo fabricamos crema para el cuerpo, en verdad captaste mi atención con esto. Saludos desde Venezuela.

¡Muchas gracias! ¡ Espero que les sea de ayuda!

To be candid, I initially made a face when I saw the main ingredient...lol... however, seeing what you made out of it and its health benefits to d skin, I said wow....I might try that with my shear butter.

I use shear butter as an aftershave cream and it works magic, no bumps!

Thanks for sharing and giving me new ways to recreate my ever-loyal shear butter!

Dont worry, EVERYONE makes that face!
I only tried it the first time because I had a LOT of free pig fat from a neighbor and needed something to do with it. It works great, though!

I hope you give it a try! :D

which of the essential oils can you suggest for me to smell more manly!

I know I already answered you on discord, but in case anyone else is reading and is curious, some of the more popular 'manly' scents include sandalwood, cedar, rosemary, and patchouli. :D

Every time I read one of these - i imagine myself getting crafty in my kitchen.

Keep sharing!

Haha! I hope you DO try one of these days!
I get in moods to craft and then I get tired of it... I find it helpful to have a motivation, like 'hey! This will make a good steemit post!'.

I keep hearing about people making their own soap and I feel like I should do it sometime soon... I used to a long time ago. Its not that hard and lard is perfect for soap making!~
I could make it a steemit post....
;)

Wow, what a wonderful idea! I'm going to have to check this out, I didn't know you could make salve with lard. Thank you

Crazy right?! It works wonderfully though! I am so glad this made extra, because it smells SO nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59359.30
ETH 3007.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75