Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks. Today I will harvest my first radishes.

The first plant I grew as a child, and I've always loved them.

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

They are delicious! I have a friend from Bangladesh. He claims they are is favorite vegetable and he eats the roots AND the leaves. Strangely, he is not very interested in radish pods, which are a very big deal around here.

I went to a Korean house warming once, and most of what they served was fermented! They love their kimchi, and I had some made from radishes...it was wonderful! Once I get to the homestead, I will try to duplicate some!

♡♡♡♡

 3 years ago 

I quite like Korean food.

They told me I made a very good impression on the Koreans, because I went back for seconds! It was wonderful, and I'm moving toward fermented food myself partially because of this. It's also a much easier method to preserve food, since you don't need a pressure cooker.

:)>

 3 years ago 

You do not need a pressure cooker for jams and pickles, either. Do you like pickles?

It is a big step for me, I have canned most everything under pressure. I have four large pressure cookers, and 6 smaller ones, including three electric units.

I will pressure can some still, but fermenting is going to be a much larger part of my preservation.

Jams and jellies are planned, and I love pickles!

♡♡♡♡

I may use one of the big pressure cookers in the freezer, and see it I can freeze dry some things. All I have to add, is a vacuum pump and a hose.

♡♡♡♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53