Achievement 3: Content etiquette on steemit

in Newcomers' Communitylast year

20230220_002141.jpg

Hello, greetings dear newcomers and friends. I'm happy once again to wrote my 3rd achievement post. After having my second achievement verified by dear friend @inpiracion.

Well I learnt that the third achievement is about content etiquette and plagiarism.

I have learnt of the kingly rule of steemit as my sister taught me, that plagiarism must be avoided in steemit.
I also know that this is right because in my school my teacher always tells me not to copy from my classmates and that I must write my own understanding on the assignment or the exam. So since I obey this rule in school, i think it will be easy for me to obey it also in steemit. O below I'll define what plagiarism means and some types of it.

What Plagiarism means

Plagiarism may literally mean to copy and paste. It means copying ideas, thoughts, or words from another person.
So plagiarism in steemit means copying what someone else wrote on his post, or copying from the internet or online.

Plagiarism can come in different forms and one of them has even surprised me. Let me tell you some of the ones I've learned:

Types of Plagiarism

As stated above, plagiarism has different forms of it. Some of them include:

  • Direct Plagiarism

Direct Plagiarism involves a copy and paste, or word for word transcription of what someone else wrote. This type of plagiarism is done without attributing the source to the owner and without putting citation marks.

  • Self plagiarism

Self plagiarism means copying ideas or exact words or rewriting articles that we have already published before. This also includes the images we have posted before. It is very wrong to do this.

  • Mosaic plagiarism

Mosaic plagiarism is done when someone borrows a phrase or phrases from another person's post without putting proper citation.
The plagiarism often paraphrases the words to make it look like it is his but this is also a form of stealing.

  • Accidental plagiarism

This type of plagiarism happens when a person borrows another person's words unintentionally or maybe he forgot to put the source of the information he borrowed. This case of plagiarism, like the others is also taken seriously and also attracts consequences.

The best way to avoid cases of plagiarism is by proper citation.

Citation

Citation is a way of telling the audience or readers that a certain information is gotten from another source. It involves putting the link source of the information you include in your post.

book-6972771_640.jpg
Image source

An example of citation method is as shown below:

Act as if what you do makes a difference. It does!~William James.

Or in the place that we write the borrowed information we can write the name of the person or put a quotation mark to indicate it.

Conclusion

This is all I have to share with you today on my achievement 3. I'm always happy when I'm able to write and get verified. Thank you guys for reading through.
And I'll see you in my next achievement post

Sort:  
 last year 

Hello
@franly

I would like to welcome you on this beautiful platform wholeheartedly.

I am the moderator of the Incredible India community

I love to welcome you to our community. As I can see you have shared some awesome photographs and our community is based on art and culture.

So it would be our pleasure to have you in our community with many more great photographs.

Our discord:- Meraindia discord link

Regards,
@piya3 (moderator)
Incredible India community

Thank you for completing the achievement 3 assignment, please complete the source in each quote so that your writing is not considered plagiarism

Hello @franly,

I am inviting you to join the following communities:

NichesCommunity
For your diary blogs and weekly contests.Steemit Philippines Community.
If you are a fashion enthusiast, food blogger, and fun lover.Channel "F" on Steem.

We are glad to have you there and support your content as much as we could. Just make sure to follow the Community rules.

Thank you.

Hi @franly

Congratulations, your achievement 3 is verified.

You can advance and complete Achievement 4

Remember to use the #Achievement4 and #(your country) tags and post from Newcomers' Community.

I invite you to follow @steemitblog so that you are aware of the latest updates.

Rate 2

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.


Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines for February
Curated by - @heriadi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50