THE MOON AND MARS IN ONE IMAGE: MY ASTRONOMICAL PHOTOGRAPHYsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

Ⓞⓤⓡ Ⓢⓐⓣⓔⓛⓛⓘⓣⓔ, Ⓣⓗⓔ Ⓜⓞⓞⓝ & Ⓜⓐⓡⓢ Ⓘⓝ Ⓞⓝⓔ Ⓘⓜⓐⓖⓔ : Ⓜⓨ Ⓟⓗⓞⓣⓞⓖⓡⓐⓟⓗⓨ


Hi. How are things with you? I hope your life and things are returning back to normal, or, if not, I hope you are staying safe and looking after the ones who are the most important to you? Stay strong/ficar forte! 😑

Last weekend, I was observing the night sky and I noticed a small dot of light which was quite noticeable and clear right next to the moon, it almost looked like they were touching. My first thought was that it was a planet - maybe Mars, because it wasn't twinkling and it had a distinct red tone or hue. So I took the image below with my camera. 🌑

As you can see, there is a red dot to the left of the moon, click on the image to see a bigger version

So, I looked at the app on my phone to check if it was indeed Mars or another planet and I discovered I was right! I looked online and it said that Mars would make its closest approach to Earth on October 6 (I know, that date has passed!). Mars hasn't been this close to our planet since 2003 and it won't be this close again until 2035. Here's a zoomed up photo of the Moon and Mars taken from the first image:

It is clearer in this pic. Click on the image to see a bigger and better quality pic

As you can see, you can ALMOST see some detail or differences in tone of Mars in this image if you look closely and zoom up. I took some more images the same night and below you can see another pic - this time I framed it to give it an interesting, different look to it. You can see the image better if you click on the image to open it in another window. I have obviously added my copyright and name to my photos as I don't want anyone stealing them (in the originals, there are, of course, watermark free).
This image is framed, click on it to see a bigger version of it in a new window

And so, with the next pic, I have done the same, I have zoomed up, cropped and framed it, so you can see more of the Moon and Mars. What do you think?

A framed close-up of the Moon and Mars. Click on it to see a bigger, better quality version 😊

Here, in the final image below, I have cropped and zoomed up as much as I can, without losing quality, to try and identify and see some sort of detail of Mars. I will continue to observe the night sky for opportunities to take interesting images and remember...KEEP ON LOOKING AT THE STARS AND AIMING FOR THEM! 🙄 🌟

Until next time!
😄


A close-up of the Moon and Mars, click on the image to see a bigger version

Check out my blog and the rest of my images, videos and posts below:

📷


https://steemit.com/@daverobe

Sort:  

Wooo impresionante captura, que buena suerte que lo vieras justo cuando estaba al lado de la luna llena.

He estado toda esta semana disfrutando de ver el planeta rojo, pero sin lograr que se aproxime o se acerque a la luna para intentar una foto similar.

Hoy hay luna nueva, es decir, que la luna no se puede ver y tengo entendido que el acercamiento más intenso será mañana 16.

Gracias a tí tendré un recuerdo de este momento para compararlo dentro de 17 años. Vaya jajaj espero tener memoria en el futuro.

Saludos. Me encantó tu foto y tus ediciones.

 4 years ago 

What a beautiful moment being aware of the dance of the stars and planets. You were very lucky to catch those images on those neighbors of our planet Earth!! Awesome shots!

Thanks for share on the World of Xpilar!!


Hi @daverobe. you're on our Curation List for 500SP Minnowsupport Program.
Please remember to support others in the Newcomers Community by commenting and upvoting their post. Thank you.
You have been upvoted by @rex-sumon, Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit and for curating 500SP Minnowsupport Program 500SP Minnowsupport Program


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.
Check out the on going contest that happening on Steemit Community right now here Ongoing Contest on Steemit

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54