Achievement 6 Task by @bennethade : Understanding Curation and Community.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello, excellent steemians!


curation and community.png

Time has begun to while away since I posted my achievement 5 task 4 post without being curated yet, but has been approved. It gave me a great joy discovering that my next task (achievement 6) is on curation and the likes.

I became quite joyous because I really wanted to know how curation works, how voting works, why posts are being voted, and even how the rewards are being disbursed.

According to Wikipedia, “Content curation is the process of gathering information relevant to a particular topic or area of interest, usually with the intention of adding value through the process of selecting, organizing, and looking after the items in a collection or exhibition.” This actually implies that there are a set of “services or people that implement content curation” which “are called curators.” source

Hence the word curation in the steem blockchain could simply be said as the amount of vote someone gets on his post.

So, today, I’ll be posting a text in few paragraphs how these aforementioned topics work by answering a few questions.

My Line.png

QUESTION 1. DO YOU UNDERSTAND HOW VOTING AND CURATION WORK IN STEEMIT?

With a simple answer, I’ll say ‘YES.’ Voting and curation are few of the major things that takes place on the steem blockchain. A curator is simply one who upvotes or downvotes a post. When someone makes a post, the post stays on the platform until the seventh day before reaching payout. During payout, the rewards are being shared 50-50 to both the author and the curators. That is dividing the payout into two equal halves. The amount that goes to the curator(s) is called curation reward. While the amount that is being given to the author is called ** author reward**.

image.png
Source

My Line.png

QUESTION 2. WHAT HAPPENED IF YOU VOTE A POST BEFORE 5 MINUTES MARKS AFTER POSTING?

This is a very important aspect of voting because so many people are out there making this mistake in the steem blockchain.

I would love to explain this using a tabular representation.

Time of PostCuration RewardRewards in the Pool
Before 1 Minute0%100%
At 1 Minute20%80%
At 2 Minutes40%60%
At 3 Minutes60%40%
At 4 Minute80%20%
At Exactly 5 Minutes or Later100%0%

My Line.png

QUESTION 3. WHO WILL YOU VOTE FOR STEEM WITNESS? AND WHY?

With the little time I’ve spent on steemit, I have come to fall in love with @steemchiller. I started liking him from the very first day I began using the steemworld.org platform. I’ll sincerely love to appreciate him for his great work. Keep the good work going, @steemchiller. Your work is amazing and you seem to have a great personality.

My Line.png

QUESTION 4. WHICH COMMUNITY WILL YOU JOIN IN STEEMIT, AND WHY?

A list of all the communities I’ve already joined are listed below. I loved these communities because, some of them keeps us aware on our surroundings, and what is needed to be known regarding the environment. like the Steem Geography community. Another one keeps me updated on crypto currency, the SteemitCryptoAcademy community. And with time, I’ll continue to search and join as many communities that will suite me.

My Line.png


Thanks for your time!😊
My special gratitude to @cryptokannon and @bright-obias. You guys have been really amazing to me.


My Line.png

Cc:
@focusnow
@yohan2on
@successgr.with
@sapwood
@sm-shagor

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi @bennethade,

Congratulation!

You have been successfully verified by amjadsharif, you can further proceed to the next Achievement Task.
I invite you to Complete Your Achievement Tasks

You can also apply for 500 SP Minnow Support Program if your steem power is less than 500SP.

Rate: 3

Greeter Fairy (1).gif

 3 years ago 

Wow... Thank you so much @amjadsharif. I am really grateful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57653.84
ETH 2354.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35