Choices? Let's talk about Sheep

in Steem For Ladies4 months ago


Sheep.jpg


+550 words about sheep.

Why sheep? Is it because I am surrounded by hundreds of them and they make our lives miserable because of all those stable flies they attract? Flies eating us alive and giving me and my dogs a hard time being outside and enjoying our garden? Or is it because I pity them (the owner, who is smart enough not to live around here doesn't care about them)?

Most sheep are ladies and why they are kept is a mystery to me. It's not because of the meat, not for their skin/wool because over two if not three years the sheepskins are piled up in front of my gate so it must be for a different reason. My guess is it's their poop next to selling one once in a while which is the only reason for the farmer to show up (collecting the money).

The sheep aren't very healthy but it feels as if they give birth the entire year. A part of them is ill and walks on their knees (it's a disease) but no vet comes over to check on them. Dead is dead and dead animals are fed to the dogs or dumped in the bushes. The cadaver service is never called since no money is spent on services like these. For sure some stray dogs (dumped over here it's what the countryside is good for people dumping their pets and bags with garbage) eat from the cadavers or find a bone just like one of my dogs who made a hobby out of collecting them and piling them up at my front door unless he decides to bury it.

35a3d232-caff-46b9-8fcb-03214be2af8c.jpgsource An unrealistic picture

If a sheep is on its back it blows up due to the gasses in its stomach one of the negative problems of being a herbivore. If a sheep can't turn around and get back on its feet by itself it dies. Trust me turning around a sheep is heavy and I climbed several fences to rescue one. Farmers rarely are around if something happens to their cattle.
Besides rescuing sheep I also delivered lambs if the sheep was not able to do it herself. With your arm inside a sheep is quite an experience (and warm if it's winter).

During my travel to England, I visited The Seven Sisters Sheep Centre which was a great experience back then plus the sheep looked way healthier than my neighbours over here. Such a pity it closed in 2016.

Sheepskin is great so why it's wasted I don't know. Sheep wool is also warmer and more natural than all the synthetic yarn we use today. It would be good if we go back to using the natural or if you like biological products again.

At least twice a day I can observe the herd pass by. Those who believe sheep are stupid are wrong. Not each one follows number one or lets herself be commanded by a dog. There are always a handful who ignore the rest and do as they like. They escape, go left if the rest go to the right and know where to find the greenest more juicy grass (indeed it's in front of my gate). I noticed if it comes to these sheep they even frustrate the dog and the result is he lets them be. I bet these sheep are laughing and doing it on purpose just like you can see in the film 'Babe'. Those sheep walking out I like most of all because they show character. They aren't afraid to leave the group and discover the world at their own tempo.

Sheep are good for counting if you can't fall asleep they say. If that's true depends on who you are. Mr Bean will most likely not agree.

If it comes to smart sheep, creative ones, Shaun the sheep comes to mind. I am a big fan of this sheep (a plus is it doesn't give me stable flies) and like any child, I love each episode (just like I do with Wallace and Gromit) an extra plus is the creative way the figures are made. Imagine how much work that must be and the fun it brings.

Being called a sheep isn't positive and neither is being one of my sheep neighbours but just like the short film For the Birds I lately talked about, which makes me laugh out loud, there's a short film about a sheep that I really enjoy and is good for the mood! If you feel down and need a quick positive push into the right direction I recommend to watch it.


Boundin' (2003) shown in cinema before the film 'The Incredibles' - this video should be watched on YouTube, click the link


Header: Canva 
Photo header: pixabay.com
Videos: YouTube
11-3-2024
I am a mobile phone user only

Source photo Header

PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

#steemexclusive #choices #club5050 #creativewriting #kittywu #holland

Posted using SteemPro Mobile