SEC-S13W5 – While you wait...

in Steem Venezuela6 months ago



Designed with Canva

WAIT


It must be the shortest word in the dictionary that brings out the worst in so many of us, including me.

If you had to ask me what the word wait stands for, I would have to agree with so many others.
W- Why
A – Am
I – I
T – Tempted

There is no denying that with prolonged waiting times, I get frustrated, annoyed, and even angry. It often feels to me that people don’t value my time, and I am tempted to either get up and leave or just blow my gasket.

My brother-in-law doesn’t eat bread. For him, bread is a waste of space. For me, waiting is a total waste of time.
As a business owner, I’ve always made sure that I was on time. Not only for meetings, clients, and potential clients, but even for our staff.

Yes, the unforeseen can happen, and there will be times that we have to wait, whether we like it or not. So, what do I do while I wait?

Mondays were always started with a staff meeting. One of the staff members will open with prayer, another will give feedback on the previous week or month, and a third will be responsible for the “pep talk.”

I was often asked how I could allow the staff to know the “ins and outs” of the business in such detail. For me, it was important to evolve the staff, as it is the only way to bring out the best in all of them. I still believe that this was also the reason why so many of our staff worked for us for 20+ years.

One specific Monday, there was no member of staff in sight when it was time for the meeting. There was a huge accident close to the office, and they were all stuck in traffic.

I was at the office very early that morning, as it was my turn to do the motivational side of our meeting. I had it all planned: a game that we would play and a PowerPoint presentation to end the meeting. “Climbing the ladder”, was my topic for the meeting.

As minutes went by waiting for the staff to appear, I was starting to get negative, frustrated, and, for sure, irritable. My preparations and effort for the meeting was going to be in vain.
Sitting behind my desk, staring at my screen, I didn’t feel like work. I opened the presentation, and I started to play around with it.

Let me share some of the slides with you. Yes, I kept it from 20 October, 2008.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I set up one of the support computers and the data projector in the main office and played the PowerPoint over and over again. In fact, it played the whole morning. It could not be missed.

As the staff started to arrive one by one, I could hear them laughing, and it did not stop there. They started to put names to images, started to argue, and started to defend themselves. It was one of the best "staff meetings" we ever had.

This is where those words of John Lennon come in so well: "Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans"?
No matter what we plan and how carefully we plan, we cannot plan life. Life follows its path. All we need to do is accept it, make the best of it, and keep on planning.

* Do I consider that we must be productive all the time?
If you had asked me this question a few years ago my answer would have been yes. Right now, my answer is NO!
It was my daughter who told me the other day that she wish she was a teenager in my house now and not so many years ago.

* What do I do in everyday situations where I have to wait?
I try to stay calm by keeping myself busy. I will turn up the music, play a game on my phone, and match people up when I am in the doctor’s consulting room. Oh yes, and when I have to wait in a restaurant, I start counting the chairs, looking at what people have ordered to eat, and try to work out the turnover.

* Do I have an attitude towards life while I wait, or do I only think about goals to achieve?

From the time we open our eyes, we all have tasks, goals, and even dreams for the day, the next day, and the day after. As we grow older, they do become easier and less demanding. However, waiting stays the same. Wait is waiting, and you don't have a magic wand to change it.

Achieving these tasks, goals, and dreams must be the last thing on my mind when I have to wait. I have to do something to make me relax, and thinking about them is not going to do that for me. No, it starts with my attitude towards life and, in particular, w a i t i n g...

When you move on in years, waiting becomes easier, but be warned you still don't get used to it.

My advice is to not be tempted. Start today by learning how you can make waiting your best friend as waiting is not only in the office but also in our lives.

Note:
All images are from my PowerPoint presentation and I can assure you that this post is ALL my own work.

image.png

I invite: @damithudaya @max-pro @mariez

CC: @basil20 @saintkelvin17 @shabbir86 @robin42 @khursheedanwar @ahlawat @fadlymatch @vickyson @fajrulakmal99 @venturabogarin

Account summary:
Club100
Transfer to vesting: 1,833.000 STEEM
Normal transfer: 24 STEEM (Competition and charity)

This is me

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.


Vote here

Sort:  
 6 months ago 

Assalamu Alaikum @patjewell madam. As always I am amazed and inspired by your posts. You are the mother of Steemit. Seeing and reading your posts inspires us to do something new. This post is well presented by you. Prayers and best wishes for you. Keep praying for me and your support is there.

Awh! Thank you! Not only for the visit to my post but also for your inspiring words. It is words like these that give us the fuel we need to carry on. Thank you!

Thank you for the prayers and good wishes. I sent you the same all the way from South Africa. 🙏
Good luck!

 6 months ago 

Welcome welcome ❤️❤️

 6 months ago 

Hello @patjewell, please publish a post on Steem Venezuela to award you the booming vote prize that you have won for your 1st place - S13W5: While you wait.

Congrats..!

See you friend..!

Awh thank you!!! 🎕
This comes as a surprise!
I haven't been able to spend time on my own blog today. SFL kept my busy.

What more can I say!!!
The mnemonics for WAIT which you used was so creative... It screamed read read read till the ending!! You are the best when it comes to this skill of writing... You got my attention, triggered interest to read more and gave us the juiciest entry!! It's worth being the best. Kudos and more wins!!

Awh thank you!
You have me smiling from ear to ear. Just like that cat that received a bowl of milk. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Haha...
You play so well with words...
Nice figurative picture u have painted...

 6 months ago 

Hello friend, there are certain situations in life that teach us to be more patient, it also happened to me that when I was younger I thought that life was only about working, today I can enjoy more and in the same way I continue working to meet my goals.

It's good that in the end the meeting turned out better than you expected, sometimes without planning is when we get the best results.

Thank you for participating, greetings and blessings!

CriteriaStatusRate
Status Club
#club100
2/2
Steem Exclusive
1/1
Plagiarism Free
1/1
BOT Free
1/1
Free of AI Content
1/1
Quality of content
2/2
Markdowns
2/2
Total
10/10
Support null 25%
Verification date:
November 19, 2023

Thank you for the verification and your kind words 🎕

Sangat menginspirasi dengan poin-poin pertanyan dan jawabannya dan terimakasih atas undangannya Bu semoga sukses atas kontes ini ☺️

Ah! You made it to my post!
Thank you for the engagement, the kind words and the good wish. ☕

Sama-sama bu ☺️ kesenangan

 6 months ago 

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲 at 45%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for @null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

Team Burn (1).png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

@𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲
Thank you! It is appreciated!

No matter what we plan and how carefully we plan, we cannot plan life.

Life is unpredictable that is why some time when man opposed God disposed some time it may be in our favour or not. And we have to accept it.

Oh yes, life is unpredictable. I think it is a good thing, as I can just imagine how stressed out we would have been if we knew what was coming our way.
Trust God, he knows what is best for all of us.
Thank you for the visit and the engagement.

You are welcome ma.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Wonderful post ma, is very interesting as always, you are worthy to be nominated as the best author of the year.

Happy Sunday

Awh thank you!!! You've melt my heart with your comment. 🍫
And a happy Sunday to you also... well, for what is left of it.

That's impressive and I hope I get such awards some day. Have you gotten anyone before?

This content is very productive.
From that point one feel like waiting for too long is a waste of time especially if delayed by a person or anything which suppose not to be so.

And again having a productive meeting with the staff to know well of them and so acknowledging each person character in an organization is worth to be known in order to help one progress and so take a positive energy in striving.

I'm wishing you good luck 🤞 as this is more than just a content but a quote and inspiration to us all.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Or, like my grandson says, "Tank you!"
I am glad you've enjoyed my post. Great is the happiness that I kept the PowerPoint for so many years and that I found an opportunity to share it with others.

Your employees are your most valuable asset in your business, and often business owners forget that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67135.09
ETH 3126.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72