The Breakfast Dinner

in WORLD OF XPILAR9 months ago

THE BREAKFAST DINNER.png

As a mother I cook every single day of the week, so my "foodie" posts go through stages really... primarily because in order for me to actually POST about it - I absolutely HAVE to be inspired, and when you spend a large part of your EVERY day in the kitchen, it can become challenging to find inspiration to not only prepare and cook something creative, but to document the process in between everything else you have going on around you.

There are a few simple things which (to my mind anyway) are required on a breakfast plate. Egg, bacon, tomato, mushroom, onion and steak if it is the best kind of breakfast. So here it is... My take on "breakfast for dinner".

08122023_28.jpeg

THE BREAKFAST DINNER


Probably one of the simplest and most deliciously decadent plates of food known to mankind - leave it to me to complicate it though, haha! Challenge accepted. Fried tomatoes are normally the order of the day on a breakfast plate, but I opted to roast them... with a little finely chopped rosemary, salt, pepper and literally a grain or two of sugar.

tomato trio.png

I would normally drizzle the tomatoes with a little olive oil before shoving them into the oven at 250 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes, but there was a little bit of bacon left over from the pasta dish I made the other night and I am VERY much a "waste not want not" kinda gal... Also, what breakfast would be complete without a bit 'o bacon ;)

So, I decided to finely chop the already cooked bacon, and add it to the spread of tomatoes which were ready for roasting. Whilst the roasted tomatoes were set to be roasted and juicy, I wanted those little bacon bits to be charred and crunchy. They were tiny enough in size to get away with that bold level of flavour.

08122023_5.jpeg

08122023_6.jpeg

Once the tomatoes and bacon were done and dusted, I got the onions on the go. Onions on a breakfast plate come in MANY varying forms. Personally, I love them all - but considering there would be steak on the plate WITHOUT an actual sauce (other than the yolk of the egg) I figured a nice caramelised onion would go down well!

onion trio.png

I sliced two onions into thick-ish rings, threw them into a pot with a little olive oilliciou, salt, balsamic vinegar and our South African "Mrs Balls Chutney". Fried those up until the excess liquid was gone and they turned deliciously golden looking.

08122023_9.jpeg

Next on the agenda was the tatoes! The MOST important part of the plate in my opinion... because I am a total CARB JUNKIE!!! lol! I par-boiled some baby potatoes. This means putting them into already boiling water for approx. 7 min. Drained them and left them to cool. Once they were cooled, I sliced them in half and allowed them to cool further.

tatoes.png

The tomatoes had just come out of the oven so I shoved another oven tray with a little oil in while the going was good. Gave it five minutes to heat up and whilst that was busy, I took the cooled, halved par-boiled jacket potatoes and tossed them in some salt and potato spice.

08122023_14.jpeg

08122023_15.jpeg

08122023_16.jpeg

Baked those babies for a good 30+ min, tossing them every 10 minutes or so. Being that they were par-boiled, the cooking was not really an issue - only the browning and crisping. Once done, I shoved them into a dripping tray to get rid of the excess oil.

Next up on the prep menu was shrooms of the normal kind lol. I chose baby mushrooms, because.... well, they are just CUTER! Popped those into a pot with nothing other than a little veg spice and olive oil. Fried them for a good 10+ min. Got them good and golden!

shrooms.png

Almost there... up next was the steak. I am a "matured" and RARE, blood gravy kinda girl... I wanted the steaks to be really PEPPERED! Prepped a plate of olive oil, salt and plenty a pepper for each stack of meat to lay down and bathe in. I am busy listening to Marilyn Manson's "7 Day Binge" song whilst I write this... think it's influencing the descriptions much? lol!!!!! I de-railed.... STEAKS! 1.5 min per side for me and 3.5 for those less inclined to rare. Put those aside in foil to rest.

08122023_21.jpeg

I made use of an old bowl to create the "surround" for sides and pretty much "threw" all the above mentioned around it. All that was left was to add the onion base, steak and then the egg. I was pretty happy with the end result.... After removing the bowl, I decided this would be the perfect foundation for the caramelised onions....

bowl.png

08122023_25.jpeg

and then, last but most definitely NOT least... the EGG!!! I have NEVER been a fan a "perfectly" shaped egg, but given the rustic style intended for the plate - I thought it would make a good balance and was willing to make the exception.

08122023_26.jpeg

A pretty "average" breakfast - just served a little differently. I thought it turned out alright.

There it is folks!

THE DINNER BREAKFAST

Hope it was as good for YOU as it was for me!

08122023_30.jpeg

08122023_29.jpeg

08122023_27.jpeg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Country Bumpkinland, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

jaynielea.png

Join me on X

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED
Typos make me human. I may or may not get around to correcting them.

All written content shared here is my property, unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

Until the last sentence, I'm not sure if you're really serving this for breakfast... ;-))

I don't eat it in the morning myself. I can't get any solid food down before lunchtime. Until then it's just coffee ;-)) And then lots of small snacks in between. We eat the actual meal of the day in the evening, often late... And your "breakfast" would be just right... ;-))

My dad seems to have the same eating habits as you - he does the whole intermittent fasting thing.

But yes, it is a pretty hearty plate of food haha!

Ah - greetings to your Dad ;-)) I didn't know that there is a special word for my eating habit. I've just checked it: sounds understandable! Thank you very much!

We learn something new every day :D

that all looks significantly better than anything I've had to eat, let alone cooked, in months. You are truly talented!

aaaah! I appreciate the compliment, though I am no chef... but I suppose my perspective runs along the lines of - of I am going to do it nearly every single day, then I may as well make it fun and enjoyable! :D

 9 months ago 

wow, this looks so delicious. I love cooking and inventing meals but I think I dont have the skill to take such wonderful pictures of the process, mmm.... I think I want to follow you to look into your recipes! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much for the lovely compliment @romanie :) I really appreciate it - but I will say this - EVERYONE can make good food. You just need to remember that it is like art - there is no wrong or right.

Even more important... just have FUN! :)

Hi @jaynie,

I can only imagine what it feels like to fill in the role of a mother and their responsibilities especially when it comes to cooking for the entire family...

This only make me remember my mom and all her hard works when it comes to seeving the family with her well prepared meals.

Unfortunately, it's been ages I taste her food, I miss that alot.

Trying your food would be an adventure for me since it's totally different from what we have here...

However, it all look yummy!

By the way, are you on Discord..?

I would appreciate if you could connect with me through my contact below..., thank you.

ubongudofot#9499

Unfortunately, it's been ages I taste her food, I miss that alot.

I think we all miss our moms food once we leave home or after our parents pass on. I am lucky in that my mom taught me a lot, so a lot of my cooking has a little bit of her personality and flavour in it.

I am sorry, I no longer use discord at all.

In that case, I will call your cooking skills an inheritance from your mom then..., and a special one for that matter.

I am sorry, I no longer use discord at all.

Oh okay.., no problem.

Well, your blog looks interesting and contain some good reads.., so I thought you would be a good candidate for my weekly show called..."The interview Showcase"....

Maybe, if you use Twitter or what is now known as X.... I could contact you through there....?

In that case, I will call your cooking skills an inheritance from your mom then..., and a special one for that matter.

Indeed :)

Maybe, if you use Twitter or what is now known as X.... I could contact you through there....?

You are welcome to :) My handle is @jaynielea

Thank you very much.

oops, looks like you account doesn't allow message from people who aren't in your circle.

There is no message button...

 9 months ago 

How nice to see the familiar.. Mrs. Balls Chutney, Ina Paarmann Potato Spice... Olive Oil from Food Lovers, and not to miss the pink Himalaya salt. It feels like I am doing the cooking! (•ิ‿•ิ)

hahaha!!! indeed! Local is Lekker. Mrs Balls gets around in my family, lol - shes traveled to the UK and just recently Colombia :D

I use her chutney in so many things I cook - such a wonderfully versatile and tasty addition!

 9 months ago 

The one thing that travels in my family is Rooibos tea. Boxes and boxes and boxes. Makro know's so well how to bubble wrap the boxes. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Yes!!! I was actually quite surprised to discover how well liked rooibos tea is overseas.

 9 months ago 

The dish looks absolutely wow. I do not eat bacon and steak, so I never get into making such dishes. You are a very good chef. My kitchen work is very poor but I enjoy watching others making it.

Thank you for such a lovely compliment. and you should not speak so poorly of yourself. Anything is possible with practice and enthusiasm! xxx


This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project. Your post was promoted on Twitter by the account josluds

@tipu curate

 9 months ago 

looks quite tasty, healthy and varied!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30