Abstract photography contest within the community WORLD OF XPILAR - Results of the first weeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago


Greetings to all!

The first stage of the competition has ended, and with it my debut as the organizer of this event, which I am holding for the first time on the Steemit platform. I have to sum up the results, but there are unexpectedly many applications for the competition and this complicates my choice. Among the participants there were many authors whose works fit the definition of abstract photography. But there are some that have not yet succeeded in this sense.

At first, my plans included discussing each photo sent with an explanation of why my choice fell on one and did not touch the other, but now I think it's better to postpone such an analysis to the next stage of the competition, and this time I'll just announce the winners. Otherwise I won't be able to do it today. Next time I will start writing my report in advance. I will touch only on some.

The competition was attended by:


authorcompetitive publication
@reidershttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@reiders/aerial-landscape-or-abstract-photography-1-photo-for-the-contest
@oacevedohttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@oacevedo/abstract-photography-contest-within-the-community-world-of-xpilar-sidereal-space-espacio-sideral
@bambukahttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@bambuka/texture-of-air-and-light-abstract-photography-contest
@penyaircyberhttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@penyaircyber/abstract-photos-for-contest
@evagavilanhttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@evagavilan/abstract-photography-contest-within-the-community-world-of-xpilar-first-stage-my-soul
@filili71https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@filili71/abstract-photography-contest-within-the-community-world-of-xpilar-first-stage-by-filili71
@xpilartwo photos in the absence of a post
@ty-tyhttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@ty-ty/abstract-photography-or-abstrakte-fotografie
@zoricatechhttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@zoricatech/abstract-photography-contest-1
@weisser-rabehttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@weisser-rabe/abstract-photography-contest-abstrakte-fotografie-wettbewerb
@rut-ruhttps://steemit.com/hive-185836/@rut-ru/abstract-photography


The only thing I think it is necessary to say is that in my opinion, abstract photography should not cause the viewer to ask: "What is it?". On the contrary, it should only concentrate attention, take it beyond the subject, although we photograph objects in order to make it. Abstractionism and minimalism are different things, but many confuse these concepts taking one for the other.

Based on my own understanding of the abstract in art, I would like to give a good example of the work of a participant: @xpilar





And although this digital image is not a photo, despite the fact that the photo could be used as a basis for its creation, it can serve as an example for understanding what the contest expects from the participants.

It is possible to achieve a similar solution in photography in terms of color relations, shapes and composition, using real objects for this. I thank the author for providing these beautiful works.

The first place

today is taken by the photo of the author: @oacevedo


4PYjjVwJ1Udt4Nt7quckXzoA93TJ5ay9bze9tLqZm2KwdgGWAPyuHRwGx9diZDV9o4aP5kyMc7Gc1A5WJdGYXAW34ytPnmZgjosZ7GfDUri.jpe


Although with regard to the composition of the picture, it is worth wishing to determine the center in the frame by a light spot. Here, in my opinion, cropping on the right is required. But given the potential of this frame and the content of the author's commentary to it, despite the existing compositional flaws, I prefer it from all the works presented.


The accompanying text of the author speaks about understanding the essence of the task:

To my understanding, Art is always composed with substances of the abstract because it takes fragments of what we commonly call the real world, detaches it from reality and (re)creates it with the materials of our subjectivity.
Although we know that Art does not require explanation, and perhaps even less so abstract Art, I present a synopsis of the procedure I used in my work: I made this photograph of a plastic fountain with cloudy water that, when shaken, created concentric rings taking in my imagination the appearance of a sidereal space where, in conjunction of inseparable lights and shadows, recondite cosmic particles gravitate.


The second place

is taken by the author's photo: @rut-ru





With the same comments on the composition that were made above: but here a red spot should be defined in the center. And then photography in the abstract would work flawlessly. Although in this form, it concentrates attention well enough and takes the mind away from the objectness of the image



Writes @rut-ru:

It is not always possible to make a photo abstraction by chance, without preliminary deliberation.
When you really get carried away with a topic, but you find even more difficult moments. Before, I didn't know how important composition is in an abstract shot. An abstract shot can even be conceptual, with recognizable details. In a word, the idea of ​​abstract photography is clearly more complex than just a collection of lines and patches of color.

The third place

is occupied by the works of the authors: @bambuka and @weisser-rabe

Photo @bambuka



I chose this work out of three submitted to the competition by the author, although it is not a good example of the abstract. She takes me to the humid forest with all its scents. The photo is beautiful, successfully arranged in a square format, but you need to find some solution to turn it into a completely abstract picture. The other two pictures were also not very successful in this regard, but I know that the author is able to achieve the best result.


The participant @weisser-rabe says very correct words. Yes, so too something abstract can turn out:

Anyway, in my own photos I usually try to be true to what I see. However, it sometimes happens that I can't quite place what I've photographed afterwards. Or that I am astonished at what is ultimately to be seen in a picture. In this particular case it was actually the case that the owner of the object(s) herself did not recognise what she was seeing...;-)). So I'll just venture here to submit it as my example of an abstract photo:

To me, this picture seems to be a good example, and only because of an insufficiently verified composition, it does not allow consciousness to completely distract. The vertical format could be changed almost to a square and this would be beneficial. But the distances to the right and left should be the same in any case. The existing displacement of the object to the right interferes with abstract perception, forcing us to think that something is wrong here. This also applies to the second photo of the author, which, if the composition were changed, could well claim a higher place.



This is my example: the horizontality has been corrected to the correct one and cropping has been performed. With such a decision of the frame, all questions already disappear and it remains only to contemplate.

qTEjZeAN91mgcovamVZfarHb4zNY9HY_cr.jpg

I thank all the participants for their attention to the contest and wish them good luck in the next stages. There were no more photos suitable for the abstract genre among the ones I didn't mention here. I saw very interesting reflections in a basin of water, I saw something resembling fragments of washing or washing dishes, I saw "photo - impressionism", some interesting textures, but all this did not turn out to be abstract.

@ty-ty , for example, offered an interesting picture that showed is only a landscape photograph. But from what is there now, you can make an abstract one. There is still work to be done with this.

A new stage of the competition begins today, but its announcement with updated rules where you can leave your applications for participation will be published a little later. Combining the results and the announcement of the next one seems difficult for me to perceive. It always confuses me, so in my contest there will be a clear section of these two parts.

I thank all the curators who supported the first stage. Now I have something to provide prizes with and I am starting to transfer them to the announced winners.

Снимок экрана (4165)_cr_cr.jpg
Снимок экрана (4165)_cr_crz.jpg

Thank you very much for visiting and reading!

100% SP (and manual translation to SP)

.............................................


Sort:  

I am really surprised! My admiration was for many other submitted works and I felt out of place.... Thank you for your explanation: I have never seen both photos like that ;-))

Ich bin wirklich überrascht! Meine Bewunderung galt vielen anderen eingereichten Arbeiten und ich kam mir fehl am Platze vor... Vielen Dank für Deine Erläuterung: ich habe beide Fotos noch nie so gesehen ;-))

 2 years ago 

Thank you for participating in the contest! I will be waiting for your other works this week :)

Challenge accepted ;-))

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07

IMG_20220709_154455_053.jpg

Curated By - @enveng
Curation Team - Cosmopolitan

 2 years ago 

Thank you for organizing an interesting contest and your work in evaluating each work. I know by myself how difficult it is.
Thank you for the prize and attention to my work.

@lllll1ll, I am very happy and satisfied with the prize you have awarded me in the abstract photography contest, in its first stage.
I wish you much success in future calls for the contest. Congratulations and greetings to all, colleagues.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the opportunity to gain a new experience)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72