ᔕᑕᗷ Greeters - subtopic New Comers - Is New Only Welcome If They Are on Social Media?

in ᔕᑕᗷ ᗰOᑎKEY ᗷᑌᔕIᑎEᔕᔕ3 days ago (edited)

Is Steemit an Elite Club where you are only welcome if someone introduced you and if you are active on social media on different platforms? Are people from China and Korea ignored/discriminated and do we rather see them leave than join us?


Greeters.jpg


Since #wewrite started I have been looking around the Newcomers Community more often.

Yesterday I noticed that it looks messy, there are a lot of newcomers and most of them are ignored. Is this because they are Chinese? If that is the case I wonder why Google or Deepl is not used to also give these users a warm welcome and who knows to incorporate them into the group that many of us are in.

So far I have only responded to a few people who posted in English of which I am not sure if what I read was written by them. I know that there was talk a while ago about the fact that newcomers are left to their own devices and honestly when I look within this group I have mixed feelings.

In the past few weeks there has rarely been a new achievement posted so checking daily was quickly done. It feels as if more information was given at that time then it it at this moment.
When it comes to the reports that are left I find that it is a lot of information to digest and honestly also quite impersonal. If I were new to Steemit I would definitely ask myself if this is what I want. Let's be honest, you join a platform to write, post something and with a bit of luck you will also meet nice people who will show you around and showing you around is not a standard impersonal report, although I have to say that the one from @goodybest looks cheerful. I do wonder if she helps when someone says: All this information is too much for me and I have trouble understanding all those emojis.

Are all the introductory posts original?

Definitely not and it is by far not always noticed by the one who drops a report, also there is a great diversity when it comes to the layout. There are those that look perfect (markdowns) while others are not yet aware of what it looks like (don't worry, I also had to learn it because it is a fact that on a phone almost every post looks good and those with markdowns are partly unreadable by me.).

The group #we-write went on their way during Lesson 2 leave four comments in the Newcomers Community

Mostly the comment had valuable tips. Yes, I went there to take a look to see how many newcomers had responded and days later it was pitifully low. From this I can only conclude that most of them don't care whether they are warmly welcomed. I responded to a number of them even though they seemed to be inactive after their first introductory post. To my amazement, some responded immediately and I wonder why they responded to me and not to the others who left a comment. What struck me is that the reply was written completely differently than the text that was posted and that makes me wonder who helped them write it.


Yesterday I saw the following message left for a newcomer


by @wilmer1988
mod | Greeter 3 days ago

You must make a quality publication with more than 300 words about yourself, you must also add new photos along with a handmade poster where you put the date and name of your user. It is necessary to know who invited you to the platform, you must also share one of your social networks to validate your identity


I have questions about the message above. This suggests that someone who is new is** only welcome if** he/she is already active on social media and not just one but several! _(networks is plural)

I find this strange.

  • Why is someone forced to go to Facebook, Instagram, X or YouTube because otherwise he/she will not be accepted to join Steemit?
    Isn't Steemit the exact opposite of all these standard social media where centralization reigns and most are already subject to restrictions or banned by countries (Europe also imposes restrictions)?
  • Why does a newcomer have to be invited by someone else?
    Is Steemit a closed club for invitees only? Isn't it true that promoting this platform via X and Telegram and SRs can result in strangers who read a message/post and next decide to signup?

At times I see two of these types of messages under a post by a newcomer and all I can do is swallow, swallow very hard because no personal word has been said to the newcomer. Not even a "welcome". I wonder if this is the way newcomers are welcomed. A big red question mark in the label behind their name and a message "You must..., you must.... you must...."

Do 300 words guarantee quality? Why not talk a bit via the comment section because isn't that the way to get to know someone and show them the ropes? I would like to hear from the greeters what has been agreed with regard to greeting newcomers because if standard messages like the above are the new way of greeting, then I think it would be wise to consider whether it makes sense to continue to "greet" and promote Steemit.



PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png



Header/Photogrid: Canva
25-9-2024
I am a mobile phone user only

I upvote comments and (good) entertaining stories. @hive-169911 is my hive (community). I will grow its SP to upvote stories only. Please, do NOT post in it!

#steemit #chat #newcomers #achievement #kittywu #club75 #steemexclusive


@heriadi @stef1 @mikitaly @patjewell

Sort:  
Loading...
 3 days ago 

Hi and thank you for tagging, I had during last two weeks busy training so did not spend much time on Steemit.

I fully share your opinion, there are few questions that I also was asking:

  • why if someone new joining the platform, he needs to do Introduction post as Achievement, and wait until someone comes and verifies you. I do not understand why a person can not simply join and start writing a post, comments and just chatting with others, as this is a blogging platform, isn't it?

  • the Greeters ask newcomers to say who invited them, what if the Newcomer just found himself the blog and nobody invited him, is it then not allowed to join Steemit ?

  • Here is another comment for a new user:

image.png

It was also noticeable that there were some new users from China who have difficulties to be verified, because often they do not speak English and also the whole way how social media in China for example is different from other countries who we know well on Steemit.

In my opinion, as new user it is important to do introduction post but the users should not have the obstacle for posting like they face when they try to post in any communities, they are told that they need to be verified via Newcomer community. People often do not accept those user's participation in contests and challenges and labelled as not verified user for this period of time they will not be visited by any Steemcurator too.

I do not know if anything is going to be changed if not then it is really look like Steemit- closed society the newcomer will come and go.

In general I think anyone should be able to start up and the talks about 300 words** is too much. Who says that if I write 300 words of rubbish then my post automatically getting better in its quality. There are some people who do not speak much are their posts then bad quality?

We need to read posts, and just what it is about and not count words. Would be good to hear opinion of other readers,

 3 days ago 

It is good to see you back and thank you for answering. Making a selfie is a miracle to me and I did it perhaps twice in my life as I had to open a bank account and Bitvavo. It took me a few hours and a lot of frustration because it isn't easy to hold a paper (an ID in this case) and next take a picture of yourself.

According to the message you show a picture with a paper is not enough but now also a glass should be held with the other. I wonder why this is asked and by whom. Is it to figure out if the one who should do it is fake or can photoshop very well or is it a circus act or a way to make people scream and give up on Steemit because it depends on who you met if you are allowed to join the club?

So far it seems we join the same opinion and I hope some greeters will join and tell who decides to give newbies this welcome.

@oneray aren't you one of the greeters? Do you tell a newbie there is no "you must" and they can write wherever they like?

How about you @dove11? Do you ask the newbies of your choice to show all kind of tricks and list all the social media they join? And if are you going to trace them to figure out if they are fake or real?

@oliva08 you are an old Steemian and so are you @netflixr, @ grebmot? Did you did that first achievement to join a contest?

Me encantan los comentarios donde la reflexión son el fundamento.

Cuando un nuevo usuario muestra su foto con el cartel, pero yo no distingo lo que dice, le pido que repita la foto para que pueda leer el contenido con más claridad.

¿Photoshop? Eso es cosa del pasado.

Ahora puedes hacer cualquier cosa con IA. Jamás he pedido sostener un vaso de agua o hacer piruetas de algún tipo, sin embargo, respeto lo que consideren conveniente otros greeters.

Quizás no llegues a imaginar la cantidad de cuentas falsas con la que nos encontramos. Cuentas de granja que se votan entre si mismas. Usuarios con alta reputación buscando seguir estafando al sistema para obtener otro poco más del fondo de recompensa, disminuyendo de alguna forma las ganancias en otras publicaciones.

No digo que lo que tenemos sea perfecto, pero es lo que hay, y de alguna manera debemos (es el trabajo de aquellos que damos la bienvenida a los nuevos) de asegurarnos que son personas reales y no los mismos usuarios con otras fotos, pues, esto es deshonesto para con todos.

No hice las reglas, solo trato de cumplirlas cuando me ofrecieron hacer este trabajo.

Quizás, no lo este haciendo tan frecuente como antes, pues, ahora ya no vivo en Chile ni tengo mi computadora. Estoy en México y hago todo desde el teléfono móvil lo cual para mí es muy, pero muy cuesta arriba, y no tengo la misma destreza y velocidad para escribir un artículo o un comentario.

A pesar de lo anterior, en cada comentario a los nuevos, dejo mis otras redes sociales donde pueden contactarme si necesitan ayuda adicional, de lo cual, muchos en la plataforma pueden dar fé de ellos ☺️

Pienso que no consiste en quien conoces en steemit o quien nos trae a la plataforma, pero es más fácil cuando alguien nuevo tiene ya un tutor que conoce las reglas y de alguna manera lo apoya en sus inicios de forma mas personal. Yo lo hago por Discord o por WhatsApp, o cualquier otra red por la que haya sido contactado, y lo hago con todo el amor del mundo, pues, es mi pasión ayudar siempre 😃

 2 days ago 

Usted es el primero que se toma la molestia de explicarlo. Yo también me he dado cuenta de que hay cuentas falsas, pero no siempre estoy seguro de que sea lo que parece. Sé que para muchos es difícil presentarse y mencionar lo que se les pide.
Tampoco estoy tan seguro de que todo el mundo sepa que el logro no es una norma y que se puede ignorar. Me parece que ninguno de los que saludan dirá que no hay razón para hacerlo _leer @patjewell sus preguntas, o proporcionar en una lista con las comunidades donde nadie pide un logro

Lo que me parece extraño es que el anonimato ya no está garantizada a menos que pertenezca a la parte superior. Entiendo que ningún sistema es perfecto pero porque un greeter no puede decir: Bienvenido, ¿qué tal? ¿Necesita ayuda?

Hasta ahora gracias por contestar y por el gran comentario.
🍀♥️

 2 days ago 

Hi, I just drop this link as an example of user who joined but then left:

https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@lovely-linlin/achievement-1-my-introduction-or-lovely-linlin

I don't serve as a mod or an admin but keep a couple of newcomers as beneficiaries in a couple of my posts every week. I select only the ones whom the admins have already approved. So this question doesn't apply to me.

 2 days ago 

Thanks for letting know how it works for you. You made clear the system works for you. 👍

May I ask why my submission is not being verified in your "wewrite" contest? Is there any problem from my end or have I missed something?

 2 days ago (edited)

If I remember well I did in the comment section last night. What you might have missed is that your community doesn't allow reports and I was asked to not leave them behind. So #we-write hands are tied and all we can do is mention the wordcount if it comes to comments or add a personal note and the same counts for the posts.

Noted with me it says: 10 points
The points for comments + engagement and are filled out yet.

Let me know if you can't see my comment please.

I can see that but is that for me I got no notification and that comment is under someone else (sbamsoneu) so I felt it was for him

wakeupkitty (75)
11 hours ago

Thanks for joining.
Title - flashy start - text and hashtags are all good.
Your total of point is: 10

Is it for me?
Thank you!!!

Loading...

I have discussed and criticised the same thing several times. The clear answers I got from different directions and which make sense to me: nobody HAS to post such an achievement and nobody HAS to be present on other social media. It's not me and I don't do it. Same decision is up to everyone.

However, some Communities require these steps in order to allow posting: so it's more a matter of deciding for or against such a Community. I think that if there are enough attractive alternatives, nobody should feel compelled to bend over backwards.

 3 days ago 

Does this mean the greeters work for those communities that do not allow newbies around without an achievement? If this is not the case why don't they point out the newbies can join plenty of other communities?

@heriadi @patjewel @aaliarubab does your community refuse Steemians who didn't do the achievement?

I think the greeters definitely want to offer new arrivals help in the way they think is best. That is legitimate - but not without an alternative.

 2 days ago (edited)

Do they apply, are they steered what to say or do they follow the bot that welcomes first?

It's akwardly quiet from the side if the greeters...

 2 days ago 

@wakeupkitty, this topic has often been discussed but has never found an adequate solution.

In our Italian community, we don't follow any of those requested guidelines.

For me, even asking for personal information is too much because we must remember that Steemit is a decentralized platform, and all those requests feel like KYC.

To check if a user has multiple secret accounts and wants to be sneaky on Steemit, we need to devise other systems!

In our community, when a new user arrives, we welcome them by helping them understand how Steemit works, the value of power-ups for growth, and the importance of interaction to keep the community alive.

We don't ask for introductions, whether they are friends of other users, or if they follow other social media.

This doesn't mean that we do curation to everyone, but rather only those who show a willingness to be part of a mutual support system to contribute honestly to building a better community.

Of course, the risk of encountering dishonest users is there; when we discover them and they are unrecoverable, we simply ignore them.
Ignoring dishonest users certainly discourages them from pursuing their intentions.

 2 days ago 

Thank you for explaining I believe this is a better way. If can be explained why is done what the chance is given to change and change will not go fast with everyone.

If it comes to more than one acvount I wonder what the "sneaky part" is. If I start 8 with all a different topic and dedicate my time to each one of them why am I called a farmer? Why am I not allowed to upvote one of my other accounts and only other steemians?

Ignoring can help indeed although I rather keep the discussion open.

Thanks for explaining it's helpful and good to know.

♥️🍀

 yesterday 

Ignoring is better than receiving downvotes. When a user doesn't want to change his attitude and there is nothing to change his mind, then he's ignored by Italygame's curation.

As for multiple accounts, the important thing is to declare them, there's nothing wrong with using each account for different topics or purposes.
And they should be rewarded for the work that is done and not punished because they belong to the same user.

However, if a user has several accounts with different names and participates in community activities, he/she receives more curation than other users who only have one account. It's a question of fairness and respect for others.

But I remain of the opinion that the best weapon is communication, trying to make everyone understand the Steemit mechanism, especially new users, who should be welcomed and not considered a threat because they are potential account farmers.

I just give a general opinion about support for users who have never written about introductions. Most users understand that writing a self-introduction is not an obligation, they can participate or not.

Then the positive side of this program is that newcomers can understand the platform ecosystem as a whole. What I mean is not at the point of introduction, but getting to know the platform more broadly such as about using the pdf copy obtained when registering, and being able to use tools for their needs.

Many cases of account hacking are caused by their lack of understanding, will those who follow this program guarantee that their level of understanding is directly proportional to its implementation? I think not, if completing achievements is only a symbol without understanding what is written. Well ... This is what has triggered the problem so far. Using random keys outside of needs.

As a Steem Representative and curation team, I have approached them so that they can use the appropriate tag so that it can be found and meet the support criteria. But the result is 0, they don't even care, sometimes they just reply thank you without any follow-up.

I have been running curation for a long time, maybe only absent for 1 month, I do not search for content based on hashtags, but start searching from the latest posts to the past few days.

So I want to say that providing support must look at several aspects, first fulfilling the requirements for support such as being free of plagiarism, not repeated posts (already published), I traced many of them who did not give a positive response because the images used came from certain websites that were not free to use, besides that they said that "that's my writing, I wrote it on reddit".

When investigated further, it turned out that users repeatedly carried out negative behavior.

How to give them support, while they don't care.

 2 days ago (edited)

Thank you for your great comment.
The question is if they care if they do not reply. Should they? It can be they left because they lost their intetest I know for me all the info would be too much. There are also too many shortcuts amd words used one should remember.

I don't believe everyone knows or is aware an introduction post is a free choice. It doesn't sound like that if you are sent out as the bad child of the class if you try to join a community or contest. What I still don't know is if a greeter will show the way to communities who don't make an issue out of an achievement and club.

Just like you I doubt all that is taught will be remembered or used if in need. Being hacked = panic = stress x phone x bad wifi = chaos and disaster.

You here the "I wrote it on Reddit", I hear the "next time I will". 🤔

♥️🍀

You here the "I wrote it on Reddit", I hear the "next time I will". 🤔

Write it down... Because I never wrote it, but I'm not sure you can access it in your country at the moment. 😄

TEAM 4

Congratulations! Your comment has been upvoted through steemcurator06. We appreciate good and valuable comments..


post1.png

Curated by : @jyoti-thelight
 3 days ago 

Since I am not sure if the notifications work (frequently it doesn't if more than 3) I like to hear the opinion of @stef1 @weisser-rabe and from @patjewell

Amigo le felicito por esta denuncia tan cierta que me imagino que pasará al fondo del perol porque aquí en steemit cualquier usuario que se le ocurre manifestarse con respeto pasa al olvido y lo más triste, es que los usuarios chupa sangre que han estado beneficiándose todos estos años serán los primero en criticar este tipo de publicaciones . Le deseo muchos éxitos futuros

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65738.35
ETH 2677.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91