Showcase-Sunday: My Kokoda Trek experience: ONE

in OCD5 years ago

What do the words COURAGE, ENDURANCE, MATESHIP and SACRIFICE mean to you? I could ask a hundred people and get a hundred different answers I think. It's not a simple question to answer for me as the words invoke passion and emotion that mean more than I could explain here.

This is the first part of a series of posts I'm doing on my 2007 Kokoda Trail experience and how it changed my life. You can see the prequel post here which will give some perspective.

Australian War Memorial - Battlefield Isurava, Kokoda Trail, Papua New Guinea, as taken by me in 2007.

A brief outline of the campaign.

In 1942 during the Second World War a series of battles were fought in Papua New Guinea between Japanese Imperial forces and Allied forces, namely us Aussies. Japan required resources to continue their war effort, resources that were readily available from the resource-rich continent of Australia. The route? Through the jungle over the Owen Stanley Range to Port Morseby and then the Australian mainland. Port Moresby was a logical jumping off point for a mainland assault.

There was only one way across the Owen Stanley's, a narrow, partly non-existent trail called the Kokoda Track (or Trail) which ran from the tiny village of Kokoda to Owers Corner a hundred kilometres away and Port Morseby. It was a brutal trek and ended up being a brutal campaign.

About 13,500 Japanese troops landed in Papua New Guinea and approximately 3,500 Australian defenders marched to meet them, and for months they strived to attack or repel an enemy intent upon victory.

Owers Corner to the village of Kokoda is approximately 100km depending on changes in the track due to flooding and terrain conditions. The Allies, almost all of them Australians, marched up to Kokoda to meet the enemy and due to overwhelming enemy numbers conducted a fighting retreat back almost to Owers Corner then back up the track pushing the enemy backwards, and finally defeating, them.


src: pacificwar.org.au

It was a brutal campaign against an expert jungle fighter, a fanatical, brave and vicious enemy who took the fight to the Australians as never before. The troops on both sides inflicted, and received, grievous wounds, dealt death and destruction and struggled to survive in the dense, virtually impenetrable jungles against all odds and for the prize of Australia in the balance.

The first troops sent to the village of Kokoda to meet the enemy were Militia, raw conscripts and volunteers peppered with a few older veterans to stiffen-up the ranks; Essentially they were rejects and conscripts, the medically unfit and those not wanted for the regular army.

The AIF (Australian Imperial Force) professional soldiers were deployed to other theatres (Middle East and others) so this was the best the Government could muster to hold back a determined Japanese force. They were sent and the hope of the nation went with them.

The AIF called them chocolate soldiers because they knew the militia would melt in the heat of battle. It was not a compliment.

Still photo above of the 39th Battalion taken from the movie Kokoda (2006) src: static.thecia.com.au

The real 39th Battalion above receiving commendation from their Commander after the terrible battle of Isurava. src: upload.wikimedia.org


Movie trailer - Kokoda (2006) which is worth a look

The battle began at Kokoda where scouts from B Company 39th Infantry Battalion made contact, were almost overrun then executed a fighting retreat. The few blokes in the patrol never knew they were facing 13,000 dedicated Japanese jungle fighters until it was too late...More about that contact later.

From there the Australians were slowly forced back towards Owers Corner over months suffering, and inflicting, hundreds of casualties and enduring unimaginable hardships.

Eventually, and due mainly to the Japanese having stretched their supply lines too far, the Australians began to push back against an extremely unfit and ailing force. They pushed to Kokoda, Buna and Gona and eventually ultimate victory.

The Aussies, now joined in Buna and Gona by a contingent of Americans, had prevailed, albeit at immense cost. Known as the Kokoda Campaign the men who fought and returned and those who had not would live in our memories and the history of this great country. Doing the Kokoda Trail has become almost a right of passage from some Australians; A personal physical challenge or a tribute to those who fought and died there...For me it was more the latter, although it was certainly a terribly difficult trek to complete from a physical and emotional standpoint.

My desire to explore and understand Australian war history and the respect I have for those who serve has led me to many Australian battlefields.

In 2007 I had an intense desire to visit the battlefield in Papua New Guinea. To walk in the footsteps of hero’s like Private Bruce Steel Kingsbury VC (Victoria Cross), Captain Samuel Victor Templeton and Corporal Charlie McCallum DCM (Distinguished Conduct Medal).

I wanted to understand what those four words above meant to those men, to learn first-hand what conditions they fought and died in. I found out, and also learned what COURAGE ENDURANCE MATESHIP and SACRIFICE meant to me.

Captain Sam Templeton (On left) 1940-July 26th 1942 (The first Australian killed in the campaign - More about Sam later) src: sunshinecoastdaily.com.au

November 5th 2007 was my step-off date. After a few months of planning and gearing up with all sorts of stuff I'd need I was to tackle the now infamous Kokoda Trail.

Bullets wouldn’t fly, bombs wouldn’t explode but The Trail holds dangers to trekkers nonetheless. It was to change my life positively. Through hardship, reflection and contemplation I emerged a different person. A better person.

The Kokoda Trail (or Track) is notorious for it's steep inclines and declines...There's no flat parts. There's many creek and river crossings, deep sucking mud, extreme humidity and heat in the day and biting cold at night...It is relentless, soul-destroying and unforgiving. I can't imagine what it must have been like in 1942, the same but with an enemy trying to kill you I guess, plus lack of sleep and food, dysentery, fear, wounds, loathing and hate.

Below is an image of me taken on November 11th 2007 (Remembrance Day) and my last day on the Trail before heading down to Kokoda down the mountains behind me. The words on the granite blocks define the spirit of the Aussie Diggers (troops) who fought and died on the trail, side by side with their mates, and with Australia at their backs.


Courage Endurance Mateship Sacrifice

In my next, and subsequent posts, I will relate some of my experiences and some more personal stories about life on the Kokoda Trail in 1942, the people, and also what it was like for me in 2007. I hope you'll come back for a read.

I urge you to investigate this piece of Australian history and learn about the sacrifices made. I cannot tell the story in a few short posts, nor am I the best person to do so even if I had the time. I hope only to share some experiences I had, photos from my own journey and draw attention to this part of Australian history.

Thank you for reading my post.


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
An original post written by a human
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

The original post was written and posted by me in late 2017. This post has been reworked and reposted for the @nonameslefttouse #showcase-sunday concept.

Sort:  

Nicely written. I feel like been teleport back to world war 2 timeline with your writing. You feel your energy drained along the trail? I think that's because of all the intense energy from war being imprint there. For an introvert/empath person that would be so emotionally and energy draining. The nature around you should have balance that though. Thank you for sharing your experience and showing us some history from your country in a not so boring way. I like history too. Especially the sacred sites. History on war sometimes draining my energy too much and I would feel tired after reading them. Have a great weekend!



@cryptokannon you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Hi there, thanks for reading. I'm glad you found my post not so boring as that was what I was aiming for.

I hope you also have a great weekend. All the best. :)

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for the tokens 😊 Looking forward to the sequel of this post
!BEER

You're welcome. I am pleased you are enjoying the posts and have taken the time to respond. Thanks for the beer, was feeling like some just then too. 😁


Hey @galenkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @cryptokannon for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

It's a tough trek; would love to do it one day.

It is tough, I can attest to that first-hand from my own experience on the Trail in 2007.

Nicely written, I was trying to understand more about #showcase-sunday, looks like @nonameslefttouse is not active these days.

Nonnames is taking a break.

#showcase-sunday allows users who have been here for a few years to showcase work from years ago. It's not suggested to repost something one has recently written. I added around 700 words to this post and reposted it to showcase it to new users.

good article My friend
but, it is difficult for me to be in this condition.
Living peacefully is a choice

I don't even know what to respond here, so I'll say nothing.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 28500 replies. Your next target is to reach 29000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Well done my friend, great post.
It must have been quite a challenge to go the distance, I read a little about the Owen Stanley mountains/trail. Such harsh climbing and hiking, you must have been in great shape at that time. What a wonderful life experience.
You should ask @thebigsweed about taking our three young sons on a weekend excursion on the Appalachian trail. I couldn't go since I was 6 months prego with our daughter, but my hubby took our boys, age, 6,9,and 10 out to rough it for three days. They had the time of their lives, but were totally done, shot, pooped when I picked them up. Cool memories that my boys, now men, still enjoy talking about.
All I can say is, can't wait to hear the rest of your story.
Oh, by the way, loved your story about your wife Faith, she is lovely.
You guys have it going on.🥰

Hey there! Thanks for reading it. Yes, I was fit then, still reasonably so now though, many years later. Not buff, just ok. 😉

I like trips like the big man went on...Nothing like a few days in the wilderness to get ones head right! Trips like that linger in ones memory, as evidenced by what you say about your lads. So valuable. I pity those who never experience it.

Thanks for your comment on Faith and I...We like to think we have it worked out...Although sometimes I'm a dumb-ass and she has to attitude adjust me. 🙈😂

Wives have the magic and hubbies have the spell.
Enjoy each other, life goes by way too fast.
I am so impressed by your obvious devotion to each other, we are rare breeds, never let it go.

That's a good way to put it, magic and spell.

Thanks for seeing through my posts that mention Faith and our relationship and into the truth of the matter. I try not to get too cloyingly sweet about it, but we go ok together and so it's difficult to hide at times.

Have a good week.

Howdy tonight sir galenkp! This is totally mesmerizing for someone interested in battles, war, tactics, etc. Super well told. I've never heard of the movie but now I gotta see it!

I'm not sure where you'll get the movie from, but it's worth a look. Thanks for your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52