Regrets of the returned and cost averaging experience

in OCD4 years ago

With the fluctuations in the markets, familiar patterns start to arise. While I am not much of a chart analyst, I do recognize the signs on Steem with new accounts commenting poorly and old accounts beginning to post after long hiatuses. It is okay, it all adds volume to the chain - no harm, no foul.

I don't personally live a regret-filled life, but I do know that I haven't made the best choices, as well as some very good choices in a number of areas that matter. Hopefully, the value of the good outweigh the cost of the poor decisions. When it comes to Steem, I have the same track record, with good and bad mixed in together, but one thing that I consider as a one of the best calls is remaining consistent in my participation.

I see this as a type of cost averaging where one is consistently buying at various points in the hope to lower the per unit cost. For example, I bought 200 STEEM in 2017 at $1.80 on the way up to $8, and held it all the way down. However, I have also bought several thousand Steem around the 11-13 cent mark more recently. I can't do the math on all the purchases, however, my per-STEEM-cost is much lower than the highs I paid.

Not only that, my participation has of course earned me more Steem to lower costs, as well as given me the opportunity to learn much more about the cryptosphere in general, while building my various skill and knowledge areas that can be used in a general sense in my real life. I see many things of value in Steem participation and it has helped my in real life direction in career, risk taking and investment approach.

That is my experience, but I wonder for many those who have been on hiatus during the bear, whether they will have some regrets. It is easy to look at it from the perspective of the STEEM they missed out upon, but I believe that there are more important factors in play than that, especially since Steem could have been bought relatively cheaply.

They say if you are going to spend on something, spend on experience, and I wonder what kind of experiences people have had while off Steem and whether what they have done has added to their life value, or has it been filler and grind. If it doesn't make you stronger, faster, better, does it have value at all?

I believe that is something everyone on earth should reflect upon as we are incentivized by what improves us intuitively, even if we are not paying attention. This means it is easy for us to feel like we are advancing, even if we are not - much like in a game that progresses through levels doing very little of anything other than spending our most precious of resources available to us, our time.

Like the cost averaging, being consistent on Steem flattens out both the peaks and troughs of Steem experience and makes the pathway relatively smooth and far less dramatic. For me this is a good thing as I do not like the drama-queen approach to life and constantly trying to chase attention by any means necessary. Rather, I prefer the foundation building through small step processes of continual improvement, much like the Japanese kaizen philosophy toward business development.

I didn't know of the kaizen concept until very recently, but it is something that I have essentially been living all of my adult life and the name of my own business would be synonymous. Life philosophy is not read from a book, it is lived, and a life can reflect a philosophy even when the concepts are unknown. I find that those who rely too heavily on learning concepts, tend not to spend too much time living them. '

I think this is where the returned to Steem users might one day question regarding their personal processes. Will they ever have that twinge of regret for not remaining active, will they feel some envy toward those who did? These feelings are not unique to Steem, they are common parts of human experience, and how we cope with them influences our next steps, much like continuous improvements can lead to large gains, and continuous degradation to utter failure.

While I can spend my time talking about others here, it actually isn't about that at all. For me, it is a process of reflection as we can see ourselves in the behavior of others and often, we admire what we desire, and dislike what we recognize as our own. The easiest way to discover ourselves is to see ourselves in those we dislike and see what skills we could build in those we would like to be similar to. This is a risk management process where we can account for our personal weaknesses and direct our development path toward where we want to go.

While there are no certainties in life outcomes, on average, consistency will outperform erratic behavior and the trick is to make sure that attention is paid to try to ensure the processes applied lead to where we want to go. Avoidance of the difficult and hard times might feel better in the moment, but there is an opportunity cost to every action, including every inaction.

What happens when the cost of life outweighs the gain from it? From an investment perspective, that would be considered a bad investment. Every day our lives are made of thousands of investments of our time, energy and attention - some spend their more wisely than others - although all think they are making the right choice at the time. When looking at life, a long-view is needed.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Onboarding

Sort:  

I don't think any of them will regret it. They got their cash and now with the rise of a few cents are thinking haha, I will just rinse and repeat

They don't seem to realise it's all a bit different now so amusingly we might get to see some new rage quits from some old returners when they fall on their arse. :0D

The future is going to be interesting - with downvotes :D

Haha, I was thinking the very same!

I am one of these returning users. When Bitcoin and Ethereum reached their peaks in early '18, I sold slowly and was completely out of crypto until now. I recently saw several buysignals in crypto and now I am starting to accumulate more. I don't regret having cashed it out, tried to make money otherwise, made some mistakes and lost some of the money I made during 2017.
I don't regret anything, as all of this was the right decision at that certain time, even when in hindsight some weren't. I couldn't agree more on your posting, that life is sometimes how we deal with the outcomes, how we spend our time and how we work onto our goals. It's a lifesetting that can be applied to all parts of our life. I love how you have nailed it down! Thank you for it.

I think that there are many people who benefited well from the peaks, but I also think there are many people who don't have much to show for it now. This process of course happens in many ways, not just with crypto. If I could go back and just get all the money I spent on clothes I never wore more than 5 times, I would probably have a bitcoin or two worth =)

Dealing with the outcomes and our life circumstances is perhaps one of the major things that define us. Some can't admit when they are wrong, some through fits and blame others. Very few suck it up and get on with the next chapter of the book.

Welcome back and hopefully we see some more of those 2017 and up highs :)

!ENGAGE 40



@tabea you have received 40 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Besides the ability to pick up some 'cheap' Steem just by staying involved, I think these returning accounts have some new learning to do. You can see the tribes are totally lost on them. Even if they don't care about a couple of tokens, losing out the additional exposure in places where your content suits is a bit of a miss.

i agree with you...

Posted via Steemleo

And again, add something useful and you are more likely to get some replies, other than me telling you to add something useful. These kinds of comments indicate you aren't really even reading what you are commenting upon.

A very salient point.
It is interesting to think that many of the complaints were about not having filters and content buckets, and the tribes do provide this, as well as an interested audience, albeit small.

ohhh.......okay

It's only because you commanded it you see LOL. Actually I have been semi-awol myself for a few months now. My husband passed away the 29th of November and I have been in a funk since then. The fog is starting to lift now so I hope to get back to living. It's tough, though as you know after the recent passing you experienced in your own family.

Well, time to get with it :) Have a great day and I got a good belly laugh out of the 'vote me please' lmao

Oh man, I knew you hadn't been about but I am so sorry to hear that. It's very difficult I know to get past that shitey feeling you get when something bad like that happens. It is so twee but it really is only time that helps

And mindless and fun always helps too... Oh wait, did I just come up with a new Steemit marketing campaign,

Steemit, mindless and fun!

:0D

Oh I love the mindless and fun aspect!! lol

I have strapped on my hip waders and am wading through the shit piles day by day :-)

Thanks for the kind words...it means alot!

Shit waders... :0D

on what basis??just asking....

Posted via Steemleo

Hahahaha, because I command it.

well command might not always work here on this platform...lol

Posted via Steemleo

Au contraire, mon cherie... au contraire! :0p

It is his lion-y mane that brings all the votes to the yard

wow this is informative...

Posted via Steemleo

i loved the way he tried to relate life with investment...it is a wonderful writeup...

Posted via Steemleo

You said the same thing a few times yesterday too. Perhaps making your comments a little more informative people will find some value in them. =)

KEK!

While I am not much of a chart analyst, I do recognize the signs on Steem with new accounts commenting poorly...

I was noticing this as well.
How sad that this is a bullish sign for Steem.
How ironic that your top comment fits the mold.

Posted via Steemleo

It is sad, but at the same time a natural art of bandwagoning as not everyone who wants to be a star can sing in tune :)

!ENGAGE 30



@edicted you have received 30 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

wow this is informative...

wOw tHis is inforMatiVe!

Posted via Steemleo

10q

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 90000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33