Should Dtubers and Steemians Using Bad/Broken English get Less Rewards and be Penalized ??

in DTube4 years ago (edited)


I have plenty of steemian friends across the globe. For many of them, English is their second language. And I know some in our Community have voiced concerns that Quality Content also means Quality English.

I tend to disagree with that to a certain extent.
Yes, a lot of times my global friends will mispronounce words, use present tense when they should use past tense,
misspell words, use the wrong pronouns, and just run the whole gamut of English grammar mistakes.

But here's my thing : if you are able to get your point across and if the point is valid and redeeming, well the broken English doesn't mean a damn thing to me.

I realize English is tough to learn so basically I want to get
the gist of what you are saying. That's it. That's the only important thing for me.

So basically if we have two similar posts about similar topics and of similar quality but one has broken English and the other does not....well I believe on Rewarding them equally. Does that make sense ??

Now here's where there may be a problem. You get someone who is writing or speaking in English and it is so bad to
a degree that you cannot even understand their Point. That's when problems arise.

Luckily, that does not occur very much on the block chain. Most will just stick with their native tongue and forgo trying to
do it in English.

Anyway, I was pondering about all this earlier when I was reading one of my Russian friend's blog post. And how it didn't matter if he used some words here and there that were
incorrect.The fact that his point was well conveyed and just damn good was all that mattered to me :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

I think the thing that bugs me is this notion that you HAVE to speak English in order to get noticed. Steem is a global community, and yet, we really only see pockets of non-English language posts. I encourage people to make posts in their native language not because I don't think they shouldn't use English, but to build a community of every dialect. And if you can translate the posts into English as well, hey, do it! There was a user who hasn't posted in a while named @pipiczech. She used to write posts in both English and Czech, and I thought it was awesome to see comments in both languages on the post.

I would be more inclined to build up posters like her, for the mere fact that she's bringing the Czech community together. Much like how we have a Korean and Polish community here, we should see more people posting in more languages than English.

Okay, I might have a passing interest in linguistics, too. I like seeing different languages and how they're structured...

Thanks @ddrfr33k. Excellent points raised. You are EXACTLY right you should not have to speak English to get noticed. I do see Spanish getting it's fair share of the spotlight, though But there needs to be more

@robertandrew, In my opinion people developed a habit to Judge fellow people and Judgement Of Grammar is one of them when it comes to the Subject Of English Language. In my opinion for me English is nothing more than a Language, nothing is perfect or poor, it's all about the communication. As you said, if we succeed to convey our message that means we've done the good Job. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Communication is key @chireerocks thanks for reminding us of that :)

Welcome and have a pleasant time ahead.

Congratulations @robertandrew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 800 posts. Your next target is to reach 850 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

So basically if we have two similar posts about similar topics and of similar quality but one has broken English and the other does not....well I believe on Rewarding them equally.

I love you for this Sir @robertandrew, English is my second language and sometimes I concern about this too, because I care too much about my grammar and all that you point out in this post. My intention for my post is to convey the message across as clear as possible without misunderstanding. Sometimes I feel guilty because I couldn't use more flowery words as English speakers do and tend to just go straight to the point. Now I worry less because there are native English speaker who have awesome mindset like this.

But here's my thing : if you are able to get your point across and if the point is valid and redeeming, well the broken English doesn't mean a damn thing to me.

This one! Awesome mindset!

What is important for me is that they are conveying a message since this community for me is just a social blogging site and not wikipedia. Often we vote for the person and not about his/her work out of friendship, love, and or support regardless what the content is as long as it is not spammy and such. @robertandrew

I have had my account for a while now but really never did much on here until recently. I have started to try and decentralize my life and one of the draws to STEEM in general is that it claims to be a decentralized platform to replace other video and written social media platforms. So, to see this topic come up really concerns me about the real decentralization of the project. If people up vote you then they understand you. There should be no one monitoring activities, except for those activities that are illegal, and downgrading you because of our content. That defeats the entire purpose of decentralization. Let the people, the followers decide if the content is good or bad. I'm a native English speaker, my fiance is Czech, she does not always speak 100% correctly, but I definitely am not going to downgrade her. :-) Take care and keep marching on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65941.77
ETH 3015.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75