SEC-S17W2: "A review of the most special food you've eaten in your life"

in Steem For Bangladeshlast month (edited)

20240416_081545_0000.png
Edited via Canva

Introduction

There is a popular saying that a way to a man's heart is through his stomach. I couldn't agree less.
There are millions of dishes all over the world and each dish no matter how small or big has a special place in the hearts of many people who adore it.
Back in the my childhood days I remember coming back from school and perceiving the the aroma of my favourite meal, no matter how stressed or bad my day was; the aroma from that special food would cure it and reset my day to a good one.
What makes a food special? Oh many things.
I had a friend who loved indomie noodles because of how his late mom used to prepare it for him. Another loved beans because it was prepared on special occasions in his home. That is to say that it is not the food that is special but the story and events behind it.

IMG_20240415_190706_521.jpg

What is the name of the special food?

The name of my special food which turns me to joy whenever I get the chance to eat it is YAM PORRIDGE. It is a wonderful and nutritious meal prepared from yam.
IMG_20240415_190709_259.jpg
It is a food that is very rich in carbohydrate. Many people use yam for different food preparation but yam PORRIDGE stands on it own and it not a support for another meal like beans and yam.

Where did you eat this food? Or if you have a recipe, you can share it.
IMG_20240415_190751_633.jpgIMG_20240415_190745_853.jpg

Yesterday after seeing this contest I immediately went to the market to buy things to prepare this food because it is special. I can say that since the start of the year this will be my first time eating this food. I bought the Yam, spinach and some other ingredients like salt, onions, fresh pepper and palm oil.

IMG_20240415_181709_665.jpg

When I got back I sliced the yam into tiny pieces, washed them and put them inside a pot. I then added water and put the it on fire, now my best recipe to get the soft and sweet taste is to not add anything until the yam starts boiling.
Once it starts to boil I then put the crayfish, pepper and other ingredients inside except the oil and spinach. Then I allow it to cook for about 10 minutes, by this time everything is bubbling inside the pot so I put the oil and turn it slowly so it won't burn.
Finally when everything is done I bring down the pot and put and put the spinach inside so it can be very fresh and not lose it quality.

IMG_20240415_190547_310.jpg

Why is this food the most special food you eat in your life?

The reason why this food is important to me is because I live in the southern part of Nigeria, over here in the South we do not have access to yam as our northern part because their land is very fertile for the cultivation of Yam.
So yam in my part is very expensive, the yam I used yesterday to prepare this meal cost ₦1600 which is about 8 Steem.
Because of this in my house we only eat yam once in a blue moon which made it very special to me.

Another reason is because this food is the food we prepared on the night my best uncle passed away. It was high favourite meal too and we ate it together. He didn't wake up again.

And why would you encourage everyone to eat this food?

I would encourage everyone to eat this food because of the health benefits. Yam porridge is rich in vitamins, minerals, and fiber, promoting digestive health, boosting immunity, and supporting overall well-being. To get more from other classes of food you could add vegetables, meat, fish and oats to your taste.

Conclusion

One man's food is another man's poison they say. This simply means that something you love dearly could be hated or unloved by someone else and vice versa. In my case I do not like soyabean and Quaker oats bit I am sure that people love them and call it their special dish.
This also goes for my yam porridge.
With that I conclude my post on this topic. Thank you my readers for your time and I invite @irawandedy @rexzitek and @patjewell to participate in this contest.

All pictures are from my Tecno Spark 9T android phone

"Achievement 1: Verification through introduction

Sort:  
 last month 

Wow. That was a nice meal you prepared, I must confess that yam is one of my favorites and I'm it stood out to be your special food used for this contest. I stay in the southern part of the country too so I can relate that yam here are very expensive, so the meal is not easy to come, that's it's eaten once in a while in most homes. I'm sorry about your uncle's demise, it is not that it was the food that killed it was just mere coincidence that after eating the yam porridge,he passed. My condolences and best of luck to you

 last month 

Thank you my dear. I appreciate

 last month 

You're welcome

 last month 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Hi handsome
Is really nice that yam porridge is you favourite meal, I also like eating yam, but it not my best food.
You write amazingly, with your post I can see that yam has a lot of benefits, like you said yam porridge is rich in vitamins, minerals, and fiber, promoting digestive health, boosting immunity, and supporting overall well-being. To get more from other classes of food you could add vegetables, meat, fish and oats to your taste.
Best regards dear.
Wish you Lucky in this contest

 last month 

Yes yam has alot of benefits my dear.

Yam porridge is a special meal to me too. My favorite as well.

I love the way you were able to explain the steps taken to cook it.

The food looks delicious. I trust it will be enjoyable to eat.

Do keep my share for me.

Wiah you all the best in this contest.

 last month 

Thanks love. I learnt from your own dish

Greetings,

Yam porridge, a nutritious and delicious choice! It's wonderful that you associate it with joy and want to share its benefits with others. You're absolutely right about its health benefits - yam is a good source of vitamins, minerals, and fiber, making it a great choice for digestive health and immunity.

Regards,
Sitaraindaryas

 last month 

Thank you for your comment

 last month 

Glad to know about that dish. Amd I'm curious, what is it about yam porridge that you enjoy the most? Is it the flavor, the texture, or the comforting feeling it gives you? It's great that you're encouraging others to try yam porridge for its health benefits. Food can be a powerful tool for well-being, Keep spreading the joy of yam porridge!. Good luck

Regards,
Faran Nabeel

 last month 

Oh my dear it's the flavour, the taste and the memories that comes with it.

My dear friend
Yes, every type of food has its own taste, it is rich in minerals and salts.Which fulfill all kinds of deficiencies in our body.The way you choose sweet potatoes, they are also rich in nutrients.It is cultivated in different regions.You only eat this in a blue moon so it is very special to you.You mentioned the benefits of sweet potato that it contains minerals, salts and fiber which improves our digestion.
This information has been very helpful for me.It is also cultivated in different places in our country and it is also used a lot.People use more tamarind sauce in it.Keep sharing such good information.
thanks so much.
@nazi01

 last month 

Thank you for your good review
I really appreciate

 last month 

Noodles is my favourite too, I understand that some foods connects to some good memories. Your special food seems very tasty and seems very healthy too because it is rich in carbohydrates which is essential for body and this type of foods, we must offer to child because they like only yummy foods but this foods gives taste and health too so this is very yummy by its name. Thanks for sharing this food with me. I will definitely try this food at my home. I will share my review also.

 last month 

Thank you my dear
I await your review

 last month 

Sure, I will update you after having this yummy food. I will also search on YouTube how to prepare at home. You have shared such delicious food, I am thinking about it because I am foody.

 last month 

It was great to read your post and love your recipe. And you have made the recipe within a very short time. And you served the food and you gave two beautiful smiles while serving. Sharing those smiling pictures here is so nice to see.😀😀😀

 last month 

Yes it was delicious and that smile is what makes it special.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75