Weekly Contest - Best Diary Game | [11-7-2024] Taking a bit rest and Cooking a delicious Afang soup 🍲 "Ibibio delicacy"

in Steem For Pakistan9 hours ago (edited)

Dear Diary,
Thursday started Kind like off a bit so differently for me. I did woke up really late, then feeling already weak and tired to much work load. I definitely skipped almost all my morning workout to keep fit and didn’t do much around the house as usual. But however, I did took a sincere moment to give thanks to my God Almighty for really waking me up and always keeping me safe till date.

  • Even as my system didn't allow me do much, I still engage in some activities which here is what It was like;
My morning 🌄

In the morning here, though I didn’t feel like going out. I definitely had planned to fetch some water earlier, but then when I checked the time, it indeed was already late. The very water kiosk I wanted going might have been closed, so guys I decided to stay home and not stress my energy. I was really confident that I still had much of enough water left for use.

  • Instead I definitely spent my morning reading and very much preparing for my SED 325 exams, which is definitely titled "Secondary School chemistry curriculum". These very exams is scheduled for the next day by 3 pm, so I really wanted to be more loaded well-prepared.

IMG_20240711_152511_7.jpg
[My Delicious Afang Soup 🍲]

In the Afternoon, Cooking my Meal

After some time reading, I really felt hungry. Then When I checked well the kitchen, I remember perfectly there was no food ready to eat and that everything finished the previous night. I at this point had no choice but to cook a meal. Thankfully to myself, I definitely had all the necessary ingredients I needed. And Since it was already afternoon here, I decided to engage in cooking Afang soup, which I consider one of my favorite dishes all day.

Take some insight here is how I made uniquely the Afang soup:

IMG_20240711_145138_6.jpg
[Some of my Ingredients]

My Ingredients:

  • Afang leaves
  • Water leaves
  • Kpomo (cow skin)
  • Periwinkles
  • Dried fish
  • Stock fish
  • Palm oil
  • Crayfish
  • Pepper
  • Seasoning cubes
  • Salt

The Process:

1. Preparation: I certainly started by well preparing the Afang leaves. I genuinely picked the leaves, making sure to definitely select only the fresh ones. Then too, I washed them so thoroughly to remove any form of dirt dry. After drying, I use my knife 🗡️ , cutting stick and tray to sliced the Afang leaves into fine pieces and then pound them in a mortar to make them all very smooth. This significantly is how we the Ibibio's traditionally prepare the Afang soup in my culture to really enhance the unwavering taste.

IMG_20240711_112836_2.jpgIMG_20240711_112839_5.jpg

[My Afang leaves Before and After Slicing]

2. Water Leaves: Next in line, i did took the water leaves, washed them as well, and definitely sliced them as well. These very leaves add a much more fresh and juicy taste to the soup.

3. Cooking the kpomo: I did washed the kpomo, the dried fish, and as well the stock fish. I then also prepared them well by cutting it into small pieces. I basically put them all into a pot, added too some water, chopped little onions, add a seasoning cubes, and salt, and let it boil until tender for seasoning.

4. Adding Ingredients: And Once the kpomo and others was tender, I did added the periwinkles I've gotten into the pot. I let it all cook together for a few more minutes on fire.

5. Adding the Leaves: After the kpomo and the fish were well-cooked well, I did added the sliced water leaves to the pot too. I sincerely stirred them in and really allowed them to cook for about five minutes together.

6. Palm Oil and Crayfish: I then added some palm oil toi to the pot for the color but not that alone, the flavor too. Then, I sincerely added the ground crayfish and the pepper to taste perfectly. I then also adjusted the seasoning with definitely more seasoning cubes and the salt as needed.

IMG_20240711_145151_2.jpg
[My soup 🍲 Almost Ready]

7. Final Step: Finally here, I have added the pounded Afang leaves all to the pot. I evenly stirred everything together and also let it simmer for a few more minutes while on fire until the soup was so well-cooked and too the flavors had really blended perfectly.

With here the soup ready to launch into stomach, I did boiled some water to make garri, a very unique and common Nigerian staple made from the cassava. I did poured the hot water into a bowl, i so added the garri slowing while stirring until it was at the right consistency together

IMG_20240711_152509_1.jpg
[Finally Served for Lunch]

  • I happily served myself 😁 a plate of the Afang soup with the garri and started eating. The meal I made with much pride was very delicious and really satisfied my hunger completely. I don't think @patjewell can beat this my Cooking skills more especially on this delicacy.
During The Evening

In the evening and early night hours, I really went back to my books as it is very important, well continuing my preparation for the exams I have at hand. I then also spent some time online too, pretty checking for the updates on my school unit platform about the so upcoming exams and too any tasks I needed to complete while making research to aid my learning.

This definitely was pretty how I spent my dear Thursday, a much More mix of studying, the cooking, and also relaxing. So despite the kind slow start, it did turned out to be a very much productive day. even @bossj23 can testify
Connect me on Steemit

        "Thank You Steemit"
Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 9 hours ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Crayfish.. crayfish.. crayfish!
Do you know how lucky you guys are that you can cook with crayfish? It is way too expensive here for us.

Nah! I won't even try cooking your dish.
You will have to come cook it for me.(•ิ‿•ิ)

But I think I must make a post about the food I made for the two men in my life. I made them each a dagwood!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44