Another frosty Spring daysteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Hello friends,

I want to tell you that I spent all day outside in my garden, but that just is not the case. It was much to cold and there was a ferocious north wind. Instead I went to the garden centre to pick up a few things. Although the local greenhouses have started selling bedding plants, perennials, and other things, anything I buy must be kept sheltered in my heated garage for a couple more weeks.

So far, there is nothing emerging from the soil but for a few hardy perennials --except in my cold frames. I overwintered some onions in there and also planted some radishes, chard, and lettuce, just a couple of weeks ago. I really want to enjoy a salad.

radishes.jpg

When I opened the cold frame today, I was pleasantly surprised. Finally, something is growing. These baby radishes need thinning and some water, but I think I may be able to eat some by next week. Sadly, the lettuce and chard remains very shy.

lettuce.jpg

I think these might be lettuce. We will see when they grow a little bigger.

onions2.jpg

I grew these onions from seeds that I planted last Spring. I am very happy that they made it through the Winter and are continuing to grow. The season is not long enough here to grow onions from seed, so it really is a success for me to be able to overwinter them in my cold frame. Normally, people in this region will plant onion sets.

rhubarb.jpg

In more happy news, the rhubarb has started poking out of the ground. Soon I will have more rhubarb than I know what to do with.

I have faith that it will not be long before I am complaining that I have too many vegetables and fruits to know what to do with.

This is a 100% POWER UP! post.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Nice green news from Saskatchewan.

In St. Petersburg, we had zero this night and it might be like that this night and tomorrow too. A sort of rain-snowing is also in the program. I hope this is the last time this spring. Still, all wild plants have started growing. Ferns are uncoiling their juicy palm leaves - beautiful.

 3 years ago 

Also--did you know that you can eat those coiled ferns?

fiddlehead recipe

 3 years ago 

Yes, I know. But I have never tried. I would collect them but in a forest. No forest near me, only an old cemetery (with ferns). :)

 3 years ago 

Well, those cemetery ferns might be ok...extra nutrients. :-P To me, they taste like asparagus. Almost.

 3 years ago 

It is cold out for sure. We are below 0 Celsius.

Glad to see things poking through! Enjoy that salad, and stay warm....

:)>

 3 years ago 

Thanks. Today I will harvest my first radishes.

The first plant I grew as a child, and I've always loved them.

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

They are delicious! I have a friend from Bangladesh. He claims they are is favorite vegetable and he eats the roots AND the leaves. Strangely, he is not very interested in radish pods, which are a very big deal around here.

I went to a Korean house warming once, and most of what they served was fermented! They love their kimchi, and I had some made from radishes...it was wonderful! Once I get to the homestead, I will try to duplicate some!

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

I quite like Korean food.

They told me I made a very good impression on the Koreans, because I went back for seconds! It was wonderful, and I'm moving toward fermented food myself partially because of this. It's also a much easier method to preserve food, since you don't need a pressure cooker.

:)>

 3 years ago 

You do not need a pressure cooker for jams and pickles, either. Do you like pickles?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87