Week #56 Begins👉Let's do it...Do It Yourself// cooking of jollof rice in an African way

in Steem For Ladiesyesterday

IMG_20240829_105451_977.jpg

Hello friends, my name remain @mesola, today I will love to share with us some few steps on how to cook jollof

Screenshot_20240912-111705.jpg

Jollof rice is a very known and popular rice all over the West African dish which is being loved and cherish by a lot of people across the globe. It is a rice which is flavorful and colorful dish and it is okay for any occasion, either it is a family gathering or a special celebration like birthday party, wedding or burial. One of the good ways to enjoy your jollof rice is by preparing it with a fried chicken, providing a delicious and satisfying meal, though some people use fish.

In order to cook jollof rice with fried chicken, you will need the following ingredients:

Ingredients for the jollof rice:

  • long grain parboiled rice
  • tin and fresh tomato paste
  • onions
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • ginger and garlic, minced
  • red bell pepper
  • jellof rice local spice
  • bare leaf

ingredients For the fried chicken:

IMG_20240829_090106_110.jpg

  • pieces of chicken,
  • teaspoon of garlic powder
  • onion
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Vegetable oil for frying

Below are the step-by-step method in cooking jollof rice with the use of fried chicken:

Screenshot_20240912-104743.jpg

The first thing I did was to set my firewood, I love using firewood when I am cooking jellof rice because I was to perceive that sweet smoke.

Then I wash my chicken Start by steaming the chicken pieces with the use of garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. Let it steam for about 30 minutes to allow the flavors to enter the meat.

IMG_20240829_093548_906.jpg

The next thing I did was to heat the vegetable oil in a deep frying pan over a medium heat. Put the chicken in the flour but as for me I didn't use flour , ensure that they are well coated.
After heating the oil I fry the chicken pieces in the hot oil til it is golden brown in colour and also crispy, let it be in the for about 10-15 minutes per batch. Remove the chicken from the oil and put it inside a shifter to drain the oil.

Screenshot_20240912-112121.jpg

When I was done frying the chicken I make use of the oil, so In a different pot, i heat some amount oil and mix the onions, garlic, peppers until it has a good aroma.

Then I add my fresh tomato paste and tin tomato paste, then add my local spice that is made of garlic, ginger and some local spice to the pot and allow it to cook for a few minutes until the mixture is being thickens.

IMG_20240829_101427_893.jpg

IMG_20240829_094216_181.jpg

After cooking the sauce I have to parboil my rice, so in this case I use long grain rice.

So I use hot water to wash the rice then put it in the pot to boil, then after some minutes I brought it down and wash it twice, I don't like seeing sand in my food.

At this point I was very careful so that not even a drop of sand can drop on it.

IMG_20240829_091009_173.jpg

IMG_20240829_094212_543.jpg

After parboiling the I have to add the parboiled rice to the pot and turn it in order to mix it with the tomato mixture. Pour in the chicken sauce, season with salt and pepper, and let it boil.
In the aspect of salt, in my family in short, I personally I don't eat salt because of my health and if I must eat, it will be very little,

IMG_20240829_102242_7.jpg

When I was done I reduce the heat to be at a low temperature, cover the pot with it cover, and let the rice cook for about 20-25 minutes or till it cooked properly.

IMG_20240829_105027_308.jpg

Lastly when the rice was cooked, I scope it with a spoon and serve it in combination with the crispy fried chicken.

Jollof rice with fried chicken is a sweet and delicious and also eye catching meal which is sure to satisfy your cravings. It is a good meal to enjoy with your family and friends.

IMG_20240829_105438_052.jpg

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

@tipu curate

;) Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

 23 hours ago 
Club Status#no club
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI12.3
Steemladies0%
Burnsteem250%
AI contentHuman
Word count360
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in this contest. Oh this food is yummy! I love rice and chicken and day! …..

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. Vote here

 17 hours ago 

Very good recipe I saw your post you have presented a very good and beautiful recipe and you have presented each recipe with description very nice to see it is a popular dish and will be a very popular dish as there are variety of masalas and easy additions. It definitely tastes more like you said and looks very tempting a little food makes you want but very good I will try to make this kind of food at home with my own spices hope it will be good good luck to you

 16 hours ago 

Thank you very much my friend, I really appreciate your comment.

 9 hours ago 

Your recipe is very good. The method of your presentation is also very good. Your step by step procedure is very informative. You add different types of spices and ingredients I am sure that it has a delicious taste. It looks yummy. I also like to eat chicken rice. I must try this recipe. Warm wishes for you.
Stay blessed.

 8 hours ago 

Thank you my friend, it was so delicious and we all enjoyed it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45