S11-W6 - The Recipe of the Day: (Spaghetti)

in Steemit Iron Chef9 months ago
20230901_125816.png
Edited using Pixellab

Greetings everyone and welcome to my entry for the recipe of the day contest by this prestigious community, I hope you get to like what you see.

I will be sharing a simple breakfast recipe with everyone today which you can prepare within 30 minutes at most, isn't that awesome? A meal that is not time-consuming and at the same time very nutritious and tasty.

The meal I will be sharing with us today is a meal common to everyone, everywhere worldwide, although the preparation may differ from one individual to another, no matter the differences, it is still not time-consuming.

My recipe for the day is Spaghetti, also known as Bolognese, a very common and delicious meal for your appetite, which is not expensive to prepare.

Below are all the ingredients you need to make a delicious and healthy Spaghetti.


The Ingredients

IMG_20230901_101016.jpg
Image of some of the ingredients
  • Spaghetti
  • Vegetable oil
  • Tomato paste
  • Eggs (protein source)
  • Onion
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • Maggi cubes

Among all the ingredients mentioned only a few of them were bought as the others were already at home, they were bought for the following prices.

IngredientsPrice in NGNin Steem
SpaghettiN5004
Vegetable oilN1000.8
Tomato PasteN1000.8
EggsN1000.8
TotalN8006.4

Remember I told you it was very affordable, yet delicious. Coming next is the procedure.


The Preparation Procedures

Step 1: Per boiling the spaghetti, add salt to it when per boiling so it doesn't get tangled but comes out separately.

IMG_20230901_130926.jpg
Spaghetti set to per-boil

Step 2: While boiling the Spaghetti, boil the eggs separately or inside the boiling Spaghetti.

IMG_20230901_105106 (1).jpg
boiled eggs placed in cold water to cool down

Step 3: Chop your Onion, in preparation for making the source.

IMG_20230901_130949.jpg
image of chopped Onoins

Step 4: Drop down the per-boiled Spaghetti sieve it out from the water and rinse.

IMG_20230901_104142.jpg
per-boiled spaghetti being sieved

Step 5: Use vegetable oil, Tomato paste, chopped onions, salt, pepper, and, Maggi cubes to make a Tomato sauce.

IMG_20230901_105218 (1).jpg
the prepared tomato sauce

Step 6: Pour the rinsed Spaghetti into the prepared sauce, mix properly, and leave to cook for 5 minutes.

IMG_20230901_105544.jpg
mixing of the sauce and per-boiled spaghetti

Step 7: Put down the pot, and serve with the boiled egg. In my case, I added bananas as my added fruit and vitamin source. And Whoolah!, you have made a tasty meal.

IMG_20230901_111658.jpg
IMG_20230901_111734.jpg
food is ready

I would like to share this recipe with my friends, so I will be inviting @ruthjoe, @ninapenda, @ikwal, and @suboohi to come join me and also share their recipes with us.

Thank You for your Time


NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20230620_142532.png

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 9 months ago 

Boss you are flexing oo..
Wow! I didn't know you can cook
One day I hope to taste your meal..

Best wishes !!

Lol, my number 1 hero... There are many more you don't know yet, but I practically cook anything and everything I feel like eating. After all, I've been living alone for as long as I can remember, so if I don't cook, who will?

 9 months ago 

This is getting interesting

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Loading...

Never in my life have I seen eggs 🍳 or banana 🍌 in pasta 🍝
🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯
My brain actually can’t handle this right now. Is this common in your country? This is a shock that I can feel ripple throughout my entire Italian ancestry.

 9 months ago 

Calm down... you sound very disgusted about his meal? It shouldn't be so..

Some of the meals eaten in your country are new to me too but I won't sound like that..there are better ways to express your surprise.

Every culture has its native meal, I would react surprised too if I see someone prepare Banga soup using hot dog. So please, give her the chance to teach us. Don't you think so? 🤷🤷

So sorry, I didn’t mean to be offensive. I think Americans have a tendency to be a bit abrasive. I was mostly wondering if this is a meal that is typical of that culture or if it’s a personal preference.

As strange as it may sound to you, what would be the protein source in your pasta please, so I will learn from it too. Don't forget to add the recipes and procedures too. 😍❤️

It depends on the pasta. For a red sauce like that I would use beef. Usually a ground beef to add to the bolognese sauce. I like to take it a step further and make meatballs, but that can get messy and time consuming ( I will sometimes pressure cook the meatballs in the sauce for 3 hours). My Italian step father taught me to cook, so my cooking has a lot of Italian influence.

Step one, use a pan to brown the vegetable. I would use onion, mushrooms and peppers. I would brown the vegetables in butter. Browning is a technique of just cooking something until it is brown in color. The browning adds a lot of flavor to the sauce. After that, add the ground beef. At this point I would add the spices to “marry” the flavors. I like a spicy sauce, so I would use garlic, black pepper and a little red pepper. Then, I would add tomato paste and some beef stock. Let this cook down to a saucy texture so it’s not too much of a liquid. You could also just use premade sauce, but I like to make my own.

While the sauce cooks you can start to boil water for your pasta and have both things cooking simultaneously. Your sauce should be thick by the time the pasta is ready, and then you can mix the two. I then top it with either Parmesan or mozzarella cheese while it is steaming hot so it melts the cheese.

Great! Now lemme ask you, if you don't mind how long and how much would it take to prepare the meal exactly as you have described?

Don't get me wrong, I get the fact the Spaghetti (bolognese) as a meal belongs to the Italians, its a quite know fact, however, its found all over the world. True or False?

Hence, the way the Indians prepares it might be different from the way the British, French, Italians, or the chinese would. Now, that doesn't mean it's no longer Spaghetti or Bolognese its just cultural differences and our position to do things. I have cooked and eaten it, I'm still very much alive, I get the fact it looks new to you, but that is way we learn everyday.

Funny how Nigeria cooks Jollof rice, Same as the Ghanians, their neighbouring country, yet there exist differences among them to the extent the world debates who cooks it better.

So yes, I'm not disputing the fact that this seems new to you, but its the differences that makes it interesting, remember "Variety is the Spice of Life"

Thank you for your time and educative feedback, believe me I have learned so thing new today and so are you. That's what Steemit is all about learning new things and meeting people.

I did a google search and learned that spaghetti and banana is the national dish of Samalia because of European colonialism, which makes the dish make much more sense to me.

My biological parents are from the Dominican Republic. They make their pasta a bit different from the Italians. Instead of using basil in their sauce they use a lot of oregano. It tastes like blasphemy to my taste buds and I never eat my step moms pasta 😬🫣

Instead of pairing it with a banana it is paired with fried plantains (platanos) which I love. I could eat fried plantains with anything.

After learning about this pasta and banana I’m tempted to try it but I don’t know where to find the appropriate spices. Where I live is very populated by white people. I wonder if I can special order the spices.

I have also learned much today, and it makes me very happy. I love to try new food.

Thank you for your time, it means a good thing when you say you have learnt something new today, we learn new things everyday. Today just had to be your lucky day.

Wow..you are very interesting cooked. I hope its was too much tasty. Its looking amazing. Take care and show your best presentation.

 9 months ago 
Greetings Chef @sahmie!

Thank you for being part of the community, we look forward to continue enjoying your delicacies and eventualities in your meals.

solosteemit
|
steemeng
|
steem.ind
|

Greetings.

 9 months ago 

You made your spaghetti pasta attractive and simple to prepare. Hope the combination was delicious as seen. I haven't tried eating it with banana before but I so much love my pasta with eggs.

Best wishes in the contest!

Our Chef in the house! Hup! Hup! Thank you for your time and this supportive comment. I really appreciate it.

 9 months ago 

You are welcome, Sahmie!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66278.21
ETH 3557.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14