The last day of the year 2019.steemCreated with Sketch.

in CCC5 years ago

December 31, 2019, is the last day of the year to most of us.

The Chinese New Year will start 24 years later.The year was not easy on me but I am still around and even set targets. If I schedule them I find a way to achieve most of it.

The last day of the year is not about achievements only.
It is the day in the year we eat oliebollen and appelflappen, huge amounts of them.

There was a time people fried them themselves. You could find people frying outside or in their shed on this day. Some started a bit earlier.

For many years a grandmother fried them.
As we arrived at her house buckets filled with oliebollen and apple flapper waited for us. It didn't matter if we ate 30 each. It was allowed and we all were slim, no one counted calories.

20191231_124617.jpg
It is gonna be a long day.
I woke up at 3 am started drinking and replying to comments. I am behind but at this moment there is nothing I can do about it. After that, I wrote my 31 sentences for the #31sentencecontest

  • A matter of justice.
    I intended to write something else but as I woke up I thought about the young man I saw yesterday in the shop.

The day started cold, no wind and from 10 am on we ended from a dark cloud into the fog.
This is gonna be a grey day. If you like to lite your firework in this fog it will be difficult.

We had our hunt for oliebollen from about 12:30 pm on.
There was nothing in "Elten". It is a grey village that not had even one tiny sign of Christmas decoration. The gas (petrol) price therefore rose again.

We drove to "Beek" another village and had a look at the oliebollen-stall over there. It was in front of a supermarket and looked a bit strange. I think this one is meant for fish or chips.

Nothing for sale so we went into the supermarket.
They sold some (bought at that oliebollen-stall for sure) and raised the price with 20 cents.

Our next stop was in "Dieren" at a supermarket named Jumbo.
Too late. They only had some left from a fabric, palm fat included. They didn't look very tasty.

At the next supermarket, Lidl, there were no left either.

On to the oliebollen-stall of the bakery.
They were closing down, there was nothing left for sale. The lady directed us to two others.

We found one and at least they were baking.
I bought some real appelflappen, the way my granny made them, and some oliebollen.

The oliebollen sold by Aldi supermarket.
They have plenty of them left but I will not buy them. This is not an oliebol. Some might not care or can not remember the good old days or how they should taste but I do.

At another supermarket, Coop,they had two kinds left.
A cheap version that looked strange and and freshly baked in the oven by them. Oven? An "oliebol" (oil ball) is fried in oil not baked in the oven.

It is 2 pm if I am back home and found some to test.
It gives the children something to do too.
I bought some cheese and a small salmon salad (potatoes, salmon, mayonnaise) for not too much money (2 euro). We are small eaters.

Whole day on I heared firework but it is mainly loud nothing great to see. I wonder why people start so early. I guess they have many ghosts to scare away.

This afternoon I found it hard to spend time on Steem.

I hung around and noticed two heaters are broke. Tomorrow I send an email to the owner.

We eat for many reasons. If it comes to it seldom because we are hungry.

I finally was able to have a look at beta.steemit.com.
In the past weeks it only partly loaded.
To be honest I do not see the benefit of the communities and the numbers. For outsiders, those who use something else as steemit.com to post, it will be very hard to figure out which community is meant by hive-xxxxx. This besides of the fact communities already exist and I noticed there are communities made which are no communities at all.

Since it is not Januar 1st yet and I want the community CCC give a chance I paid the fee asked. Let's see how to win that back by joining contests. One of my targets for 2020 is to double my SP so I will save from tomorrow on you are warned.

Other posts:

We have had our oliebollentest.

It was our lunch and dinner.
The ones bought at the stall baking were definitely the best but not as good as others I had in my life.
Second best were those bought in "Beek" (very fat) and number 3 is the oven-oliebol sold by Coop supermarket although it has way more in common with bread.
For sure it will be better as those cheaper variants I did not buy.

The best memory and most tasteful are those my granny fried.
and tasty were those I bought in Arnhem, two years ago at a different stall in Dieren and in front of Airport Eindhoven.

We did not ate the salad today.
I feel stuffed and so does the rest of the family. We can eat it tomorrow or in two or three days. It won't get spoiled.

_I made it till after midnight. We had a bottle of sparkling apple juice (children's champaign) and it was quiet for some time outside.
A big bang came as I was in bed. I hope no one threw firework underneath my car.

The end of the day, the end of the year and who knows of my diary days too.

A friend intends to join me if it comes to achievements. She will make a plan and we will keep each other updated weekly. My guess it will be only me doing so.

This is my entry to @qurator's Tasy Tuesday. You can share your food related posts.

My Diary Days

Diary Day #1 - Sept. 13, 2019
A day full of surprises

Diary Day #8 - Sept. 20, 2019
Finally Friday

Diary Day #15 - Sept. 27, 2019
Finally Friday

Diary Day #22 - October 4, 2019
Gaining weight Day

Diary Day #29 - October 11, 2019
A bright Friday

Diary Day #36 - October 18, 2019
How to hang in.

Diary Day #43 - October 24, 2019
Editing on

Diary Day #50 - November 1, 2019
All Saints Day

Diary Day #57 - November 8, 2019
NaNoWriMo goes on.

Diary Day #64 - November 15, 2019
Lack of writing = writer's dip

Diary Day #71 - November 22, 2019
A short one.

Diary Day #78 - #WednesdayQuickie
Poverty (En) / Armut (En)

Diary Day #85 - December 7, 2019
An ordinary dizzy day.

Diary Day #92 - December 14, 2019
Greed, rich and no need to be generous

Diary Day #99 - December 22, 2019
So it is nearly Christmas huh?

Diary Day #106 - December 29, 2019
How it ends.

Diary Day #107 - December 30, 2019
A piece of cake

CCC uses the community tag #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @wakeupkitty! You have received 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @davidke20
Subscribe and increase the reward for @wakeupkitty :) | For investors.

Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

BDvoter Team

 5 years ago 

Yo no entiendo esto de la escritura en beta, o de la comunidad en beta. La colmena. Estoy muy desinformada al respecto.

I don't understand this about writing in beta, or the community in beta. Beehive. I am very uninformed about it.

The old site is
www.steemit.com
Steemit works on a new site, new things comming up. That new site you can see and post on via www.beta.steemit.com

 5 years ago 

Pero puedo escribir desde aquí mismo, solo cambiar la etiqueta a colmena?

sí tu puedes.

 5 years ago 

Gracias amiga.!!

 5 years ago 

Interesting looking snacks. Are they like doughnuts? What is the celebration that you eat them on the last day of the year?

Posted using Partiko iOS

A bit like doughnuts but better.
I am not a fan of doughnuts.
They say this was first the doughnuts was invented by this idea.

Since they say the Netherlands is based on the jewish orthodox religion I guess this fried ball is a part of the old Hanukkah food. In the last week of the year you will find stalls selling them with us.
We eat them on New Year's eve. That is the celebration. There are no other ideas behind it. It just became a custom.

I love baked sweet potatoes, if that is what is in the picture.

thanks for sharing your post.

No what you see is a fried ball of dough. It can be filled with apple and raisins too or they cut them half and fill it with pudding. This is sweet food, the food we eat on New Year's Eve and day.

Oh my, just as good, as we stuff apples, strawberries, and peaches in dough to make fritters. mix in cinnamon/nutmeg. So delicious. better if you make them yourself. expensive if you buy them.

I guess it is something like that and I totally agree. Just fried they are so good and bought very expensive and seldom the way they should be. 💕

 5 years ago 

We stopped by to give you a great start in the new year with an upvote @team-ccc.

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46