You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is life fair?

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago

Thank you! I loved reading your reply.
As for the law case, I suppose it is a bit of a catch twenty situation.
My son is a doctor and he once had to save the life of a murderer who was shot on the scene and in a serious condition. What do you do?
You took an oath to save a life but deep inside your are so cross with the person for killing his family that you feel he doesn't deserve to be saved.
In the end life is a balancing act between fair and unfair. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

you feel he doesn't deserve to be saved

This seems very wrong to me.
To say to somebody "you're no longer worth living" is god-like and not suitable (and so I decline the penalty of death).
I suggest that we can feed a hope: that even a murderer can change his mind and can work at his/her character and can try to get a healer. This hope we should feed - so I want to suggest - especially if we don't know (and that's the normal case) which evil was done before to the later criminal. I don't want to suggest that all criminals should be hugged but that they should treated as fair as possible.

More than once I asked myself: would I - if occasion would have been given to me - have been able to killing Adolf H.? Not in persuasion of his cruel crimes but in preventing them before done. Would I? If someone gave me a ticket to ride into - let's say - 1920?

 2 years ago 

Oh gosh! I would have liked to see AH run from you my friend. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Like they say, "You would have given him a good run for his money"

 2 years ago 

Thisreply really got me thinking

Fair or unfair
Rescue or revenge
Compassion or justice

A dice of two opposite sides. The decision still belongs to us to make but vengeance isnt our part. Humans cant even render proper justice too.

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! What a nice comparison. "A dice with two opposite sides".
The beauty is that we are not left with the faith of a gamble but that we are left with real life of which we are in control.
Thank you for your great reply! 🎕

 2 years ago 

Yes. We're in control

 2 years ago 

Indeed! We are in control of our lives.. our destiny!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59184.02
ETH 2530.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46