Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W3: If OnlysteemCreated with Sketch.

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago (edited)

Greetings everyone,

Greetings to everyone in this community as the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 5 weeek 3 is here and this is my entry for the theme of this week's contest from this community.

20221024_075414.jpg
Designed using Pixellab App.


INTRODUCTION

We've all done things at some point in life that we later regret. We've also done things in life that make us very proud of the people we've become. Nonetheless, there are still several other things in life that we hope to do. All of these things make us who we are, how we've come to be ourselves and how we hope to be in future. In all this, we occasionally had like to change some things we did in the past because of regrets, this in turn gives room to the phrase "If Only".


THE CONCEPT OF "IF ONLY"

The phrase If only... is an idiomatic expression used when someone wants to say how doing something differently would have made it possible to avoid something unpleasant. This is an expression used to express a strong wish, specifically when you know that what you want cannot happen, this phrase is used primarily in a regretful way.


MY STORY

These past few years have been some trying years for me as a person. A lot of events had sent me tumbling down a road I wish I had never taken. I have had a lot of "If only" moments which occasionally had me severely depressed.

IMG_20221024_101238.jpg A photo of myself and a friend

During my entire childhood years, I had always craved the desire to grow up. As a young child, I dreamed of all the “great things” that came along with being an adult such as driving a beautiful BMW car, owning a magnificent building and having lots of money. I mean, who wouldn’t love being able to make their imaginations about life, the desire of being your own man and not having to listen to anyone tell you what to do?

My elder ones tried to advise me not to run faster than my legs can carry, that I should rather strive to improve myself and take things as they unfold. They would always say “Enjoy your youthful years while they last because you will never get them back.” If only I had listened! As I became older, my desires led me astray. My overzealous habit of wanting to be a man of my own got the best of me.

It was on a faithful Sunday evening. I was on my way to a friend of mine when something unexpected happened. A Young man around my age, not much older than I was approached me looking all shiny and bright. He told me he wasn't from around this neighbourhood but that he has a lucrative business to benefit me, so I developed an instant interest in him cause I wanted to surprise everyone that I lived my dream. Since he wasn't from my neighbourhood, I suggested a hotel along the road where he can lodge for the night.

At the Hotel room, he sat on the bed, opened his briefcase and behold there in it were dollars well arranged in rows. He said to me that someone taught him the act of making dollars so if I'm interested, he is willing to teach me and that it requires only a chemical and I would become a millionaire. If I am willing, I should bring the sum of Ten thousand Naira (NGN 10,000) (aprox. 57.5 steem) to purchase this chemical. I went home with a jubilant heart, in my mind is am going to be a millionaire. How to raise the money became an issue, then I said to myself, nothing is going to stop me, so I took my out savings, and added to it some cash given to me by my Dad for school purposes to raise the Ten thousand Naira (NGN 10,000) (aprox. 57.5 steems) meant for the purchase of this all-important chemical. Off I went to my newfound friend who is about to make me a millionaire. He took the money from me and asked me to come back the next day as it was late to get the chemical. I went home dreaming of how I have achieved my dream and that my life would change forever.

I came as early as the crow of a cock the next morning, the hotel room which he had lodged a night ago was opened with no one inside, nobody knew or had anything to say about my friend’s whereabouts and my Ten thousand naira (NGN 10,000) (aprox. 57.5 steems) was gone. There and then, my dreams of adulthood shattered with my only line of thoughts being If only I had known or listened, I wouldn’t have fall prey.

IMG_20221022_125507.jpg My Nephew having fun
IMG_20221023_205650.jpg My little Niece asleep

Here I am, an adult, wishing I was a kid again with no worries about what am going to eat or wear, how to earn money or take care of the family, but just to eat, play and sleep while mum and dad carried all the worries for me.


CONCLUSION

Somebody seeing this story could consider me a lazy person for doing what I did and that I sought a shortcut to success. Yes, did that and I do not disagree with anyone seeing me for that, but you must also realise that such events have made me who I am today.

They say, "A man who is not ready to accept his past, is not ready for his future".


I wish to invite @Ruthjoe, @fredquantum and @Patjewell, and any other persons who would like to participate too to CLICK HERE for more instructions.


All Images were shared from my Gallery

thank-you-2490552_640.png

20211130_220021.png

NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20211015_222626.png

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

We all have at some points in our lives made some seeming silly mistakes, sometimes the circumstances around influence our decision.

Am glad you learnt from the experience, you are better and stronger and most importantly, wiser.

You made a very good entry dear friend. I wish you the very best.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your unending support. I really appreciate your feedback as it's encouraging.

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by @inspiracion at 10%.


Congratulations...!!! Your Post Selected Got Upvote %
By: Urdu Community

image.png

Subscribe URDU COMMUNITY

Quick Delegation Links

50SP100SP150SP200SP500SP1000SP1500SP2000SP

Subscribe URDU COMMUNITY

Our mission to promote Steemit in Urdu Community to all over the world
Stay together
Join the Urdu Community with more confidence.
Steem On


curated by @yousafharoonkhan
24-10-2022

 2 years ago 

These crooks are all over my brother! In Cameroon they don't only use skill to deceice people, but also use magic "juju" to lure you to succomb to their devices. What a nice post you have

 2 years ago 

Come to think of it, it felt strange as I found myself following a stranger to an hotel, even though I was the one who helped him located the hotel. But anyway, I did learn a valuable lesson that day. Thank you for your time.

 2 years ago 

A tragic tale, make a wound in your life and make another try at standing on your own leg. I'm sure one day you'll be successful.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your wonderful remark, I did learned a valuable lesson from it, and I am a much better person now.

 2 years ago 

Happy Diwali Day my dear friend.

 2 years ago 

How could I forget my friend.. May you make wonderful moments today. Happy Diwali to you too.

 2 years ago 

🌻🌻

 2 years ago 

You have shared a nice story with us. Indeed 10,000NGN then can obviously buy a lot of things compared to what it can buy today. Best of luck to you sir.

 2 years ago 

Greetings,

My dear, it indeed was. It was quite painful as I did use all my savings joined with cash for school purpose. In the end, I learnt a valuable lesson from that scenario.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 2 years ago 

Hahaha! I know that feeling of wanting to explore while growing up. Thank God it was ten thousand naira you lost.
The man looked all shinny and bright but you forgot all that glitters is not gold. I know you have leant your lessons dear friend. I wish you the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74