Knowing English for Travel | It Makes Life Easy

in Steemit Travel10 months ago
As my dear friend @alegnita says "It's impossible not knowing about English so let me tell you about my views on this important topic. Any of you interested to join this contest @senehasa, @josevas217 and @waqarahmadshah

Come join me here-

My opinion about the importance of the English language to get involved with people from other countries and cultures.

  
I agree that English is an international language that one should learn if he wants to travel abroad or is looking for a better career.


airport-3511342_1280.jpg
Image edited

So I think whatever your personal reasons are, it is almost necessary for you to learn a new language. Especially if you are going abroad, whether for a few days or permanently, learning English along with the local language should help you.

I personally believe that no matter which country you are going to, the best way is to learn the local language, but if you know English, your problems will be solved to a great extent.

I can tell from my personal experience that when I lived in Sydney, despite knowing English well, about 40% of the things used to go over my head. For this reason, I made an effort to learn Australian slang.

In fact, if you are looking to learn a language, English is the best option besides the local language. If you decide to go to a foreign country for your next vacation, you should consider learning more than just the basics. Knowing English makes your work easier.

My current level of this international language, and if I am taking practical actions to improve it?

  
I am currently in India but have been living in Australia for about 11 years. I have a project job, and many of my close relatives and friends live in Australia. I've known English since childhood, but Australian English was not easy, that's for sure! But one thing that made my life easier was learning their slang words. I am not yet 100% perfect, but I understand them. Incidentally, I don't face this problem when talking to Americans or British.

My mother tongue? Yes, I know how important it is to have a successful trip, especially abroad. Let me explain to you why.

  
In India, we have more than one thousand languages, and these languages change in almost every state. So if I say my mother tongue is Punjabi, I am not exactly correct in that. My father used to speak a different language and lived in a state where Hindi was the main language, but it was not perfect and another dialect was mixed with it.

However, we were taught three languages in our school, and English was one of them. But as we all know, learning a language from books is different as we get it mixed with our own language, and the use of idioms is not as perfect as that of the one who speaks it as his first language. However, I don't care as long as you can express your views and put them through.

But once again, my college and marketing job helped me reach nearly as far as I managed to handle foreigners who speak English as their first language. But as I said, Australians speak a different English language, and they accept it too. Too many slang words.

Benefits of Learning a Foreign Language for Travel

  
Obviously, no one likes to face problems. However, we will be in trouble when we leave our country if we are not prepared. If you know the English language, then knowledge of this language can save you from trouble.

You want to learn more about the language you're learning and decide to visit a country where it's the native language. How can you take advantage of the situation? Learn the culture of the language. In learning a language, you have to understand the grammar and the culture of that language.

Living in Australia and experiencing firsthand everything it has to offer has not only improved my language skills but also enabled me to grow in a new culture. By understanding this new culture, your outlook changes, and you become a little more tolerant.

For example, do you know that my language, Punjabi, sounds more romantic than English, but if I express my romance in Punjabi, then who will understand it here?

Knowing a foreign language will allow you to visit websites that are available in English. It is important to learn a foreign language before traveling, and English is understood in almost every country.

Which foreign language would I love to learn?

  
No, none of these I am not interested in Chinese, Russian, or German. I know a little Arabic, though, and I have Spanish in my mind. I started learning Spanish last year as it has a number of similar words, but Gosh, it's really too hard to learn, especially the pronunciation, which left me dazzled. I thought I could speak it well but when I heard my recorded voice, I gave up the idea.

Aunque no me importará decir "te amo"

Beneficiary @hive-163291

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

¡Jajaja! Escribiste perfectamente la última frase.😃 I can feel fortunate to already have Spanish as mother language because the nature of difficult to learn it in fact. No idea about the thousand of them in India, although is not strange due to the huge population as in China, it differs a lot from a region to another. And about Australian english... OMG, each country has its own structure of English based on certain words with slanging origin and this can make hard to easily understand at first sight, I hope to be prepared when I get the occasion to see kangaroos or koalas. 🦘 🐨 Really loved to read you in this opportunity. It's a very detailed text and learned something 🆕

Gracias por participar amigo; 👍🏼 Buena Suerte🤞🏼

 10 months ago 

Gracias por leer mi última oración primero. That's right, come prepared to Australian English when you come to Australia because it can baffle you and you might take the wrong meaning of right or vice versa 😄😄In case someone says 'Come have a cuppa', that means he is inviting you for a tea date.
Thanks for reading and for your nice words.

 10 months ago 

Cuppa? Ohhhhhhhh.... I think it's hard to find this in any ordinary dictionary, I'm sure 😄

 10 months ago (edited)

No it is available in dictionaries but when an Australian says that, it means a little different

https://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/cuppa

According to the Census of India of 2001, India has 122 major languages and 1599 other languages. However, figures from other sources vary, primarily due to differences in definition of the terms "language" and "dialect".

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Languages_of_India

 10 months ago 

Wow. Só Great.👍🏼 Useful information you provided to this post. Thank you so much friend. By the way, take a careful look on the following post:

https://steemit.com/hive-163291/@alegnita/let-s-spread-steemit-in-twitter-why-we-should-doing-promotion-and-how-to-do-it

You've to answer yourself the Twitter link here in order to get registered by the bot provided in the SA channel at Discord. Thanks in advance. 😊

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by @disconnect at 05%.

 10 months ago 

Thank you @disconnect 😊

I can confirm that I have managed well with English in many corners of the world. Nevertheless, I prefer to learn some basic phrases of the respective national language, also out of politeness and respect for the locals...

By the way, the country where English was the least helpful, according to my memory, is Poland...

 10 months ago 

I have faced this in different countries including rural India. But yes, I try to learn the basic phrases of a non-English speaking country so I don't die hungry especially as I am a vegetarian. I faced this problem in China before android made life easy.

 10 months ago 

Hola amigo @dove11, muchas gracias por la mención.
En este aspecto del idioma, sin duda alguna que debo decir que aún cuando mi dominio del inglés es básico, se siente bien poder entender a quienes hablan en ese idioma (la mayor parte del tiempo) así como poder expresar mis ideas.
He podido hablar con algunas personas de la plataforma ppr el uso del inglés como idioma y eso es muy agradable.
El inglés australiana, oh si, es basta te complejo, puedo decir que es el que menos entienso, a difdrencia del británico y seguido del estadounidense.
Domina usted varios idiomas, seguro que el español también podrá dominarlo, solo es cuestión de tiempo, se que no es un idioma fácil, pero podría darle mas opciones profesionales, supongo.
Saludos.

 10 months ago 

Thanks for accepting my invitation 👍I know you are too busy and more so as you have won the 11th Weekly Challenge, congratulations. I know you're a multitalented guy who can speak English well and probably dis a course for that.
Yes, I can speak several languages but just because I was In contact with people who spoke those languages besides it had similarities. I tried my best to learn Spanish but it needed time and there was no one to practice with. I am about to go back, so if I get time, I will try it once again. Thank you once again.

 10 months ago 

You have the advantage of being able to communicate in multiple languages. The English language shrinks the world. As a result, learning English is essential for anyone. I have no prior experience traveling to other countries, but I have heard that knowing English is essential when traveling because all documents must be filled out in English. Have a wonderful day.

 10 months ago 

I guess our part of the world is different where one has to learn multiple languages, especially in India. You will be surprised to know that most people can speak and write in 2-3 languages or even 4. I think you know at least two languages or maybe three if you are in contact with Tamilians. Thank you.

 10 months ago 

.I only speak two languages, my mother tongue Sinhala and English.

Language learning is a continuous adventure, and I'm sure many of us can relate and learn from your experiences. Good luck in the contest! 😊

 10 months ago 

That's true! Learning any art form gives us added confidence and opens space for new adventures in life. We are enjoying this facility in this part of the world which is necessary as well. Thanks for your wishes.

 10 months ago 

Hi @dove11

You're very fortunate to have grown up in Australia taking that as an advantage to learn the English language and communicating in it frequently. Of course our mother tongue will always be there to remind us of our roots and we are proud of that.

Learning Another language especially from an adult age can be challenging. Hahaha I feel sorry that you had to quit learning Spanish. Nonetheless, I'm sure you picked up some basics from the few lessons you had which is still helpful to you.

Note: no effort is ever truly wasted!

Best regards friend!😊

 10 months ago 

Thanks but a correction, I was not grown up in Australia but have lived there from 2011 off and on. Yes, I know a few words of Spanish but my pronunciation is not to my satisfaction. Thanks for the visit and feed back. Have a nice time.

 10 months ago 

You're welcome 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75