🏥 Boys Will be BoyssteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year (edited)

👆 Source

Alright, we got lucky that time (Marge)

That's exactly how I was feeling as I left the A&E department of our local hospital at 10pm last night - over 5 hours after arrival.

Separator-red.png

The Pre-Story

Back in 1997, a child at my school tripped and fell as he excitedly ran down a corridor. An occurrence which happens every day, in every school across the globe. Unfortunately for this child though, his head hit a low-lying radiator. The brain surgery followed, along with another 18 brain operations in the following years. He was given 10 months to live and I probably shouldn't have been able to celebrate the Millennium fireworks with him in London almost 24 years ago - an evening which ended with him (and therefore us) in A&E. (He's still going strong.)

👇 Source

Separator-red.png

A head injury can be as mild as a bump, bruise (contusion), or cut on the head. Or it can be a concussion, a deep cut or open wound, broken skull bones, internal bleeding, or damage to the brain. Head injuries are one of the most common causes of disability and death in children. Source

The Story

For a couple of weeks now, I've been thinking that my eldest child is the Scarecrow from The Wizard of Oz 👉

If you ask him something, or tell him something, he won't know or he's forgotten immediately.

Yesterday morning, whilst in the garden I asked him to get me something... a knee cushion with flowers on it, propped up against a cupboard in the garage. 5 minutes later, he returns with a small pot that I'm growing a new Strawberry plant in. Seemingly oblivious to the original request. When queried about said original request, he apologised and disappeared again, this time returning with a small brush. I questioned myself, wondering if the cushion wasn't there but alas... it was. Once again, he was living on his own planet.

Of course, I'll be told "he's only 5" so it's no surprise that he doesn't listen. I actually wonder if anything that's said sinks into his little mind and despite what happened yesterday afternoon, he needed reminding, for the umpteenth time not to push or grab his younger brother.

Separator-red.png

Just Tell Me What Happened!!

The little gorillas were "playing" in the Living Room. Taking it in turns to sit on the sofa's foot stool and (slowly) push each other around the room. Harmless enough but they both wanted to be the ones being pushed. With the youngest on the foot stool, the-scarecrow starts to push him off.

My requests to behave going unheeded until the-baby leans back in resistance to another push, for the push to yield and baby fly backwards off the foot stool... his landing "cushioned" by the corner of a wooden activity cube 👉

I instantly panic... it was one hell of a whack but the-baby's conscious and starts crying. My fury at the-scarecrow almost uncontrollable but baby's conscious, that's good.

And then I see blood on the carpet... that wasn't there before. Blood on my arms. Fuck. I don't know what to do. the-mrs-gorilla - a qualified doctor is at work... she was on-call so I phone her, panicked with an urgent request to come home. I nestle with the-baby, blood now on my T-shirt and shorts and compose myself to see the wound. I lean him away from me as he stops crying, looks at me with a strained smile and says "I'm happy now". I look at the back of his head and see what appears to be a 3 inch gash, a couple of millimetres wide.

Do I phone an ambulance? No. The last time I did that, they took over 2 hours and I ended up getting myself to A&E. the-mrs-gorilla will be home in about 30 minutes. That's too long. I'm driving to the hospital.

Phone the-mrs-gorilla... I'll meet you there. Scarecrow in the car. Baby in the car with a Teet-Owl (the UK's most common Owl) on the back of his head and a 15 minute drive, blurred by the streaming tears.

How can this happen? It's my job to look after them. I should've seen the danger. I should've stopped them sooner. But I didn't. And now we're on our way to hospital.

👇 Source
image.png
Separator-red.png

We arrive... I double park and offload the-baby to the-mrs-gorilla for assessment. I'm a mess and go to park the car properly.

After calmly assessing the wound, the 3 inch gash I saw was simply where the stream of blood had attached to his hair... once moved, it was no bigger than a peanut. We were here though, better safe than sorry and maybe a few hours in hospital would do the-scarecrow good. Maybe he'd grow a brain.

the-mrs-gorilla left me to it after a couple of hours wait... my insistence that the-scarecrow still didn't understand not registering with the-mrs-gorilla who thought that he did.

Separator-red.png

Today

And then on to today... I can't shift the feeling of sadness and guilt. The "what if" becoming all-consuming... I've seen it before... The teenager in 1997 going to bed seemingly ok, only for the next time he wakes up to be post-surgery.

Then fairly early morning, the-mrs-gorilla understood. I hear her screaming at the-scarecrow... the lesson not learnt as he began pushing the-baby once again... the wound not even close to being healed from the day before. I tearfully sit the-scarecrow down... calmly explain how lucky we were yesterday... how things could have ended so differently... how A&E was a lucky escape... did it sink in? Did it start to sink in? Only time will tell.

Alright, we got lucky that time.

image.png
👆 Source

Sort:  

I have a few - perhaps wise - words for you or yours (which unfortunately don't make it any easier or better...): these are bad parenting moments. And you can't prevent them! You look after your little ones and protect them. You do everything you can. And all this in the knowledge that there is no guarantee, no absolute security. You are aware that illnesses and injuries, sorrow and anger are part of life. That they are part of growing up. That it is your job to accompany them - you are there! You help and straighten things out and take care of them. You are the one with the overview - but not the Wizard of Oz ;-))

You can't exclude such accidents, you can't prevent them. If you try, you're not doing the kids any favours!

Actually, you know all this yourself, right? Please don't reproach yourself!

Two very personal and practical tips: Teach your children to fall! I mean it! Martial arts trainers offer fall schools, even for very young children: You learn to roll and fall in a way that avoids injury. This is helpful in so many situations... Priceless! And: watch your scarecrow a bit - is it simply childish exuberance, a cry for attention or an adjustment disorder? Don't drive yourself crazy, but allow for reflection....

 last year 

The idea of them learning to fail is one that a friend of mine said to me some time ago... children need to learn to fail, it's your job to help them to fall safely.

Too many parents protect their children to the point at which the child relies upon their parents for everything. A problem at school - parents intervene. A bad grade - parents intervene. Then when the child finally goes out to work, it's a shock... their parents can't intervene. I don't want that to be us.

You help and straighten things out and take care of them. You are the one with the overview - but not the Wizard of Oz ;-))

Wasn't the Wizard of Oz a fraud? I'm more Dorothy... trying to help them along the way 😉

My little scarecrow has been doing martial arts for a couple of years due to him also being the Lion from the same movie... the-baby/toddler will start when he's 3 - that's the youngest that they accept. the-baby's no lion - he's fearless!

is it simply childish exuberance, a cry for attention or an adjustment disorder?

Of the 3, I think it's simply childish exuberance... I've seen children who cry for attention and they're very different to our scarecrow. Especially when their parents still ignore the bad behaviour... it's always easier to parent other people's children 😂

We know that parenting's hard. It becomes all consuming so when it goes wrong, it's difficult to process. Especially when in the back of my mind, I still see the effects on that 17 year old boy back in 1997.

You grow with your responsibility - that's for sure! And your kids are very lucky... ;-))

TEAM 1
Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @patjewell

Oh dear, what a day!
But it turned out all right. We all know that head wounds bleed particularly heavily, so of course you quickly panic. But you did everything right, don't blame yourself! It's futile in the long run, because you definitely can't prevent such accidents. Not even as a "helicopter father" (which, as we know, is pure poison for the child's further development towards independence).
Of course, the five-year-old has to learn to assess his strength. This is not very easy at that age, as they are only just beginning to perceive their own body pattern. Talking and explaining (even forbidding) doesn't help that much. Let him experience it in the action: Play with him, romp with him. Play "pushing" with him and gently show him what much more power (in this case yours...) can do.

As a football fan, you might like this anecdote where I suffered a similar injury as a small child: 1974. I was four years old and sitting on my father's lap watching the World Cup final on TV. With the final whistle, Germany became world champions. My father jumped up in delight and the child fell with his head on the edge of the table...
I will never forget the names Paul Breitner, Gerd Müller, Ulli Hoeneß and Sepp Maier... ;-)

 last year 

Not even as a "helicopter father"

Play "pushing" with him and gently show him what much more power (in this case yours...) can do.

Well, he knows not to mess with me 😅 💪 I've done it before where I've seen him push and I've asked him how he feels when I push him... something may have finally sunk in though - he's been much better today so I'd like to think that some of my words to him yesterday have finally sunk in.

With the final whistle, Germany became world champions. My father jumped up in delight and the child fell with his head on the edge of the table...

I wonder what that feels like... to see your nation win a World Cup...

I wonder what that feels like... to see your nation win a World Cup...

Oh, I'm not really interested in football. Every now and then, of course, I want to have a say. Then, when I'm asked if I know any famous football players at all, I answer "Of course!" and list the ones mentioned above. "Okay, thanks. At least now I know how old you are!"... 😁

 last year 

ConfusedOldWomanGIF.gif

 last year 

Tremendo susto, que bueno que pudo controlar sus nervios y llevarlo a urgencia. Como padres queremos protegerlos y de repente suceden esos accidentes. No se sienta culpable por más que cuidemos a los pequeños a veces pueden ocurrir estos sucesos.

Que bueno que pudo aconsejarlo para que no lo vuelva a hacer.

Espero pase una excelente noche.

Bendiciones para usted 🙌

 last year 

Que bueno que pudo aconsejarlo para que no lo vuelva a hacer.

It might take him a little while to listen and learn but hopefully the message has been understood now!

 last year 

The heading should not be "Boys will be boys, " but "Kids will be kids!"
You are still going to sit with situations like these for many years, my friend. Best of all, just when you sigh with relief that it is all done, it starts all over again.

This time, you find yourself double-parking at the hospital with a grandchild in the back seat.
It's life!
Your post just reflects one thing for me... you are an AWESOME father!

 last year 

This time, you find yourself double-parking at the hospital with a grandchild in the back seat.

NoWayGIF.gif

 last year 

Oh yes! Mark my words and it is not "bullshit baffles brains," it is coming. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 last year 

NoNotListeningGIF.gif

 last year 

Well, it was a terrible day. I can imagine how scared you were. The best thing about this story is that it ended well.

One day, which was no different from any other day, my child was riding on the swing. Her mother was with her. Suddenly, for some reason, she fell off the swing, probably she didn't hold on, because the swing didn't swing very much. After that, the swing hit the child on the head. The child was crying, my wife grabbed her in her arms and carried her into the house. She was frightened by a wound on her head, from which blood flowed. But on the way... the wife tripped and they both fell on the concrete, breaking their knees and elbows.

Fortunately, everything turned out well in this story too. But your story reminded me of how I felt that day. A day that showed that "everything is good" can turn into "everything is bad" in an instant.

 last year 

Oh wow, that's quite a chain of events! I can only imagine how you both felt... I don't want to feel like this made me feel ever again!

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



 last year 

Thanks @o1eh 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65