Steemit Engagement Challenge S6/W1 - List Your Childhood Outdoor Games, Which are Not Famous Globally

Playing outdoor as a child was one of the way in which we get to experience natural environment, being able to test physical limits with other kids, express ourselves, have adventures and also build our self-confidence.

Growing up as a child, I have played various outdoor games which I am unable to give the real names right now to some.
I grew up surrounded with children of my age which really made it possible to be able to have fun during my childhood.

My siblings, cousins, friends and neighbours were always available to play with me.
After school or during weekends, I will go out to meet my friends outside the neighborhood just to play interesting games like; making of kite, cooking game, canta ball game, tyre rolling and tug of war e.t.c.

There were many others we usually play apart from the ones listed above.

Now let's get to see how these games are being played.

Tug of War

Tug of war is a team game of opposite sides. This game is best played in a leveled surface; a grassy or sandy field is preferable and an equal number of players are allowed to play.

tug-of-war-1013740__480(0).jpgHow to play tug of war (source)

The set goal for this game is to stay and focus on your side of the centre line of the rope and if any other team crosses over, the other team (opposite) will win the game.
The game is played by each of the team members pulling the rope alongside with members of the opposition to the end.

Kite

Kite is well known as children's game here in Nigeria. I loved playing this game when I was a kid because it was very easy for me to go with unlike groups or team games.

I usually get colourful nylons, papers and rope and use them in making kite.
I create my kites by cutting the papers and nylons into beautiful shape and then tie rope at one edge.

kite-2173917__340.jpg(Source)

When the kite is designed/decorated with colourful papers or nylon it makes it more beautiful and attractive when I am playing with it especially when the kite is flying with high speed with the wind direction.
Kite is of different types. The single one can easily be made and played with by one person but the one made with multiple ropes, needs two or more players.

Tyre Rolling

This outdoor game is very fun to play as a child. The game is competitive when played in groups and at the same time not all that interesting when rolling the tyre alone.
These tyres are old rings gotten from vehicles, it could be from; car, bicycle or bike.
Tyre game is played by rolling tyres using stick or hands.

play-628066_960_720.jpg Rolling of tyre(Source)

Just like during bicycle race, whoever rolls the tyre and get to a fixed point set by the players wins. Also, whoever stops rolling or his/her tyre falls off will be out of the game.

Canta Ball Game

Canta ball game is also known as drinks cap soccer game. It is a team game that involves just two players on each side who use their hands to push drink cap by passing the ball (piece of stone) in order to score goal.

veneers-106687__340.jpgDrink cap used in playing soccer (Source)

Drink cap are used to form the players and it is being selected in colours for each of the team.
For example; team 1 can go with red drink cap while team 2 goes with a blue drink cap for easy identification.

2236384_img17881480579350_jpeg.jpeg Soccer illustration using drink caps for settings (Source)

Several cantas can be crushed flat and fused together to form a goalkeeper, then a piece of paper could be used by folding to form a goal post and a piece of stone is used as ball.

Outdoor games were really fun to play during childhood and every game being played then has created nothing but beautiful and everlasting memories.

I would like to invite @josepha, @eliany and @mvchacin to join the contest. Thank you!

Sort:  
 2 years ago 
CategoryRemarkScore
#Club1001/1
Verified User1/1
#steemexlusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
Bot Free1/1
Voting CSI > 51/1
Markdown Style1/1
Quality Content2/3
Total8/10
Feedback / Note
  • Thank you so much for sharing your post with hindwhale community @adylinah, I seen your post and looking good to see and read also I listen first time about Canta Ball Game and after read i can say it is interesting.

Thank you for the verification.

 2 years ago 

Greetings, you have been supported by @hindwhale account for your post. To know more about our community, you can visit our introduction post here. To contact us directly, please visit our discord channel.


Moderator/Curator : @pathanapsana

Support Our Witness

@hindwhale

Hind Whale Comment GIF.gif

Subscribe & Join Our Community
Telegram ----- Discord

Thank you for the support.

 2 years ago 

Que increíble es recordar que con tan solo una cuerda o unos cauchos nos podíamos divertir tanto. Jugar al aire libre y en compañía de otros niños era lo máximo.

Esa es una gran diferencia con respeto a las nuevas generaciones que estás inmersas en la tecnología.

It was indeed the best experience ever!
Thanks for your time.

Greetings friend, you made me remember my best years, when I played these fun games, I loved the tug of war, and riding kites, a very fun time, unfortunately these games have been pushed aside by the virtual ones. Thanks for the invitation I will be preparing it. Blessings.

All these games made our childhood memorable. Thanks friend.
Looking forward to seeing your entry.

 2 years ago 

Waoooh you really played a lot while growing up. Indeed I myself I also played a lot during my childhood and I can say that all the outdoor game you have mention I have played them. Beside using Canta to play ball, we also used the rubber for making of rubberban.

You have written well. Best of luck to you.

Yes, I played a lot of games which are not listed here.😄
Thanks for visiting, I hope to read about your childhood outdoor games as well.

Interesting to see most of the unpopular games you engage in during your childhood, atleast o practice the kyte when i was a kid.

Thank you for bringing back those memories.

Thank you for reading. Yes, most of these games were unpopular but fun to play.

Seeing your article took me back to memory lane of my childhood as all the above-mentioned games are what I participated in except tire rolling, and then we played the game with so much joy and at the end of the day, we felt fulfilled and slept like the baby we were 😆. Thank you for sharing and good luck with the contest.

Feeling fulfilled and falling asleep like a baby was part of it.😄Childhood outdoor experience is still fresh in our memories.

Thank you for reading.

Wow.....I can certainly relate to the outdoor games you participated in as a child. Tyre rolling was kinda our favorite outdoor game back in the days.
We would roll tyres whenever we were sent on an errand and it was really fun.

Thank you for sharing your fun moments as a kid with us. I wish you the best in this contest.

Childhood outdoor game memories are worth reminiscing 🤗
I wish another privilege will be given to experience that even just for a day.😂

Good to know you were a fan of tyre game.
Thanks for your valuable comment, friend!

Oh dear @adylinah, you brought back memories. Come to think of it, I wonder what kids enjoy in this present technological age where we now have video games that keeps them busy. These outdoor games made our childhood memorable. Thanks for sharing.

Kids of this present world are really bored because sometimes, computer games are tiring to play. Imagine going through one circle of game over and over again.
I consider us lucky though because we were opportuned to feel the natural environment with different types of outdoor games.

Thank you for reading!

 2 years ago (edited)

I too played tyre rolling. It is my first vehicle to drive on roads. Enjoyment on those days make us very happy. Beautiful days.
Thanks for sharing the fun moments which brings lots of memories.

You are right, tyre rolling was our first vehicle.😄
Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69