Sort:  

It is a big step for me, I have canned most everything under pressure. I have four large pressure cookers, and 6 smaller ones, including three electric units.

I will pressure can some still, but fermenting is going to be a much larger part of my preservation.

Jams and jellies are planned, and I love pickles!

♡♡♡♡

I may use one of the big pressure cookers in the freezer, and see it I can freeze dry some things. All I have to add, is a vacuum pump and a hose.

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

I have not heard of this method!

Freeze drying is the process most of the long term storage food uses. Home units cost In the $3500.00 range, but I think I can make my own. The food is frozen first, then a vacuum is applied for 10 to 12 hours. The vacuum reduces the boiling point below freezing, and the water outgasses through the pump; leaving the food dry, and in the original configuration.

I just can't justify the the expense, especially if I can make it myself. The commercial pressure cooker I already have will make a good vacuum enclosure!

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

Sounds fun. How long term are you hoping to keep your food?

They say freeze dried will last 25 years if kept dry. I have some 2 quart canning jars that should work for that!

I want to have 3 years of food stored, and tgen live off of my produce. That way, if I have a bad year, we are safe. When we have a good year, we can restock the supply.

Thr wallipini (buried greenhouse) here should produce food year round, without added heat.

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

I want to build one of these wallipini things. so many projects and so little time. Considering I have an average of only 106 frost free days in a row, I think they should be utilized more in my region.

I intend to run a long piece of 6 in tubing below the frost line, by circulating air through the tube I can draw ground heat into the walipini. Here that means I can probably grow plants year-round without added Heat, in your area it might give you six months. Adding additional Heat, could further increase this time for you.

The long tube below the frost line, is called an earth battery; it is used to both heat and cool. With the base of the walipini Underground, and the north side of the walipini being bermed with the removed dirt, you draw a lot of the earth temperature without using the Earth battery. With a big wall on the north side, with dirt behind it; you have good support structure for columns going down to the ground on the Southside. These columns can support the glazing for the greenhouse itself!

Then you plant like you know what you're doing, LOL!

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

Wow! Exciting! I have heard of a heat pump but not an earth battery. You have a lot of interesting knowledge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53