Choices! What will it be? #52

in Steem For Ladies3 months ago

Hello everyone,
It's your favorite Steemian @rakiya from Nigeria and I'm delighted to join in this contest organized by @patjewell in this noble community today. It's a wonderful contest and I love to share my participation in it.

soldier-2615176_1280.jpg
Source

In this contest today, we are given 5 items to choose from and then write in detail about them it is indeed a great privilege to be among those choosing and making my choice.

Everyone in life can make a choice and that is the reason why this contest is outstanding among others I have seen recently. I remember in the scriptures the Bible said that God gave them the chance to choose.

So anything we do in life, the choices we make matter a lot. Today among the list of items presented I would like to choose one out of them and then write my reason for making that choice that doesn't mean the others are not good but as I have said earlier everyone has a choice.

I chose a soldier 🪖 from the list provided and I will write all I know about a soldier and the reason why I have selected it from the list given in the contest.

A soldier is a person whose primary duty is to defend the country from any external body i.e. a soldier is meant to defend their country against terrorism and any country coming into it for troubles or war.

I'm a Nigerian and from history, Nigerian soldiers have been part of those keeping peace in Africa. I'm delighted to say that I have an uncle who is a soldier and for that reason, I know a lot about being a soldier.

So let's start with how can one become a soldier. Here in Nigeria, we have two ways in which you can become a soldier and one of the ways is by going to deport i.e. where soldiers are being trained, or by going to NDA a school also where soldiers are trained in various professions such as medicals, engineering, etc.

So to go to NDA, the requirement is that you must be 18 years to 22 years old and you must have obtained your O'level certificate with a minimum of 5 credits including English language and Mathematics.

The deport training takes 6 months. So if you have the requirements, you will apply online, and then if you get shortlisted you will attend the physical screening and after that, you will then proceed to deport for the training.

army-2540213_1280.jpg
Source

On the other hand, if you are to get to NDA, the requirements are the same but here you will have to be in the school for 4 years before coming out as a soldier. Those who go through the deport are called recruits whereas those who go through NDA are called officers.

Immediately after the training, all soldiers will be deployed to their various units which is the barracks where they will serve the country by going for peacekeeping in areas where there is a crisis and also maintain peace and others in the area where they find themselves.

There are different ranks associated with soldiers though I may not know them all as I said they are of different categories so the recruit category always gives respect to the officers category and their salary too is higher.

The number of recruits is much higher than the number of officers. This is why you have fewer officers and more recruits in the army. So when going for a mission you will hear that a team has a 20 by 1 which means that they have 20 recruits in the team and 1 officer.

Soldiers especially in Nigeria have faced a lot at the hands of terrorists, especially in recent times here in Nigeria. We have heard that Boko Haram has been the nightmare of Nigerian soldiers over the past few years.

So that is all I want to say about a soldier 🪖 and my explanation today is based on the experience and knowledge I have about my country's soldiers. I hope you have learned from me about who a soldier is and his or her duty to the country.

I want to invite @jasminemary and @dave-hanny to join the contest also.

Sort:  
 3 months ago 

Hello @rakiya
It was honestly a pleasure to read you and I learned about Nigerian soldiers.
I don't like armies or wars, well I don't think anyone likes war. But seeing it as an institution of the country, they are very important precisely because they act in the defense of the national territory, and fight against terrorists; That is why it is important to prepare as a soldier.
Good choice. You know a lot about this topic!
A big greeting.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 3 months ago 
Club Status#Club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI[ 0 ]
Steemladies10%
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman
Word count625
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating…..

Your choice is the toughest of profession I have seen so far. Soldiers are there to do the most tedious job for a country,I just feel sometimes they are not been taken care of that is why in Nigeria, they stilll stand on the streets to beg for money.

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

 3 months ago 

Thank you for the review. Yes, the work of a soldier is a tedious one and they should be taken proper care of all the time.

 3 months ago 

When I read your piece, I learned more about soldiers. When it comes to escape from the LTTE, forces in my nation do excellently. Good luck in the contest.

 3 months ago 

It is because of the soldiers that we can sleep peacefully at night and step out of our houses with confidence. We know that we are safe and it is only because of the soldiers that they guard the borders of the country so that we can all remain safe. They put their lives at stake so that we can all remain safe. Soldiers are the pride of our country. We should all be very proud of our soldiers.

 3 months ago 

Truly dear, your post is so amazing and insteresting dear.Soldiers especially in Nigeria have faced a lot at the hands of terrorists, especially in recent times here in Nigeria ,best regards dear.

You choose soldier for article , it is really impressive topic. Soldier serve the nation by their services. Soldiers are really valuable assets of every country.
Best of luck

 3 months ago 

Thank you

You are always welcome

 3 months ago 

Thank you for taking part in this week's contest.
It is true that we all get to make choices in life. I am just glad that I did not make the choice to become a soldier. It takes a very special person to be one.
Good luck with the contest!

 3 months ago 

Congratulations!
Your post is nominated by Steem For Ladies for booming vote as a contest winner.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.
"Only posts that are original, adhere to the rules, and are not cross-posted are nominated. If approved, you will receive an upvote within the next few days."

Good luck!
@patjewell

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61375.54
ETH 3383.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49