📸 Photo Archiving: December 2022

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 months ago

Before we begin, the year in the title isn't a typo - I really am that bad at going through and archiving old photos... I don't know why (and I only did it now because I need some space on my iCloud so that I can write my post about our day out on Sunday.). When I get started, I quite enjoy seeing a short video of the boys playing or photos of them with their toys. It almost makes me forget how difficult I found this stage in my life.

I'm not one for sharing photos of the kids on social media - quite the opposite in fact. I'm the parent who puts their hand up when asked "Does anybody object to their child being plastered all over social media by a total stranger?" and if I'm not asked, I'm the one who says "please avoid taking photos of my child, I don't want him on social media". One day, I'm sure that my children will thank me for this... when other children are being bullied because their over-proud mum shared a video of them shitting in the bath when they were 2, my boys can stand there proudly and say "I didn't do that", whether it's true or not.

This does rather limit the number of photos available for me to share here though... and I've also included one from November because I like to show off every now and again 😉 (and the winking emoji's reminded me to include more random emojis...) I think that the photo 5 is the best (even though it's not really a photo) and as "Top 10 things the FBI doesn't want you to know - Number 7 will blow your mind" as this might sound, I really think it's a gem 🛊

🛋 Photo 1: Home Made Chocolates

Did you know that I fancy myself as a bit of a chocolatier?

20221124 01.jpeg

I'm not sure how long ago it was that I learnt to make chocolates but over the past couple of years, I've slowly started to buy some decent, professional, polycarbonate chocolate moulds. The first of which, was a snowman. Ideal for making some Christmas gifts with chocolates that better Lindt themselves. I think these were a classic milk chocolate outer with milk chocolate ganache - made for the-4yo-gorilla's school teachers. I should've put the better quality ones closer to the camera. Yum yum yum 🛌

🛍 Photo 2: Snow!!

20221212 01.JPEG

It's gone very cold again on the Sunshine coast and little over a year ago, we had a nice amount of snow. School was cancelled, I got the sleight out and pushed the-1yo-gorilla and 4yo-gorilla down the drive on it - we're lucky to have quite a steep drive heading down into a cul-de-sac so no risk of getting run over by a car (the-mrs-gorilla still obviously panicked as though I was pushing him onto the Paddington Main Line). the-4yo absolutely loved it, also insisting on being pushed down backwards. the-1yo... not so much - it was probably a bit cold and he opted to go indoors in the warm with the-mrs-gorilla. Not before we made a snowman though...

🛎 Photo 3: The Snowman

20221212 02.JPEG

A decent team effort which stayed around for a few days, even after all of the other snow had departed us.

🛏 Photo 4: Ring-necked Pheasant

20221224 02.JPEG

On Christmas Eve, this fella popped up in our garden. I knew it was some kind of pheasant (Google filled in the blanks) and it could be considered lucky that I'd already bought a chicken for the following day's festivities. It would appear that the Ring-necked Pheasant is a popular dish in America although I'm not sure I could do that to a guest.

🛐 Photo 5: You'd Better be Good

As most parents will know, you do whatever it takes to keep your kids out of trouble and at Christmas time, this equates to threats of being moved to "the naughty list". Some genius has provided the perfect tool to support this...

20221224 01.jpg

Me: "Oh look, I'd better take this. It's Santa."

Screaming Child: "Huh? Santa?"

Me: "Yes. Hello. Oh, hi Santa. Uh-hu. Uh-hu. Yes, he's been screaming a little bit..."

Whimpering Child: "No, no. I've stopped now. I'm being good."

Me: "Oh right, ok. Yes, yes. I'll let him know. Please keep him on the good list..."

Sobbing child: "I'll be good, I promise I'll be good..."

Me: "Ok, thank you Santa. I'll let him know."

~ Call ends

Me: "Santa says that you've got to clean up your toys in the lounge or he won't come to our house this year."

Child: "Can you call him back, tell him I've been good."

Me: "I can't call him. Only he can call me. It's magic, you see."

Serious child: "Ok. Let's tidy now."

It's win-win.

🛑 Photo 6: Santa's Been

20221224 04.JPEG

Of course, Santa comes to visit and he spoils the boys something rotten.

Separator-green.png

December was a nice month to archive, with so many more photos of happy memories. Hopefully, we'll get some snow soon and we can go out and do it all again 🛒



Separator-code.png

the-gorilla's Alternative Steemit Interface

In case you didn't know, I've created an interface to help you find content that you're interested in more easily.

Posts by voting bot users, abusers and spam tags are hidden and you can search by multiple tags - allowing you to find the content that you're interested in more easily.

👉 Launch Alternative Steemit Interface 👈




Separator-tools.png

the-gorilla's Club Status Tool

I've also created a tool to help users review their club status - showing them where their power's coming from, how much they're powering up, transferring out and who they share a wallet with amongst other things.

Please use it wisely.

👉 Launch Club Status Tool 👈

Footer-Bottom.png

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

My favorite;

Photo 5: You'd Better be Good

These days, Elfie does the "thing" for the parents.
My son's kids were naughty, so Elfie opened some of their presents and turned them into charcoal. Haha!
You can just imagine how good they were after that, as there were more presents left under the tree.

 5 months ago (edited)

My son's kids were naughty, so Elfie opened some of their presents and turned them into charcoal. Haha!

😯 I bet they were devastated! We don’t tend to put the presents out until Christmas Eve - there no way the-2yo would leave them alone!

 5 months ago 

Haha! Definitely not (•ิ‿•ิ)

I've always avoided portraying Father Christmas, elves, the Easter Bunny, witches and fairies as real... Whether that was a good thing or a loss of early imagination and creativity - I don't know. In any case, my children were the ones who robbed the other kids (who believed in Father Christmas & Co.) of their illusions... ;-))

 5 months ago 

Every story needs its villain.

image.png

 6 months ago 

You'd Better be Good

Ruthless you 🤣

Well, I'm guilty of using such tactics. But now as they are more grown up, they are no more that naive.

The other day, I used a little of such a trick on my youngest. Well he is the most gullible out of three, a true mama's boy. The girls are another story. Anyways he kind of caught me but was still in doubt... So, it had me thinking; WOAH, they have indeed grown up.

So enjoy while it lasts.
Enjoy these moments of innocence.

A lovely post. Really enjoyed reading it.

 6 months ago 

Pocket money... when they get older, it's all about the pocket money 😉

A beautiful post with shades of good humor and positivity. The photographs are beautiful, they are festive and fun. Thank you very much for your work. Have a nice day.

 6 months ago 

Thank you, it’s a therapeutic activity - photos tend to be taken when you’re doing something nice, not when they’re screaming 😂

 6 months ago 

Christmas tree with the presents makes me feel all excited!

How long till Christmas?

 6 months ago 

I think that you need to make this your homepage...

https://yourchristmascountdown.com/

image.png

Well... I'm not exactly going to click "No thanks" am I??

Thanks for sharing such an awesome post
@the-gorilla

You have received a 100% upvote, resteem and a feature in our latest blog discoveries post!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

With love from...

bbbbbbbbb.png

 6 months ago 

Thanks 👍🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51