You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is life fair?

in STEEM FOR BETTERLIFE2 years ago

Hi, my friend,

This thought invades us at times, thinking that life is not fair and that we are in a hostile world.

What I have learned is that we have to learn to live life. As you have said, our behavior is important in forming this concept.

I look at life sometimes as a jungle, you have to know how to walk in it. Other times like a race that you have to know how to enjoy and stop and enjoy the scenery.

We can do very little to influence or change things, but we are responsible for the part that touches us.

By the way, I would not have defended the one I knew was guilty, because I feel that it is important to stand up for our beliefs. It is true that perhaps he deserves a fair trial, but... is it fair that a de facto guilty person be declared innocent...?
Well, maybe we get into rough philosophical terrain hahaha.

I enjoyed reading you, greetings and blessings to you.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you! I loved reading your reply.
As for the law case, I suppose it is a bit of a catch twenty situation.
My son is a doctor and he once had to save the life of a murderer who was shot on the scene and in a serious condition. What do you do?
You took an oath to save a life but deep inside your are so cross with the person for killing his family that you feel he doesn't deserve to be saved.
In the end life is a balancing act between fair and unfair. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

you feel he doesn't deserve to be saved

This seems very wrong to me.
To say to somebody "you're no longer worth living" is god-like and not suitable (and so I decline the penalty of death).
I suggest that we can feed a hope: that even a murderer can change his mind and can work at his/her character and can try to get a healer. This hope we should feed - so I want to suggest - especially if we don't know (and that's the normal case) which evil was done before to the later criminal. I don't want to suggest that all criminals should be hugged but that they should treated as fair as possible.

More than once I asked myself: would I - if occasion would have been given to me - have been able to killing Adolf H.? Not in persuasion of his cruel crimes but in preventing them before done. Would I? If someone gave me a ticket to ride into - let's say - 1920?

 2 years ago 

Oh gosh! I would have liked to see AH run from you my friend. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Like they say, "You would have given him a good run for his money"

 2 years ago 

Thisreply really got me thinking

Fair or unfair
Rescue or revenge
Compassion or justice

A dice of two opposite sides. The decision still belongs to us to make but vengeance isnt our part. Humans cant even render proper justice too.

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! What a nice comparison. "A dice with two opposite sides".
The beauty is that we are not left with the faith of a gamble but that we are left with real life of which we are in control.
Thank you for your great reply! 🎕

 2 years ago 

Yes. We're in control

 2 years ago 

Indeed! We are in control of our lives.. our destiny!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59162.63
ETH 2534.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47