“Steemit Engagement Challenge - S13/W5 - 90's vs 2K"

20231113_075800_0000.pngedited using canva

The 90's, a transformational period that now seems safe, easy, secured, and softened, even though we never felt that way at that time. I was opportune to be born during this time and had experienced life in the 90's. I can tell for sure what life then was compared to now....

If you lived in both generations, like 90s and 2k which one did you like the most?


Life in the 90's was easy, sweet, simple, and safe, even though we didn't take note of it. With a higher level of optimism, people were so happy and satisfied back then. It was a mobile phone with no internet. I remembered the day my dad returned with a brand new Nokia 3310, OMG! It was like we won a lottery. The happiness we had to have a mobile phone was something different.

The music was on a record tape and not on a CD player. We had this box for the record player; my dad used it to play all the old-time music, and this music sends so much melody to the soul because it's cool and soft, not like now, when we have all loud music everywhere.

Films show at the cinema today; back then, there were just a few people who owned the television. My siblings and I would go to a neighborhood where we could find TV to watch with other children, and then we had only 4 existing channels, 😂.

The wall clock in my home was a box-like clock that makes the loudest noise when it's o'clock. So even if you are outside, you can hear it loudly. I think in the 90's they loved boxing things because almost everything came in a box form 😂😂.

I could go on and on because the life of the 90's was amazing, and if you never experienced it, then it's your luck, but you missed out a whole lot, and yes! I liked life in the 90's.



How is school life now, and what was it like in the nineties?


1699867396157.jpga screenshot from Google

In the 90's, school life was fun-filled. Yes, it was. I attended a school where we had all the time to study and learn while the teacher taught. My class teacher would ask a question roll by roll, and if you didn't get it right, the whole class would sing a very bad song for you.

We had break time where we enjoyed our various games. We had thousands of games that we would not even finish before break-off. Now, pupils do not play games at school; they only sit to learn and go for lunch. Their games are internet-prescribed.

We read novels like; Simbi goes to school, chike and the river, sugar girl, the beauty and the beast. The English macmilian had so many interesting stories. I remember Mr Nwosu has two daughters and four sons, they are preparing for Christmas, hahahaha...

At 12 p.m. in my school, we had a general prayer conducted by me every day. That prayer became part of me as I grew up. At the end of every session, the neatest pupil would be gifted; now they are only interested in the 1st and 2nd positions.

School life in the 1990s was more comfortable and coordinated than now. It was enjoyable too.



Compare 90s entertainment with 2K entertainment.


Did you ever watch a movie called Titanic? You would agree with me that you can't find such a movie anywhere in 2K entertainment. Blockbuster's films were top-notch. The Matrix captivated the audience worldwide.

When it came to music, Britney Spears and Nirvana took over the airwaves. It was like taking us to paradise. Did you play the game called Super Mario? Oh, the first day I saw that game, I dragged with my brothers on who to play first.

2K entertainment is cool and lovely, but I don't enjoy it like I did in the 90's. It may be because they are too loud now. They have mostly internet-based games for kids, or I would say that everything is internet-based as far as the 2K entertainment is concerned.



Compare 90's and 2K's games/sports


1699867640999.jpga screenshot from Google

I was never a fan of sports, but I feel the breeze each time my country, Nigeria, is in the Olympics finals. My dad closes from work so early, and my brothers do their chores early so they can sit with my dad without distractions. Not just my family; since our house was right on the road, people walked into our compound to watch through the window.

Then I could feel the love, the cheer, and the support with prayers, but now I feel the love is no longer there. There is no more energy put into sports like before; even my dad no longer has that spirit like before.

I can't say much on this because I was never interested in sports, but my little experience says it all.



Compare the sweets from the 90s and the 2Ks.


Oh! I enjoyed eclicks sweets, banana gum, bubble gum, black current lollipop, and melody pops.

These are sweets from the 90's. The 2K sweets are nice and have more varieties than in the 90's. Sweets were not something my parents allowed me to enjoy; I was restricted from sweets, so the little I know is that my mom owned a shop where she sold these sweets.

I see more sweets now than in the 90's, and they all have good tastes except for a few, which are really bad.



Conclusion


I would still prefer life in the 90's. It had more basis than the 2K life. The food we ate in the 90's was all original and natural; now we have more artificially packaged goods called food for human consumption.

Life was good in the 90's!



I invite @ruthjoe @mariami @nancy0 @goodybest

20231026_101606.jpg

About me

Sort:  
Loading...

I really enjoyed your post I also bought my new phone which was Nokia 3310 🤭 and I agree with all your points 90s was very smooth and safe we were free from the internet and enjoying time with family and friends best regards 😊

Thank you so much Sir...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

You are welcome!

 7 months ago 

Hello @ninapenda
Comparison of these two decades 90s vs 2K. You have mentioned a lot about the 90s when there was a television in the whole neighborhood, you won a Nokia 3310 mobile in the lottery. Life in the 90's was a great time with little equipment to enjoy. Now, there are so many advanced technology devices at hand, computers in every home as if there is a sense of lack. Best wishes to you dear friend.

Life was good in the 90s, thanks for your comment my friend.

It's true, in the 90s at school everyone could meet face to face in the classroom with feelings of happiness and joy but now in the 20s everything has started to shift to learning online :)

I appreciate your comment dear friend. Thank you so much!

 7 months ago 

You really wrote like the legend Chimamanda Adichie I enjoyed every bit of my entry, so mind blowing and also interesting too. I know that feeling of bringing back a NOKIA 3310 phone. It is really mind blowing. Watching television with only 4 channels was so lovely! I recall those days too. Your post brought back sweet memories. I remember old songs too played on the music box it sounds cool and sweet unlike the loud ones we hear today. Success in the contest and may the best contestant win the challenge.

Wow! am blushing 😂😂, thank you!

Your comment is appreciated Sir, thanks again 🙏

 7 months ago 

It's well deserved steem on my friend.
I look forward to reading your next article!

Hello friend .

The difference in entertainment options between the 90s and 2k is especially apparent when it comes to TV. In the 90s, many people still had black and white TVs with only a few channels. Watching TV was a simpler, more limited experience. By the 2k, TVs were almost exclusively in color, and there were dozens of channels to choose from. Additionally, the rise of cable TV in the 2k meant that there was a greater variety of programming, from news and sports to reality shows and scripted dramas. People also had the option to watch TV shows on demand, rather than at a specific time. In the 90s, sport in Nigeria was primarily focused on local games, such as football (soccer), basketball, and table tennis. These games were played at the community level, and people would often gather to watch local teams compete. In the 2k, sport in Nigeria has become more international in scope. Many Nigerians now follow major sports leagues from around the world, such as the English Premier League and the NBA. This has been facilitated by the rise of satellite TV, which has brought a wider range of sports to viewers in Nigeria. Another difference is the increased participation of Nigerian athletes in international competitions.
Schools in the 90s had a different approach to fun than schools in the 2k. In the 90s, recess was a time for unstructured play, and students often played games like tag or jump rope. After school, kids would often go outside to play games like hide and seek or kick the can. By the 2k, schools had begun to emphasize more structured activities during recess, such as organized sports or arts and crafts. After school, kids were more likely to stay indoors and play video games or use the internet. Technology has certainly changed how kids have fun both in and out of school. What was your favorite school

Thanks for your sharing and good luck with the challenge...

Thank you so much...

 7 months ago 

Your post really hits the topic. And yes, I totally agree with you that the life before is simple, safe and more fun. Compare today, we really had to struggle and be competetive just to had our dreams because people nowadays are not any longer contented.

To sum up, your entry is superb.

Aww, thank you so much ma'am. Your comment is appreciated!

You used 3310 mobile phones in the 90s. And I used 3110 mobile phone in 2000. The name of the mobile phone reminded me of this. And that phone was my favorite phone and I used this phone for a long time.

You know phones done in the 90s were of good quality and very solid. But now, phones are just so light and inferior.

Thanks for commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53