You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Dtubers and Steemians Using Bad/Broken English get Less Rewards and be Penalized ??

in DTube4 years ago

I think the thing that bugs me is this notion that you HAVE to speak English in order to get noticed. Steem is a global community, and yet, we really only see pockets of non-English language posts. I encourage people to make posts in their native language not because I don't think they shouldn't use English, but to build a community of every dialect. And if you can translate the posts into English as well, hey, do it! There was a user who hasn't posted in a while named @pipiczech. She used to write posts in both English and Czech, and I thought it was awesome to see comments in both languages on the post.

I would be more inclined to build up posters like her, for the mere fact that she's bringing the Czech community together. Much like how we have a Korean and Polish community here, we should see more people posting in more languages than English.

Okay, I might have a passing interest in linguistics, too. I like seeing different languages and how they're structured...

Sort:  

Thanks @ddrfr33k. Excellent points raised. You are EXACTLY right you should not have to speak English to get noticed. I do see Spanish getting it's fair share of the spotlight, though But there needs to be more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71526.27
ETH 3810.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49