Tell your story5(how a simple act of kindness can help a lot)

in Steem For Ladies2 months ago

On Tuesday I was walking home with my baby on my back after work hours (I'm a teacher by profession), I saw an old woman trying to cross the road. She was moving really slowly and cars and bikes were honking. I really felt bad seeing her like that, the first thing that crossed my mind was 'why can't you people be patient knowing that an old woman is crossing the road.


I quickly went over to help her cross, getting closer to her the face seemed familiar to me and I was trying to place the face and also help her cross. I got closer to her and asked her to let me help her, she agreed and I helped her to the other side. As we got there she thanked me and said no one tried to help her though she asked so many people. It was as she spoke I recalled her face and voice, she was the one that bathed my son for the first time before my mother in law came and I usually go to her place to assist her(mostly to help her process her cassava into pupuru - this is a yoruba swallow gotten from cassava).

I described and explained myself to her and she remembered me, mama (she isn't my mother but I calm her mama because she acted like one) too was happy to see me as I was to see her. I took the bag she was holding and helped her get to her place safely, on getting there I helped her do some cleaning as her grandchildren don't come around like they used to. Mama was really happy and kept thanking and blessing me, I was very happy that I finally saw her after years had passed.


https://pixabay.com/photos/buildings-pedestrian-crossing-city-1838418/
This experience taught me the importance of helping people, especially the elderly ones. It reminded me that a simple act of kindness can make someone's day much better. I felt really good helping mama out, after leaving that day I promised myself that I'll always try to help people out no matter the little way I can.

Image is mine except stated otherwise

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Welcome to Steem For Ladies! 💕
We trust that you will enjoy posting in our community and await your newcomers certification.

Here is some newcomer posts that will help you with your Steemit road.
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@the-gorilla/newcomers-certification
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@the-gorilla/new-to-steemit-start-here
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@the-gorilla/steemit-communities-join-now

Tips:

  1. You can use the tag #newcomer for the first three months. This will help curators to pick up your post.
  2. Always look at the pinned posts of a community for important posts and contest. For example we have a DIY contest under which you can enter your art projects. Of importance, always make sure that you follow ALL the rules of a contest.
  3. Entering contest is a great way to build your account and if a rule states you must be following a club your #newcomer tag will often allow you to enter.

Good luck!

 2 months ago 

Thanks for the tips.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61180.86
ETH 2456.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57