Achievement 6 Task by @abu78 : Understanding Curation and Community

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Greetings to all members of this great platform, it is with great pleasure that I write to accomplish my achievement task 6 today. Indeed, I am excited to accomplish all my tasks today. The journey so far hasn't been an easy task indeed, but God willing I have been able to sail through successfully.

Before I commence, I would like to acknowledge the good work of @cryptokannon for lecturing newbies on how to successfully stay on steemit platform.


image.png


yrllo.jfif

Introduction


I have read the lecture on curation and voting mana, and to say I have now understood the procedures taken by curators in voting and the rewards curators and authors get on posts. With much ado, I will like to go into today's task.


How Voting and Curation Works on steemit.


Voting and curation are interconnected because curation refers to the process of voting on quality contents or posts on steemit. People votes on quality posts on steemit platform to help distribute rewards from the reward pool. Those that initiate the votes also earn 50% of the reward that share.
The amount of distribution of rewards from the reward pool a user can distribute depends on the steem power of the user, the more steem power the more rewards you can share from the reward pool.

One's ability to vote and influence rewards depends on the voting mana that one has at the time of voting. A 2% of the voting mana is deducted when one cast 100% votes on a post. These voting mana continuously reduces until it reaches 0%. The voting mana is recharged by 20% after every 24 hours.
Anytime the Downvotes mana runs out the normal mana is taken in place of that and being utilized.


image.png
example of a post I voted on


yrllo.jfif

New users only upvotes and downvotes with 100% voting strength but once, one reaches 500 Steem Power, a slider would start to appear whenever he is to initiate any vote to decide the amount of percentage of the vote to give out and this is between 1% to 100%. A vote set below 100% will influence less on the rewards of the post.


Screenshot_1.png
My voting mana as we can see is 94.38%


yrllo.jfif

This was checked at the time of doing this task and I used https://steemscan.com/account/ to search fro that. Other tools include; https://steemdb.io/@youraccount and https://steemdb.io/@youraccount.

50% of the rewards go to the curator and 50% go to the author of the post.


yrllo.jfif

What happened if you vote for a post before 5 minutes marks after posting?


The following table briefly explains what happens clearly;

TimeRewards that go to CuratorsReward that goes to the reward pool
1 minute20%80%
2 minutes40%60%
3 minutes60%40%
4 minutes80%20%
5 minutes100%0%

yrllo.jfif

This indicates that a curator enjoys 100% of the rewards after 5 minutes of the publishing of the post.


Who will you vote for Steem Witness ? and Why?


yrllo.jfif

In steem blockchain platform, new blocks are created every 3 seconds and its creation is done by witnesses. In every 63 second round, a block is produced by 20 full-time witnesses. But there are 21 witnesses in all and the last witness that makes up to total 21 witnesses is shared by the backup witnesses. The witnesses are paid with steem power for the blocks that they create.

I would vote for @justyy and @steemchiller for steem witness.
I have chosen these two as my witnesses because they created the following exciting tools on steem blockchain and also creating blocks on steem. Indeed they are really worth my vote as my witnesses. The tools they created are https://steemyy.org/ and https://steemworld.org/ respectively.

Which community will you join in Steemit, and why?


yrllo.jfif

Communities we know on steemit refer to the platforms within steemit where one can make posts. Before one joins a community, he /she has to are by the terms and conditions of the community.

Some of the communities I have joined include the following and my reasons for joining such communities;

  1. Steem Ghana: I joined this community because I am a Ghanaian and I have to follow my country for more guidelines on steemit platform and also connect with friends.

  2. Newcomers' Community: I joined this community to have access to all my achievements tasks to help my stay on steem a success.

  3. SteemitCryptoAcademy: I joined this community because I wanted to have much knowledge about cryptocurrencies and how to trade these currencies as well.

  4. PromoSteem community: I joined this community to help promote steem to every part of the globe. Indeed currently this community is really booming and I encourage everyone to joins us here to help promote steemit to the world.

  5. World Of Football: Because of how I like football and also a die-hard fan of the Chelsea football club, I joined this community to write articles about football and its related activities.

  6. Steem Schools: I have been seeing poetry contest and other contest ongoing every week on this community and I really liked to participate in such because I am also a good poet and wanted to showcase my skills.

  7. Steemfoods: I have joined this because I am a good chef and I wanted to share my cooking skills to all and sundry on this community to the benefits of all.

Thanks to all for reading and passing by my post. I really appreciate the effort of @cryptokannon. I hope my achievement 6 task will soon be verified.
Specila thanks to @@@sarkodieeric1

Sort:  

Hello @abu78,

Congratulation👏🏻! Your "Achievement 6" task has been verified and now you may proceed with a final task which a compilation of your achievement tasks. For more details, please refer to the Final Task for Newcomers Achievement Program: Compilation of Achievements' Task post.

Attempt
Task Remark
Verification
Curators Note
Guidance, Feedback, Suggestions
1st
Completed
Done
3
You did a great great, keep it up.

Steemit is blockchain-based blogging and social networking site that pays users in STEEM cryptocurrency for posting and curating material. Do participate by making posts, commenting on other users' posts, and voting on others' posts.

We invite you to join us in Steemit Nursery Community specially created to support all the newcomers. Aside from the Steemit Nursery & Newcomers' Community, you can check the List of Steemit Communities Categorized by Their Subjects and find a community that is a good fit for you.

Remember to follow @steemitblog for the most recent updates.

Thank You!
@Ghostfacer99
Newcomers' Community: Steem Greater Healper Team

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your kind review

We are sorry that we have missed this achievement post curation windows, I have upvoted your post of (https://steemit.com/hive-108451/@abu78/homework-post-for-pelon53-or-or-hash-cryptography-etherscan-tronscan-by-abu78) for the catch up vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36