SEC-S6W2: I Am a Teacher | For My Daughter and Myself

in Steem For Bangladesh ‱ 2 years ago

Namaste 🙏 to all of you. I hope all is well. This is Lavanya from India.

This is my entry post for the ongoing contest I Am A Teacher by #SteemForBangladesh community.


png_20221130_061233_0000.png
Prepare Using Canva

Thank you team for conducting such a wonderful topic for this week's Steem engagement challenge needs.


Whose teacher are you? Do you teach for a living?

Having a dream of becoming a teacher is something I have held close to my heart for many years. Although I am a housewife and have completed my graduation, my dream has yet to become a reality. Instead of teaching in a classroom, I am teaching my daughter at home.

I started helping my daughter with her studies when she was in kindergarten. I wanted to make sure that she had the perfect foundation for her education, and I believe I am doing that.

I have also been aware that tutoring her at home would help her build confidence and get ahead of the other students in her class.

Every day, I spend time going over the material she learned at school and making sure she understands the concepts.

I also give her practice tests and assignments to help her better understand the material. Additionally, I challenge her to think critically and encourage her to ask questions.

As an aspiring teacher, I have found that being a teacher to my daughter has given me an opportunity to grow as an educator.


books-book-pages-read-literature-159866.jpeg.jpg
source

I have learned how to create an environment that is conducive to learning and has become more aware of how to effectively communicate learning objectives.I am also getting a better understanding of the importance of being patient and encouraging.

My daughter and I have formed a strong bond over the years because of this experience. I am grateful to have the chance to see her learn and grow.

Despite not being able to teach in a classroom, I am still able to fulfil my dream of being an educator.


What challenges have you faced as a teacher?

As a parent and teacher of my daughter, I have faced a variety of challenges while teaching her.

One of the biggest challenges is finding the balance between encouraging her to learn and pushing her too hard. I want to make sure that she understands the material, but at the same time, I don’t want to overwhelm her with too much information or stress her out.

Finding this balance is difficult, but I do my best to be patient and understanding.

Another challenge I have encountered is keeping her motivated and engaged in her studies. With all the distractions of modern life, it can be difficult to stay focused, and I have to continue to find ways to make learning more interesting and enjoyable.

I often incorporate hands-on activities and games into our lessons to keep her interested and engaged.

I have also had to find ways to manage my daughter’s time. Balancing homework, extracurricular activities, and family time can be tricky, but I have to be strict about creating and sticking to a schedule.

I also have to be mindful of not overwhelming her with too much work or too many tasks.

Overall, teaching my daughter has presented me with a variety of challenges. I do my best to remain patient and understanding while also finding new and creative ways to keep her motivated and engaged in her studies.

I also strive to find ways to manage our time effectively so that she can continue to learn and grow in a positive and healthy environment.


How do you create a learning environment that is both stimulating and supportive?

Creating a learning environment that is both stimulating and supportive for teaching my daughter is of the utmost importance.

A stimulating learning environment helps to nurture and develop my daughter’s individual skills and interests while providing her with the support and guidance she needs to reach her full potential.

The best way to create a stimulating and supportive learning environment is by providing positive reinforcement and encouragement. I strive to reward my daughter’s successes and achievements while also providing constructive criticism and guidance when needed.

I make sure that I take the time to listen to her ideas and opinions and provide her with the opportunity to express her creativity.

  • I also strive to create an environment in which my daughter is encouraged to ask questions and explore topics.
  • I provide her with a variety of resources, such as books and educational materials, to help her learn.
  • I also make sure to provide her with plenty of activities to keep her engaged and give her a chance to practise what she is learning.

Finally, I make sure to create an environment that is both safe and secure. This means ensuring that my daughter is protected from harm and that she has access to the resources she needs to succeed.

I also make sure to provide her with the guidance and support needed to help her grow and develop as an individual.

Ultimately, creating a stimulating and supportive learning environment is essential for helping my daughter reach her full potential. That's why I always try to find new ways to improve my teaching methods to her needs.


What professional development steps have pursued to improve your teaching practice?

As a parent, I am always looking for ways to improve my teaching practice when it comes to educating my daughter.

To this end, I have pursued a variety of professional development opportunities to enhance my teaching methods and better prepare her for the future.

I have taken online courses and workshops, attended seminars and conferences, and read extensively on the latest educational trends. Through this ongoing effort, I have gained a better understanding of my daughter’s learning needs as well as the different approaches I can use to help her succeed.

I have also had the chance to network with other educators and share best practices and ideas that can be used in the home environment.


pexels-photo-301920.jpeg.jpg
source

Being actively involved in my daughter’s education has also been beneficial in helping me stay up-to-date on the latest educational techniques and technologies.

I have read books and articles to stay informed on the latest advancements in teaching, and I have also made sure to keep abreast of any new educational initiatives or resources that can help my daughter learn.

Finally, I have sought out mentors and advisors who can provide me with knowledge and guidance on how to best teach my daughter. I have connected with experienced educators, educators in my field, and other professionals who have been able to offer me invaluable advice and support.

Through these connections, I have been able to gain valuable insight into the various aspects of teaching and learning that can help my daughter reach her full potential.

From this effect, both learn a new language Tamil very easily.Now My daughter, can speak, write, and read fluently. Without that much effect, it's not an easy task for us. By utilising available online resources, this task becomes very easy for us.


At present, higher education is becoming very expensive. What is your opinion on it, or is there any alternative for it?

At present, the cost of higher education is prohibitively expensive for many families. The high cost of tuition and the increasing burden of student loan debt has made it difficult for students to pursue their educational dreams, and this is a growing concern.

Those who are able to afford the cost of higher education are often left with a large amount of debt that can take years to pay off. This can have a significant impact on their financial stability and future prospects.

The current state of higher education costs is unsustainable and needs to be addressed in order to ensure that all students have access to a quality education.

There are a few potential solutions that could help reduce the cost of higher education and make it more accessible.

The first solution is to increase funding for public universities and colleges. This could help reduce tuition costs, making higher education more affordable.

Additionally, government grants and scholarships could be increased to help students who are unable to pay for higher education.

Another solution is to increase the availability of online education. Online education is often less expensive and can provide students with the same quality of education as a traditional college.


pexels-photo-1595385.jpeg.jpg
source

Online education also allows students to study at their own pace and save money on living expenses.

Finally, governments could provide incentives to employers to encourage them to support employees who are pursuing higher education. Companies could provide tuition reimbursement or loan forgiveness programmes to help employees pay for school.

This could help reduce the amount of student loan debt that is incurred and make higher education more accessible. Ultimately, the cost of higher education needs to be addressed in order to ensure that all students have access to a quality education.

By implementing some of the solutions outlined above, governments, universities, and employers can work together to make higher education more accessible and affordable.

But it's not possible to fully fill, until the government takes steps regarding it.


Conclusion

Although my dream of becoming a teacher was not possible, I have been able to fulfil it in a roundabout way by teaching my daughter.

I have enjoyed teaching my daughter the same way I imagined teaching my own students. I have been able to help her learn new things, grow her confidence, and even challenge her to reach her highest potential. Seeing her progress and success has been a great reward and has given me a sense of pride and accomplishment.


I would like to invite my friends to participate in this amazing contest: @shohana1, @simonnwigwe, @chiabertrand, and @harferri.


Thank you so much for reading my article!

Sort:  

Bless day my friend 🙏

It is good that you are having a very special and beautiful connection with your daughter.

All parents should ensure the education of our children and reinforce their knowledge at home. It is important to motivate them as you do through creative practices, thus stimulating the desire to learn.

Children are like sponges that quickly absorb knowledge in any area, especially related to language, mathematics, art, among others.

We learn many things with our children, we just have to give them love for studies.

All nations must give importance to education and provide people with the right to study, investing financial resources for it.

Excellent content.
Thank you very much for sharing.
Best regards đŸŒș

Thanks for lovely feed back my friend.

 2 years ago 

Hello, Lavanya, you are not only a teacher to your daughter but also for the steemians in this platform. I greatly appreciate the lessons you have taught us on this platform.
We are our children's first teachers because we are their mothers. Over the years, they picked up everything—both good and terrible. Giving her a more comprehensive education at home will therefore make it easier for her to complete her schoolwork. Good luck for the contest.

Thanks for amazing feedback dear.

 2 years ago 

You are welcome.

 2 years ago 

Wow you had written an good thing about I am teacher, the important thing is that your an teacher and also an parent for your daughter. I know that it is very difficult to maintain all those things. Because I had also maintain this situation for only one month for my sisters daughter. Sometimes she ask some simple question I know the answer for it but it is difficult to explain to him.đŸ„ČđŸ„Č Keep doing your job and also you had mentioned that now your daughter can read write and speak tamil as very well it was an good one. Thanks for sharing your part with us â˜șïžđŸ’“

Thanks for lovely feedback my friend.

 2 years ago 

The mother is the first school for her son and daughter. The more qualified a mother is, the more qualified the next generation will be. I enjoy reading this post. May your daughter become someone who is successful and proud in the future. Good luck for the contest dear.
đŸ„°đŸ„°đŸ„°

Thank you very much for your lovely feed back.

 2 years ago 

You are welcome
đŸ„°đŸ„°đŸ„°

 2 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the invitation mam, you have written greatly on the topic under consideration. You are indeed a teacher. I have also presented my entry in the contest. I wish you success in the contest mam.

Thank you my friend.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for participating in the steemit engagement challenge. Wishing you success in this competition. Be sure to share your valuable feedback on other contest entries. Which helps you win. I wish you success in this competition.

CategoryRemarkScore
Verified User✅1/1
#steemexlusive✅1/1
Plagiarism Free✅1/1
Bot Free✅1/1
Club status✅1.5/2
Quality Content2/2
Markdown Style1.5/2
Total9
CategoryRemark
Support #burnsteem25❌
Voting CSI15.7
Period (Club Status)30/11/22 (75)
Transfer to Vesting1,261.000 STEEM
Cash Out20 STEEM

Thanks for review.

Indeed, a mother is definitely a teacher for her son.Thanks for sharing this great blog.

Thank you my friend.

My twitter share link

Screenshot_20221130-100152_Twitter.jpg

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41