ACHIEVEMENT 2 @njaywan TASK: BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem world!!!! Having joined Steem this month, I have learnt a lot on this ecosystem especially within this Newcomer's community. I have been quite consistent with my own publications without realising I missed a very vital security steps necessary to secure my account.

I would therefore like to thank the post on achievement 2 by @cryptokannon which guided me to secure my account. This made me realise that there is no way to retrieve my account if I lose my passwords.

I have therefore followed these necessary steps to adequately secure my steem account.

Snapchat-125249730.jpg

I have retrieved all my keys from the "keys and permissions" section of my wallet and copied every detail offline unto my pen drive and in a written format, kept in separate safe places within the house. Definitely wouldn't want to lose those! That is, my posting key, active key, owner key and memo key.

I know the differences between various keys as well as their uses now. The owner key is what I chose to explain first since it basically the controlling factor of all other keys. It can be used to alter other keys as well as itself.

The posting key enables me to stay posting, allows me to resteem the ones I find particular interest in, as well as vote, like and edit my posts among others.

The active key enables me to power up, power down, transfer my funds or withdraw them among other things. It also helps me to update my profile as well as make an order in the crypto market such as poloniex.

The memo key aids in the transfer of funds. I tried using it on poloniex exchange and it successfully helped me to decrypt my account.

As for my master password and keys, I have kept all completely offline and off the grid on both a pendrive as shown above, and in a written format both safe in two separate locations. This master password is the most vital and I am not sharing it with anyone.

Moreover, I can now go to my wallet and transfer steem to another account, power down to enable funds withdrawal or power up to increase my steem power, all from the wallet section.

Let me thank @cryptokannon once again, because without the post on achievement 2, I will be at risk of losing my access to steemit forever.

To the attention of @cryptokannon

#achievement2 #cryptokannon #newbie #steemexclusive

Sort:  

Thanks so much for responding to achievement 2- basic security of a steem account. You are now secure.

You may now proceed to achievement 3 - content etiquette by following the tasks guidelines in the article here

Okay, sure thing!! I'm going to get right on that

@njaywan Congratulations good job

Thank you!!

 4 years ago 

You have been upvoted by Steem Greeters from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @ steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as #theshoppinggame #thelucky10s and #thediarygame Season 2 that will start in August.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50