Steemit Engagement Challenge S6/W1 - List Your Childhood Outdoor Games, Which are Not Famous Globally

in Hindwhale Community2 years ago (edited)
Being a child was quite an exciting experience for me because I always play with other kids in my neighborhood. Infact I remember as a child, playing was one thing that makes me super happy. We always keep ourselves busy by engaging in physical activities without any of the modern technology phone and ipad games because obviously they weren't so popular then. Listed below are some of the outdoor games I enjoyed playing as a child. Most of them required just one friend to play with or you could play all by yourself as the case may be. However, these games are more interesting when played with a group of friends. Some of these games were wrongly named by us but it's a good thing I know their true names now. Although i don't have any picture of me engaging in this games as a child but I'll try to illustrate them.

RED AND GREEN LIGHT

We usually play this game in a spacious compound. One person is the traffic light at one end while the other players are at different other ends but same distance from the traffic light.
When the traffic light faces the group, he or she will say "RED LIGHT" and everyone must freeze. After a while, the traffic light back's them and says "GREEN LIGHT" while each player tries to get as close to the traffic light as possible.
The traffic light turns turns again quickly saying "RED LIGHT" and anyone found moving will have to face the penalty of going back to the starting point. The freezing was the fun part of the game because some people are always in a very uncomfortable and funny positions and if the traffic light person is wicked, he/she can decide to freeze everyone for more than 2 minutes. You can only imagine the level of inconvenience this will cause.
The first person to tag the traffic light wins and becomes the next traffic light.

  • Number of children: a small group
  • Instrument: nil

images (2).jpeg
Source

HIDE AND SEEK

This game was very common while I was growing up. It can be played both inside or outside but we usually play it outside to avoid the trouble of breaking things in the house and being whipped by our parents.
So, we would go to an uncompleted building in our neighborhood to play this game. One person would be selected to search for every other person. We will blindfold the selected person and make him countdown from 20 to 0, thereby giving the other players time to hide. After the countdown, he'll remove the blindfold and start searching. The moment he catches anyone, the person takes over from him while he goes into hiding as well.

  • Number of children: minimum of 2 to a small group
  • Equipments: a blindfold

images (3).jpeg

Source

FLYING JET

This one is very easy and doesn't necessarily involve many children. Infact I've played it all by myself but it is quite interesting when played in group.
We played this game most times during recess periods in school.
We would tear the middle page of our notes in school to make a paper jet, then throw it up at the count of three to see whose own will fly higher. We could repeat this over and over again to stare amazingly at the paper flying up and then coming down in a projectile manner.

  • Number of children: any number
  • Equipment: a sheet of paper

images (4).jpeg
Source

TIC TAC

This game is always very exciting to me because I always emerge the champion. It requires total focus while playing it.
Two horizontal lines are drawn on two vertical lines to form nine(9) boxes. Two players is required per time but the winner can be challenged by anybody. Nevertheless, it's a two-person game. One person will be tagged with # while the other with O.
It was an outdoor game for us because we would draw it on the floor so that we can erase and start as soon as a winner emerges. A record table is always on the side to check points of both the winner and the loser
The aim of the game is to have 3 of your tag aligned either vertically or horizontally to win.

  • Number of children: 2 at a time
  • Equipment: a stick to write on the ground

1_Syzc_BbO0QHTx74NLHcpiQ.png
Source

RUBBER BAND THROW

This game is super unique and very fun to play. We usually gather many rubber bands just for this game. It's one game I don't happen to see any child playing in this era. Maybe it's old-school but it was quite interesting back in the days. We usually play it in small group. The interesting but annoying part of this game was that the winner will earn all the rubber-bands on ground during the game.
As the name implies, the game is played by just throwing rubber bands randomly but with direction on the floor from a certain distance until you make your rubber band rest on top of another rubber band.
It's always fun because everyone is eager to win in other to earn all the rubber bands used in playing. But unfortunately, they'll be only one winner who will return home happy while the other children will be sad because all their rubber band is gone. Nevertheless, they always return to challenge the winner.

  • Number of children: minimum of two
  • Equipment: rubber bands

images.jpeg
Source

Anyone who can relate with the children games listed above should drop a comment on which was your best. Indeed childhood was fun.
I am inviting my friends @ubongudofot @adylinah and @josepha to participate in this beautiful contest.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Those are some fun games, RED AND GREEN LIGHT game reminds me of the television series SQID GAME, thank you for participating in the contest

El juego del semáforo a parte de ser divertido es educativo pues vamos inculcando el respeto y el deber que tenemos ciudadanos en respetar las leyes de transito.

 2 years ago (edited)

Greetings, you have been supported by @hindwhale account for your post. To know more about our community, you can visit our introduction post here. To contact us directly, please visit our discord channel.


Moderator/Curator : @pathanapsana

Support Our Witness

@hindwhale

Hind Whale Comment GIF.gif

Subscribe & Join Our Community
Telegram ----- Discord

 2 years ago 

You have written well about your childhood outdoor which some I also participated in when I was a child. As a child then I participated in FLYING JET, and RUBBER BAND THROW very well.

Thank you very much friend. The rubber band throw was really fun😊

Hello @toriasam, good to see you take part in the Steemit Engagement Challenge.
I have also played all these outdoor games during my childhood except "red and green light".

Thank you for inviting me, I will drop my entry soon.
Success and steem on!

Thank you dear friend. Please do well to drop your entry so that I can know the games you engaged in as a child

You see that rubber band own i played it very well. I CAn remember.

I played the rubber band game lot when I was young

Amiga muy buena tu descripción de los juegos de tu infancia el que más me llamo la atención fue el de "Luz verde y Luz Rojas se ve muy interesante pero mi favorito es el de la escondida. Saludos y suerte en el concurso.🤗

 2 years ago (edited)
CategoryRemarkScore
#Club50501/1
Verified User1/1
#steemexlusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
Bot Free1/1
Voting CSI > 51/1
Markdown Style1/1
Quality Content2.5 /3
Total9.5/10
Feedback / Note
  • I know about hide and seek but red and green lights are new to me. I can imagine how everyone must have frozen on hearing Red. It was a lot of fun watching these great games of yours. I hope you will keep posting in our community in the future as we love to read posts from people like you.

Thank you very much ma, I must say I'm really grateful for this ma. I will do my best to engage in contest in this community and in steemit as a whole.

 2 years ago 

Definitivamente los juegos son una parte muy importante en el desarrollo de nuestra infancia. Debo confesar que me parece muy interesante el juego LUZ ROJA Y VERDE este lo conocí en una serie popular en Netflix y sin duda alguna es muy competitivo y divertido.

@toriasam, I see that you enjoyed your childhood very well with traditional games, nothing to do with technology, where the children had fun until they could not, just using their energies in ingenuities.

I also remember the games you mentioned flying over the plane, playing hide and seek, the tic tac which we played in Venezuela but with another name I don't remember what.

I played a lot with the rubber bands, it was a lot of fun, sometimes I came home with many bands and sometimes I lost them all.

Thank you for sharing your outdoor games with your friends in the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30