Wood-Burned Art: Koi Fish Stash Box (Club100)steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

It's that time again for another showcase of my artwork. This one is from the vaults: a beautiful wood-burned stash box featuring koi fish and an epoxy coating.

The top of this lockable box is slightly inset so I created the wood-burned image of koi fish meandering through a pond amongst lily pads and pebbles. Because the top was inset, I decided to partially fill it with epoxy to create a smooth and glossy that adds some dimension to the art and helps give the impression of being underwater.

The 2nd picture (above) shows the box before the epoxy was applied. You can tell how it is a little duller and lacking body compared to the 1st picture. Inside, there is felt at the bottom of the box and a mirror on the underneath side of the top.

I didn't do it alone though. I had a helper. This is K-Cup, my little broken cat. Her back legs don't work well so she spends most of her time eating and she doesn't play. I mean, cats aren't supposed to be capable of resisting strings yet this one can be draped in them and...nothing.

Hopefully you enjoyed today's art. I hope you have a great weekend. I'll be back tomorrow for another showcase. Until then, I might catch you in the comments. Otherwise, ta-ta!


Be sure to check out my last post: A Dragon on a Unique Slice of Wood

If you like my creations, consider checking out my other social media sites and my Etsy site by clicking the links below. Thanks and have a great day!


Social_IG.png Social_TT.png Social_FB.png Social_T.png Social_P.png Social_YT.png

Visit Etsy Shop.png

Sort:  

Wow, that's some of the best pyrography I have ever seen! And your little broken cat is beautiful too, please give her pets from a random Steemian

Pettings have been received and she is thankful with many purrs. Also I appreciate the comments on my art. I taught myself pyrography about 8 years ago and it is the main thing I do now.

Hi Erika,

Thank you for the showcase of your Pyrography with Koi fishes. It is really noticable that although initial cover was pale but after epoxy it looks much intense and it has such warm yellow-light brown tone. Seems to be very smooth too.

I love that cat, although he looks so unemotional. I agree hte cats get crazy when they see hte strings and wool ball, but obviously maybe because of the legs problem it has not much interest in playing.

I am glad to see you around commenting and visiting other people's posts, commenting is tip that will make people know each other better.

My favorite part of this process is when I log in to lots of notifications and there are comments to reply to. Figure I have to return that favor in essence!

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04.
We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.


Curated by : @stef1

 2 years ago 

It's a good idea to pour epoxy on top, this creates depth.
Have you tried to give the epoxy resin colors and shades?
I think that "water" could be blue)

I have colored epoxy in other contexts but would be afraid of doing so overtop the image because it would likely make it harder to see. I have done it in layers where I paint the image on a layer then add more clear on top for dimension though. I've also done some epoxy resin art where I am using a couple batches of colored resin to create a space or beach look.

 2 years ago 

You can paint the resin a little bit, just to give a shade... blue glare. But these are just my assumptions. You are the author and you know better what you want to achieve :)

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48